A Little Mid-Week Mish Mash

16 03 2011

1. Anyone out there a Sugarland fan? I’m not much into country music, but I have always liked them. Last week, I had the opportunity to see them in concert and it was probably the best show I have ever seen. The lead singer in particular (Jennifer Nettles) has such an amazing energy and you can just tell that she loves what she is doing up there. And did I mention our tickets were in one of the arena’s suites? A friend’s boyfriend has season tickets in one of the suites, so we watched the show in leather club chairs, sipped from the stocked bar, and munched on the goodies that catering had set up. I must say I’ll feel more than a little jealous the next time I’m packed shoulder to shoulder in the “regular” seats to see a concert, knowing the suite ticket holders are watching in luxury.

2. Headed up to good ole Dubya Vee this past weekend. A client my office is doing a house for needed my help to address a few issues and finalize her tile and cabinetry selections. From a work standpoint it was very productive. I also got to spend some time with my family, meet my lil brother’s new girlfriend (who, I might add, gets my seal of approval, not that he cares), and hang out with two of my dearest friends. We treated ourselves to dinner at the best restaurant in the little town I grew up in–it has the best house salad dressing, and braciole I’ve ever had.

3. I also got to take my 8 year old godson to his last basketball game of the season. I’ve seen their games before and am always impressed by the sportsmanship that age group shows. They’re too young to be brutally competitive. More than once, I’ve seen a kid fall on the court and get helped up by half of the OTHER team, even if it meant missing a rebound or not getting into position in time to stop a point. And while my godson’s team lost badly (40-6) none of the kids seemed disappointed, they had enjoyed themselves and seemed proud of their efforts despite the low score. The one team member who was visibly crestfallen by the loss was “just a bad loser” according to my godson. More people need the kind of attitudes those kids show.

4. We saw a commercial on TV for the new Buick, which apparently has an iphone app that will allow the owner to start it, unlock it, etc right from their phone. Now, Buick has put out some nice looking cars the past couple of years, but do they not know their demographic? I think the average driver of a Buick sedan is 83 years old and still makes all of their calls from a Harvest Gold wall-mounted rotary phone. What they really need is an app that will let the cars behind the Buick speed it up to something close to the speed limit and move it out of the left lane.

5. So, I  go into the grocery store to buy ONE BAG OF FLOUR last week. As I’m getting into the 10 item or less aisle, an old man with a cart FULL of groceries pulls in. “Are you gonna yell at me for comin’ in this aisle?” he asked the clerk. She answers, “Well, I won’t but I can’t promise no one will.” He, and his cart full of groceries goes on in. As he starts unloading, looks right at me and my ONE ITEM. Doesn’t offer to let me go ahead of him. And then, when the clerk has finished ringing up the $140 worth of food, he WRITES A CHECK, adding to my wait.

Actions

Information

7 responses

16 03 2011
The Incredible Woody

I can’t even comment on anything but #5…THAT CRAP PISSES ME OFF!! Seriously, why can’t people just follow the rules?!?

17 03 2011
The Vinyl Villager

He probably had to get home to watch Judge Wapner!

17 03 2011
dawtch

1. My musical tastes vary widely and I take it in “fits and starts” so to speak…I am not currently on a country kick, so not familiar with their music, but I’d go to almost any concert if I get to sit in the suites 😀

2. Sounds like a blast!

3. One of the biggest problems today, in my opinion, is a lack of learning how to lose…many of the sports played by preteens don’t even HAVE a winner and loser…everyone wins, no one’s feelings get hurt, and no one learns how to lose, or even that eventually, THEY’RE GOING TO…am glad to hear your godson’s team isn’t that way. Learning how to lose – and win – gracefully are best done early in life, or the lesson never sticks well…

4. Maybe they’re trying to change their demographic..?

5. You’re much nicer than I am, I would have said something…the reason “society” is becoming ruder is that they are being allowed to. No one wants to “make a scene” so when someone does something blatantly rude, they learn they can, and no one will say anything, so continue doing so. And those around learn the same thing…”if he can do it and no one says anything, so can I” and so it spreads like a virus….
just sayin’…

17 03 2011
The Vinyl Villager

Dawtch, check out Sugarland, I call them country, but they are hard to classify. They ended this concert by doing Madonnas Like a Prayer!
and youre right, I should have said something to the guy with the full cart. I wish I had the gift some people have of being able to gracefully tell someone when they are being rude/in the wrong without coming off as rude myself, but I dont think I do.

18 03 2011
dawtch

…who said anything about being graceful..? Although Hunny does say I am the only person he know who can cuss someone out and be gone for 15 minutes before they realize they’ve been told off…LOL
bb
dawtch

18 03 2011
The Vinyl Villager

If you’ve ever watched the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills, that Pinky Vanderpoof or whatever her name is can basically tell someone they are a stupid bitch and leave them feeling like she paid them a compliment. Thats the gift I want! LOL.

18 03 2011
dawtch

Yeah, Hunny says it’s comical to see them thinking they are being praised, then the delayed reaction kicks in and they realize what was truley being said…but in the face of blatant rudeness, I don’t even attempt to do that…just basically “Hey, dude…end of line is back there…” or “Um, the sign says 20 items or less…you DO know how to read..?” So I’m rather rude about it, but I think the end justifies the means…or “mean” as the case may be 😀
bb
dawtch

Leave a Reply

