Praise the Lard

29 03 2011

OK, who pays for these studies? I mean, really. A new one  links church attendence to obesity. (read about it here) “The study found that young adults who attend church at least once a week are 50 percent more likely to become obese than those who don’t attend religious services.”

Now I don’t know much about church, but I do know those church ladies can cook. And it stands to reason that if you have joined the Ladies Auxiliary down in the Fellowship Hall a few times, you might have an extra pound or two. I think these facts are skewed. I think southerners are more likely to go to church, and down in the south the primary concern is taste. If vegetables are served, the nutrients have been boiled out in a pot full of lard and hamhocks. Old southern ladies save their bacon grease and add it to everything.

 And the whole social structure revolves around food.

Someone dies? You get a refrigerator full of homemade comfort food.

Office meeting? Pile on the pastries!

New baby? Here they come with casseroles.

It’s just rude not to have a full dinner out if company stops by. The plates are big, the helpings huge, and every guest ought to head home with a plate of leftovers. That’s just how it’s done.

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 03 2011
Amanda

I have a whole theory on this but I don’t want to offend anyone.

30 03 2011
The Vinyl Villager

you can send it to me privately Im impossible to offend. 🙂

30 03 2011
noe noe girl

And I love it!

30 03 2011
The Vinyl Villager

me too, I wish I could eat like that all the time without consequence.

1 04 2011
crochetycrochetlady

It’s BUTTER!! Juat ask Paula Dean!

Leave a Reply

