A Little Tuesday Afternoon Mish-Mash

19 10 2010

1. I bought a new car yesterday. In part because of the reasons outline in a post HERE, in part because my new car is more practical, in part because the maintenance costs on my BMW could easily surpass the GDP of most third world countries, but mostly because I just never bonded with the Bimmer. I typically baby my cars…hand washing them and taking what some would call fanatical care of them. Every door ding is removed post-haste. The maintenance is followed to the letter. You get the picture. I was just never that concerned with the BMW. But my new little brown bus…I can tell already we’re gonna get along just fine:

2. Darling and I ordered new furniture for the great room two months ago. It blows my mind that in this age of immediate gratification that it still takes two months to get a damned sofa. But, it finally arrived, and WOW…makes the room look so much better! I can not wait to have a free afternoon to take a nap on it!

 

In addition to a sofa that will seat more people than a minivan, we got an upholstered ottoman, two armless chairs, and new tables. The great room is a large, two story space, and it really needed some substantial furniture to feel comfortable, and now it does!

3. Halloween is coming up! We’re hosting a big costume party–should be a blast! Does everyone have their costume picked out? Or at least clever ideas for a costume? I was going to dress up as the “Lost Dog” lady, but changed my mind.

4. The elections are almost over. I, for one, will not miss the political commercials. I have yet to see one candidate who really addresses what they stand for. They spend their airtime instead tearing down their opponent; generally through misinformation–which is probably a good tactic since, unfortunately, it’s painfully clear to me that most people don’t have a clue what’s going on in politics.

5. I absolutely love this time of year–when there’s a nip in the air, the leaves are full of color, and it’s time to bring out the soup, sweaters, and light up the fireplace. Had a great drive through the mountains this weekend–peak color for the leaves, I imagine. I used to love summer best of all. (And, to be clear, I still love it.) But living somewhere that summer’s can be suffocatingly hot has meant the replacement of it as my favorite season.

Actions

Information

11 responses

19 10 2010
The Incredible Woody

1. I love, love, love my CR-V!!!
2. That sofa is fantastic:)
3. Vol Fan and I are going to be Sonny and Cher. His Cher to my Sonny. I can’t wait!
4. I have noticed that the ads in CA are far, far worse than any I have ever seen. I have yet to see an ad for a candidate for governor that states anything about their plans or what they stand for. Only mud slinging.
5. I miss the change of seasons. Things don’t really change around here.

19 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

How many miles have you got on yours now? Any trouble with it? I love mine so far too!

The sofa is soooo comfortable. Its really going to cut down on my productivity.

Oh my God, thats hilarious. For some reason Im picturing an old Golden Girls episode…

The ads are the same here…nothing about their plans, just lots of shit-slinging toward the other guy.

I like all four seasons, I just don’t like any of them to be extreme.

20 10 2010
The Incredible Woody

I have about 25000+/- on mine. Haven’t had any trouble. I am about to need new tires. I will be switching to Michelin. For me and my life, it has truly been the perfect vehicle!

20 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Woody, I am not happy to hear the tires only last 25,000 miles! thats part of the reason I got rid of the Bimmer! The tires on my old accord lasted over 50k miles…whats the deal with tiremakers now??

20 10 2010
The Incredible Woody

Every tire I have ever owned other than Michelin has sucked. Hopefully yours has a different kind than mine. My CR-V is 2007 and I think they are Bridgestone. I have heard the complaint about the tire wear from others. I’ve got plenty of tread left – I just know it is coming. And it is coming faster than it should.

19 10 2010
Josh

1.) That CRV is niiiice…. 🙂

2.) Our furniture is old, awful looking but VERY comfy… but sadly, it’s getting close to time to dispose of them. They are almost as old as me!!!

3.) What’s sad is at least HERE, people KNOW that John Raese is a crooked motherfucker. Manchin may have his flaws, but I’ve met him several times in person, and even had dinner with him and his wife at political function – very down to earth guy. Raese is scum. And the tight jeans are a little too much for me.

20 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Furniture is like jeans. It feels the best about the time it looks the worst…

I dont know how any WVian can even consider Raese–the man doesn’t even live in WV!

19 10 2010
Murray Trillionaire

Did you see the governor’s debate in NY yesterday. It looked more like a sketch from Saturday Night Live. I’m waiting for Jerry Lewis to announce he’s running for president.

20 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

I didn’t see it, but I heard about it. Jerry Lewis might not be a bad choice…at least we know he is a clown.

19 10 2010
Jason

You have succumbed.

But I love that huge sectional and I love that great room!

20 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Thanks! It’s come together pretty nicely.

Leave a Reply

