Spelling and Grammar

14 10 2010

Spelling, grammar, capitalization and punctuation are important. They mean the difference between “helping your uncle, Jack, off a horse” and “helping your uncle jack off a horse”.

In our digital world of smart phone status updates, tweets, and text messages, this concept seems lost on far too many people.

Witness just a few status updates that have been on my facebook feeds this week:

“what is rong with me??????? it is wayyy to early for me to be up when there is’nt school!!!!!!!!!!!!! i need helpp! bt if ur upp then hit me wit a txt”

“is curious 2 know what it is like 2 b u….”

“is relaxin w/ my boyz n d birthday gal  @ d beach..beautiful day w/ a light breeze..”

Really, people? I know many of us tweet and facebook from our phones, but if your little thumbs can’t handle the few extra pushes of a button to actually spell a word correctly, spare us having to decipher your jibberish.

Actions

Information

14 responses

14 10 2010
Murray Trillionaire

My Uncle Jack has never been on a horse. So for me, it was pretty clear.

14 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

how bout a donkey?

14 10 2010
The Incredible Woody

I know!! I am Facebook friends with several of my cousins’ children. They make me worry about the future of the world.

14 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

yes! Its almost like its cool to be functionally illiterate.

14 10 2010
Heather

I must be the only person on planet earth who doesn’t text. I HATE it!

14 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

not the only, but you’re one of the few hold outs.

14 10 2010
crochetycrochetlady

Some of us just cannot help it! I am spelling challenged but I do know the difference between your, you’re and there, their and they’re. Don’t hate!

14 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

aww I dont. Im sure you know that “THE” isn’t spelled “DA”

14 10 2010
trailerparkbarbie

“Let’s eat Grandma” vs “Let’s eat, Grandma!”
Love the Jack and the horse example!
I’ve seen some lately that I would like translated…”besties” is one. WTF is a “besties”. Then, of course, there is my all time favorite, “Ima”…..which means “I am”. I’m sure that you remember the post that I did a while back about someone who is kin to me and her post of “Ima fuk u up, slut.” I liked it so much that I have borrowed parts of it as an alias…Imas Lut. So, if you see something signed with Imas Lut, you’ll know that it’s me.

18 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

I always think “beastie” when I see “bestie” I would not want to be anyones beastie.

14 10 2010
Murray Trillionaire

@trailerparkbarbie: I love Imas Lut. I think that’s how I’m going to sign my checks from now.

14 10 2010
Murray Trillionaire

@ VV: no donkeys but lots of asses.

15 10 2010
Grumpy

don’t get me started on your/you’re – grr argh!

18 10 2010
The Vinyl Villager

I actually made that mistake the other day and could have died from embarassment.

Leave a Reply

