Monday Morning Mish Mash

2 08 2010

1. The past month has been full of new and exciting things…none particularly blogworthy on their own…but combined they’ve kept me from making my usual blog rounds.

2. There’s been a lot of home improvement going on at Darling’s house. I’ve made it my personal goal to learn how to do crown molding. In theory, it should not be that hard. But a good starter project was adding wainscoting to the dining room. I managed to operate power tools for the weekend and NOT lose a finger. Here’s the finished product, topped off with a beautiful pearl gray paint:

3. I’ve got to get my butt in shape for a 5k race labor day weekend. My dad is a big time runner, and his favorite race of the year is a 15 miler back home. He has ran it for 30 years, and several years ago they added a 5k walk/run to the mix. I ran it two years ago because dad was the race director. My youngest brother has gotten onto a fitness kick and he and stepmama are doing the 5k this year. I will be joining them, and my goal is to finish in less than 30 minutes. I’ve been slack at the gym all year, for the first part of the year I simply didn’t feel well enough to go, and it’s been tough getting myself into gear. But I made it twice this weekend…and feel better already.

4. I’m officially starting my own company. For several years I’ve done a lot of consulting and side work on small renovations and spec  houses (the sort of things we don’t do at my 9-to-5 job). I also get ideas for houses a few times a year that I just have to draw up. So, I’m putting those houses and myself out there and will see what happens. Website and more info coming soon!

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 08 2010
fakhikid

I’ve been all over the internet the last few days digesting every piece of information I can get thanks. Sorry my english, but this is great site and nice text , I wil add to my bookmarks.

2 08 2010
The Vinyl Villager

thank you!

2 08 2010
The Incredible Woody

Woot on starting your own business! Good luck!! And you know that we will expect a full write-up about the 5k, right?

2 08 2010
The Vinyl Villager

As soon as Im able to move again afterward, I will! Last time I ran it, a dude dropped dead on the finish line, lets hope I don’t carry that sort of mojo this year.

3 08 2010
Jason

Good luck on the 5k and the new business!

3 08 2010
Liz C.

Love your work! I’d say it’s rather outstanding for a newbie.

I’ve been swimming 6 to 7 days a week for 2 months and have really gotten in shape (in preparation for my trip to Italy) and I’m in the best shape I’ve been in for years. No sore muscles either. I feel like I could run up mountains now!

Wishing you the best of luck with going out on your own! Frankly, with your talent, I’m sure you’ll do well….

Leave a Reply

