Giving Thanks for Granny

10 11 2010

I am thankful for my grandmother. She is the only grandparent I still have with me. And as much as it sometimes taxes me to hear about every illness suffered by every member of our extended family, I am very blessed to be able to pick up the phone and talk to her. And I make it a point to do so at least once a week. While she is in good health, mentally and physically, she is in her mid-eighties, and I recognize that there probably aren’t many years left that I’ll be able to have a weekly chat with her. She’s a wonderful woman who believes in the strength of family, who gives (sometimes too much) of herself to her church, her family, and her friends. She’s a source of advice, has a surprising sense of humor, and has balanced out my crazy mother over the years. I truly believe she is an angel here on earth.

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 11 2010
The Incredible Woody

You are very lucky and I’m glad that you are aware of it. So many people have the elders of their family still around but they are just dropped in a nursing home, only thought of at Christmas or Mothers/Fathers Day. Makes me wish I still had a Granny.

10 11 2010
Heather

Cherish her! All of my grands are gone and I miss them so much!

Leave a Reply

