A Little Monday Morning Mash Up

27 09 2010

Thanks to everyone who extended birthday wishes to me either here, on Facebook, or in person. I had a great birthday this year–the celebration of which spread over several days.

Mid last week we joined my folks in Asheville, NC for a fantastic dinner at the Tupelo Honey Cafe. It’s one of my favorite places in Asheville–a little funky, with wonderful food!

I spent my actual birthday supervising the mini-makeover of our kitchen. I tracked down the original cabinetmaker and had crown molding and some taller cabinets added to bring it up a notch. Then on Sunday, I wielded a power tool and we installed knobs and pulls. Here’s a little before and after:

and after:

Such small changes made a HUGE difference.

The night of my birthday, we had a great dinner at the Peddler steak house. It was the first time I’d ever been to the one nearest me. Great food! I am reminded of a time during a staff meeting when this restaurant came up. A woman I worked with, a very prim and proper lady, shouted “Oh, you just can’t beat the meat at the Peddler.”  The rest of us, not quite so prim and proper, of course died laughing. But turns out she was right–filet mignon so tender you could cut it with your fork. Yummy!

Saturday night, Darling threw me a birthday party, which we thought started at six. When six thirty came and went with no guests, we checked and the invitation actually said SEVEN. Whoops! Everyone arrived at the correct time and we filled up on pizza, snacks, and birthday cake. As well as a little booze. (Ok, a lot of booze)

This week marked the premiere of some of my favorite TV shows. Can’t wait to see what Vanessa Williams will bring to Wisteria Lane, or what Paul Young has up his sleeve on Desperate Housewives. The emotionally exhausting crew on Brothers and Sisters brought back another season of their own brand of dysfunction, and Glee didn’t disappoint with the introduction of Coach Bieste.

Any shows you are looking forward to??

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 09 2010
Heather

Re-Brothers & Sisters-Was anything said about Balthazaar Getty’s character? It was just like he never existed last night-nobody said anything about him. I googled around the net and didn’t see anything about him leaving the show only the girl who played Rebecca leaving. Very strange!
Glad you had a great birthday!!

27 09 2010
crochetycrochetlady

Great job! Really looks nice!
Right now it’s all about Jimmy Johnson on Survivor and Cutty fooling around with House. Wow, those are on different ends of the thought process!

29 09 2010
The Incredible Woody

The kitchen looks great!

Vol Fan’s mom said someone “shot his wad”. She had no clue what it really meant. I thought I was going to fall in the floor laughing!!

22 09 2011
Surrey building services

Good job…. Looks great! Next project?

Leave a Reply

