A Little Mish Mash

13 07 2010

1. I took the week off last week. It was a good time to do so, as my vacation hours start over at the end of the month, and I had to use or lose a few days worth. I had no real plans for the week, but ended up having a great time with some of my favorite people.

I went up to West Virginia, where I met with a client (a fun client, so it wasn’t too much like work). Then my folks had a final family get together at the old house. About thirty of us chowed down on spaghetti made with my grandmother’s famous recipe. As we all got together for one final party at the house we’ve called home for the past 22 years, I remembered our very FIRST family event there. It was Thanksgiving, 1988. We had just moved in, after a few months delay in the renovations, and had probably 40+ in attendance for Thanksgiving dinner. It runs in my mind that either the knobs on the range had been put on incorrectly or maybe the oven just didn’t work (this was the same oven, afterall, that would take two hours to heat up a pan of pizza rolls), but whatever the case, the turkey was still cold when everyone arrived. It was the first of many parties and get togethers at that house, and I hope the new owners will enjoy it just as much.

My cousin, Trailer Park Midge and her husband opened up their doublewide for a Fourth of Joo-lye cookout. It had been entirely too long since I’d seen Trailerpark Barbie and Little Frugalista so we had a good time catching up.

I spent one day with my crazy mama (slightly less crazy these days, having given up some of her daily cocktail of pharmaceuticals), taking my 1 1/2 year old godson along for a visit to my grandmother (he loved running down her hills and jumping off her front porch), and ending the day visiting with the family of one of my friends (where mom and the other ladies discussed all sorts of medical procedures and problems ad nauseum, prompting me to promise to submit to a testicular exam before my next visit so I could have something to add to the conversation.)

On the way home, I toured a hardwoods factory where a client will be getting some gorgeous walnut flooring and had dinner with one of my best friends near his home in Charlotte. (The restaurant, incidentally, had the best balsamic vinaigrette either of us had tasted.)

All in all, not a bad way to spend a week off.

2. Darling and I spent two days at the beach at the end of the week. It was fun and relaxing until we got in the car to come home. Most condo and house rentals, of course, run Saturday to Saturday, so we were stuck smack dab in the middle of the Saturday morning exodus. What is normally a four hour drive took seven. We passed the time counting how many golf carts were being towed to the beach. (54, in case you wondered, just on the first stretch of highway.) This golf cart craze has me puzzled. There were a few families in my old neighborhood who had them, and there wasn’t a golf course anywhere near us. Near as I can tell and surmise, these are the must-have accessory for subdivision dwellers everywhere. It’s nonsense, apparently,  to fire up the Suburban to drive to the neighborhood pool, or to try parking an Expedition at playgroup up the street. Much better is to spend five to ten grand on a golf cart to tool about the community in. (God forbid anyone actually walk the streets of their own neighborhood.)

3. And speaking of things I can’t see spending money on, a client recently asked for a space in his rec room to put a pinball machine. Who knew that a pinball machine costs around five grand?? It takes an awful lot of quarters for the arcade owners to break even on one of those. Although I can think of about three million things I’d rather spend five grand on, it’s those sort of  little touches that make my job fun sometimes. Over the years, I’ve seen clients request fire poles (to slide from one level’s porch to the next), a full-story slide to get the kids from their bedrooms to their playroom below, a grandmother requested that the entrance to her grandchildren’s suite be made to look like an old armoire a’la “Chronicles of Narnia“, a golfer added a virtual reality room for golf simulation, and a car officianado installed a lift system in his garage so that his prized toys could be stacked vertically. Gets me thinking, if money were no object and I were building my dream house…what little quirks would I add? I once designed myself a  house with a basement that was fully outfitted with a racquetball court, two lanes of bowling, an indoor pool, and a theatre. No need to ever leave home! I could also see including a few things to appeal to my inner child–secret passages, hidden doors, ladders that accessed nooks and crannies in the attic. What would YOUR dream  house have?

Actions

Information

14 responses

13 07 2010
Heather

My dreamhouse would have a giant kitchen with a walk in freezer and a wood burning fire-place/pizza oven and more amenities than you could shake a stick at.
I would also have to have the indoor pool and the theatre. And the garage with the vertical lift system for my classic car collection that will come when I have unlimited money. I would totally love to have the secret passages such as the bookcase that moves to reveal a secret room,etc.

13 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

ooo the walk in freezer would be cool…actually had a client do the pizza oven as part of an outdoor kitchen once.

13 07 2010
Liz C.

Yeah. Umm, you just described my perfect dream house. However, I’d also need an outdoor pool in addition to the indoor pool. I’d also have an awesome outdoor living area and outdoor kitchen. I’m an outdoors kind of gal. I think I’d also have a, electrical system set up to electrocute squirrels when they tried to eat my outdoor linens. Additionally, I’d also like to have an awesome stereo system piped throughout my house. Does a full time gardener and housekeeper fit into the plan? If so, I’m so ready!

14 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

but of course it includes full time help!

13 07 2010
dawtch

No payment 😦
bb
dawtch

14 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

yeah I think thats the top of any dream home list!

14 07 2010
crochety crochet lady

A self cleaning kitchen!!!!!! Love to cook, hate to clean it up or do the dishes. Have the entire kitchen disappear while being cleaned!

Indoor outdoor pool with a cabana boy! I’m good!

19 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

ooo I like your wish list!

14 07 2010
The Incredible Woody

1. Glad Mama has reduced her pharma use!
2. I had the same reaction a couple of years ago when I went to the “rich” neighborhood with my niece on Halloween. Apparently kids don’t walk door to door anymore. They ride in golf carts.
3. Mine would come equipped with a maid and a cook:)

19 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

ugh! at least with the old way of trick or treating the kids walked off some of the calories from the treats.

16 07 2010
Jason

A four hour drive turned to seven? Sounds like Vegas to LA on a Sunday.

I’m happy that your mother is doing better with her meds. But a very small and selfish part of me is going to miss those humdinger stories.

Come over to The Jason Show and help me fight cancer today. I’ll show you my bare chest if you do.

19 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Ooo! is it too late for me to help?? On my way.

18 07 2010
The Girl from the Ghetto

Wait a minute … my blood pressure or ADHD is getting to my brain power here. Does that make you TPB’s brother, relative, or just good friend? I forget how Barbie and Midge are related, which would have me figure out your connection then.

19 07 2010
The Vinyl Villager

TPB is my crazy mama’s brother’s trophy wife. (say that 5 times fast!)

Leave a Reply

