I’m Thankful Today

9 11 2010

Because I have good healthcare. I can go to the doctor when I need to, afford whatever medications I am prescribed, and, God forbid I should ever be hospitalized, it won’t force me into bankruptcy. Everyone reading this knows someone who isn’t so lucky. Some of you reading might not be so fortuntate yourselves. When I read about the average cost of a hospital stay, the average cost for major surgery, or the cost to treat cancer, I worry for the people who don’t have coverage. And when I read about the costs of a quality health insurance plan, I see why people are unable to provide it for their families. So, I am thankful that one of the things I have always been blessed with is good healthcare coverage.

Actions

Information

4 responses

9 11 2010
The Incredible Woody

We have to purchase an independent policy. It takes a HUGE chunk of cash each month to do so, even though we have an extremely high deductible. And thanks to the ankle surgery last year, it went up significantly this year. But the thought of not having it in place scares the crap out of me!

9 11 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Oh, for sure. I saw somewhere recently that the average cost to treat a broken arm is $12,000!

9 11 2010
The Incredible Woody

My ankle surgery (just the surgery – not the stuff before or the therapy after) was around $25K for about 45 minutes of work. I want to be an orthopedic surgeon when I grow up.

13 11 2010
The Vinyl Villager

That might explain why an orthopedic surgery client of mine didn’t bat an eye at a $150,000 change order…he could make it back that afternoon!

Leave a Reply

