Great Aunt Merle–The Original Person of WalMart

1 05 2011

Picture it, small town West Virginia, 1995. A group of friends too young to drink, too poor to do much of anything, and too stupid to care what anyone thought, are looking for ways to entertain themselves on a quiet weekend night.

Someone gets the bright idea that someone, no names please, ought to dress up as an old woman. And so that young man got decked out in a fabulous purple hat, a pair of vintage Sally Jesse Raphael glasses, and, complete with a walker and one of those masks everyone wore when SAARS broke out, the group headed to Wal Mart where they ran into one of their mothers and her long time friend and neighbor. The mother, without missing a beat, said, “Jane, I’m sure you remember Daddy’s sister Merle?” Poor Jane didn’t know whether to laugh, but uncomfortably said her hellos. And now, folks, thanks to the wonders of color scanners, I’d like to introduce you to Great Aunt Merle:

Actions

Information

13 responses

1 05 2011
Brian

Ok. I’m totally freaked out right now, because we did the exact same thing around that same time period. One of my friends liked to dress up like Mama from Mama’s Family, so one night we all got together and boredom led to some drag and a trip to Walmart. We also bumped into his mother – which only led to more hilarity. Good times!

1 05 2011
The Vinyl Villager

great (or twisted) minds think alike! Was this by chance in WV??

1 05 2011
Brian

KY. =)

1 05 2011
The Incredible Woody

That is the best story EVER!

1 05 2011
The Vinyl Villager

Thanks! Good times!

2 05 2011
The Vinyl Villager

Kentucky, eh? Same difference really. LOL

2 05 2011
Alyson

I see Brian checked you out, I told him to! I was really freaking out when I saw his comment without knowing it was him. However, I am sad, I was going to tell the Mama story! I totally have pics of it.

3 05 2011
The Vinyl Villager

post them!!!

3 05 2011
Tammy

Great story!! I did something similar with friends when I was in high school, but we didn’t have a Walmart, we had Kmart!! Great photo by the way. Great Aunt Merle kind of looks like Josh Groban. Have you seen those glasses he wears?!

4 05 2011
noe noe girl

You NUT! love this!

13 05 2011
The Girl from the Ghetto

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!

At the same time, I used to dress up my 6’4 male japenese friend as a chic, per his request. He had this beautiful long black hair, so he had a more youthful look, but it was good, clean fun. Oh, those wacky mid-90’s …

16 05 2011
The Vinyl Villager

OMG, I want to see pics of that!! Another time, we were in Atlantic City for the weekend, and because my friends parents were frequent guests, we had “comped” rooms at hotels on both sides of the city. At one, we dressed me up in a pink bathrobe, covered my face in shaving cream, and then ordered room service, which I accepted as my friends mother. The poor porter look so confused, we DIED laughing and then got the car to take us to the other hotel so we could do it again.

19 05 2011
The Girl from the Ghetto

You guys are so crazy, lol!

Leave a Reply

