Im Thankful For My Parents

18 11 2010

I’m thankful for my parents for many reasons. I don’t remember them ever treating me like a child even when I was one. They never pressured me to be a sports star, the next Bill Gates, or the leader of the free world, but always made it quite clear I could be any of those things if I wanted to be. They’ve always supported me in whatever I want to do–if I wanted to be a garbage man, they’d have assured me I’d be the best damn one there was.

I’m thankful for their sacrifices. Dad didn’t drive a stripped down Ford with roll down windows and an AM/FM stereo because it was his dream car–it was so we could have CD players, power sunroofs, or a new truck or Mustang. They taught us to be honest, to be informed, and to think for ourselves. And they taught us the value of family, the value of friends, and the value of ourselves.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 11 2010
The Stepmom

Okay, now I am crying. I might have to buy you those lamps after all.

19 11 2010
The Vinyl Villager

awww. No tears!! It will ruin your makeup. Seriously, if you see those lamps at a reasonable price while you’re out shopping, get them for me! Ill pay you back.

19 11 2010
The Stepmom

I knew there had to be a reason for you to write such nice things about us. Tis the season.

19 11 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Awww, I meant every word!

Leave a Reply

