Monday Morning Mish-Mash

21 02 2011

1. Well, I only got about half of my “to do” list done this weekend. I felt “off” on Friday and Saturday, just didn’t have a whole lot of energy. Part of the reason is because I haven’t been sleeping well. I’m often bothered by “Restless legs”–I hate even admitting that because it’s one of those conditions you see advertised on TV, and my general feeling is that most of those are “fad diseases” invented by drug companies. But I can be dead dog tired and can’t get to sleep because I am tossing and turning with this annoying feeling that my legs need to stretch. Several years back, I took Requip to combat the problem, and it was only minimally effective, so I stopped. Anyone out there have suggestions?

2. In other news of my body I am trying once again to give up smoking. I was somewhat successful with Chantix a couple of years ago, but fell off the wagon. The second try with Chantix wasn’t nearly as successful, not sure why but it just didn’t seem to work like it did the first go around. So this time, I’m trying THE PATCH. 36  hours smoke free as of this writing, and haven’t really had much of a desire for one. The one thing I can say negative about the patch is that it itches like hell.

3. Of the things I DID get done this weekend, I can cross off hanging drapes in the study (pic above) and refinishing a pair of tables. (If you want to see those, head over to the design blog at Southgate Residential–which all of you interested in home and garden issues are doubtless following ree-lig-us-lee!) Every time I start a crafty project, I curse myself for thinking I am handy. But, in the end, they usually turn out well. And while I did not get the garage cleaned out, I DID (with much cursing and a cut thumb) assemble the shop vac that was a late Christmas gift from my crazy mama and her beau of the moment, Kenny. Let me go off on a tangent for a moment. This shop vac was new in the box and mostly plastic and metal. The only exception being a nylon bag that holds the accessories. Now, I’m not sure how long the vac sat in Kenny’s mobile mansion, but both he and mom smoke like freight trains. As I assembled the thing, I noticed right away that the box reeked of smoke. I hurriedly got it back into the garage. But I kept smelling it, and the nylon bag was completely impregnated with the stuff. To the point that I could still smell it hours later. That’s a lot of damn smoking to get inside a sealed box and cling to the one piece of fabric inside.

4. Several weeks back, I was the lucky winner of one of The Girl From The Ghetto’s book giveaways. I was particularly thrilled to win this one because it’s a book by Jessie Sholl called “Dirty Secret: A Daughter Comes Clean About Her Mother’s Compulsive Hoarding.  Well I finally got around to starting it, and WOW, it’s like I’m reading my mom’s life story.

Actions

Information

9 responses

21 02 2011
trailerparkbarbie

Love all the work you’ve done!
How about letting one of your fav relatives borrow that book when you are done with it? Pretty please!

And, loan me your writing muse for a while since I just can’t seem to get enough co-herent thoughts together to write in my blog 😦

21 02 2011
The Vinyl Villager

I absolutely will! I wonder if I gave it to mama if she would see herself in it?

My writing muse is feeling a bit battered lately…either that or life is boring. Although I do have a mama story to jot down.

21 02 2011
big hair envy

All of your projects seem to turn out LOVELY! Don’t be so hard on yourself:)

I’m thinkin’ Mama probably has something you can take to help those restless legs. Either that, or something to make you completely unaware of them…;)

21 02 2011
Heather

See if you doctor could prescribe a very mild muscle relaxer, something like a flexeril or robaxin, for your legs. Either are very mild and not addictive.

22 02 2011
The Vinyl Villager

I think you all are right, maybe I need to order a crate of mama’s mexican horse tranquilizers…

🙂

24 02 2011
The Girl from the Ghetto

I’m so glad you won & have had that same startling “wow” moment like I had. Oh, how I wish more people understood hoarding. That book is so good, you and TPB will love it!

28 02 2011
The Vinyl Villager

I will pass it on to her as soon as I finish these last few chapters!

27 02 2011
alyson

I know it sounds crazy, but put a bar of soap between your mattress and fitted sheet where your feet rest. I used to read about this in a medical advice column in the local paper. My husband had the same problem and I told him about it and he eventually tried it several years ago and hasn’t had a problem since.

28 02 2011
The Vinyl Villager

really?? any certain kind?

Leave a Reply

