Monday Morning Mish Mash

12 04 2010

1. The house closed! FINALLY. Cutest couple with two young kids bought it and are immediately doing one thing that I wanted to so all along–tearing all of the flooring out on the main level and replacing it with hardwood. They sold all of their old furniture and have new things on order for the house…and were so complimentary of how it looked when they found it. “We felt like we were walking into a museum.” (I think thats a compliment, right?) They and their realtor brought up my master bathroom at least five times. Made me feel good that they loved it.

2. I was feeling my age this weekend. Friday night, a friend sent  me a message inviting me to a cookout and cocktail hour at some other friend’s house. I arrived and was surprised that the she was house/dogsitting for the weekend and the owners weren’t even there. Had some incredible kabobs and homemade salsa. But the part that made me feel old is that she (an early 20s grad student) and her friends had, in a big ole beach pail that had “The Fuck It Bucket” painted on the front, mixed together some concoction that they were taking shots of via turkey baster. “Let’s get basted!”. As if that weren’t bad enough, they were then chugging beers and aforementioned “Fuck It Bucket” cocktail from a SNORKLE. So the two old men (myself and a good friend visiting for the weekend) adjourned for a glass or two at a more age-appropriate venue. On the way home, we stopped by an old haunt for another drink and my friend ran smack into his ex who, to our amusement, is now dating a man who is not an inch over 5 feet tall, even if you consider his four inch high bangs.

3. Today is Day One of taking Chantix. It worked to help me kick the habit a year or so ago, but I fell off the wagon after a few months. I’m convinced this time is for good. And I’m looking forward to the technicolor dreams that drug induces. Stay tuned.

4. A few of you asked to see pics of my new place. They’ll be coming soon. The sofa I am using in my living room is the very first piece of furniture I ever bought for myself as a college student. I had it custom made, and it cost over $1000, which everyone thought was CRAZY for a poor ole student to be spending. But, nearly 15 years later, I still like the lines of it, actually still like the fabric on it, and have not seen anything I like as much when looking for its replacement. So I am having that and my living room chair recovered. (At a shockingly low price). Ill post up some photos when I get them back in a few weeks.

Actions

Information

10 responses

12 04 2010
The Incredible Woody

1. Hooray for closings!!!!!
2. The hangovers hurt more than they used to…but this weekend is Ridgearoo! Woohoo! Beer, DJ, old friends – looks like it will be a good Friday night. Not so sure about the remainder of the weekend.
3. Good luck, my friend. And I’m looking forward to the dreams:)
4. When I build, will you be my designer? My eye for color, etc sucks. Big time.

12 04 2010
The Vinyl Villager

well of course I will! Just tell me when.

12 04 2010
Jason

I am so glad your house has closed. Sometimes that is a miracle in and of itself.

I wish I could have met the new short boyfriend with high bangs. Sounds very humorous!

Shots out of a baster? Oh yeah, I’m way too old for that, too. (Of course I am. I’m older than you are. You’re still a spring chicken.)

12 04 2010
The Vinyl Villager

It really was a miracle. If the paperwork hadnt come through THAT DAY, it may have ended up being a real mess because their committment from their lender expired at midnight that night.

13 04 2010
Tammy

Congratulations on closing! Until that’s done you never know what could happen.

I don’t even want to talk about being old and drinking, gah! All the joy I used to get from it is gone, all I can handle now is red wine now and then. I wouldn’t mind seeing people being served with a turkey baster though, that sound hilarious.

Four inch bangs?!! Hahahaha!

Good luck kicking the habit! I look forward to seeing your new place.

13 04 2010
The Vinyl Villager

even red wine gives me heartburn…Im not sure I can handle anything other than a vodka and soda anymore.

13 04 2010
Crochety Crochet Lady

Ohhhhhh Chantix is scary stuff. I quit on it but had every bad side affect and some they didn’t even mention at the time. Scared me so bad I’m afraid to even try to smoke again……….. Still want to……… I’m just saying…

13 04 2010
The Vinyl Villager

yeah I had CRAZY dreams the last time, and if I didnt eat on a full stomach, I was deathly ill. At $140 a refill, not covered my insurance, natch, its got to work, because you cant afford to take it and smoke.

13 04 2010
noe noe girl

dont give up- i loved my dreams….3 years smoke free now!
I’ll be your support person. you can do this.
yeah on the house. welcome to the feeling old club!

15 04 2010
Big Hair Envy

YAY!! You closed!

I’ll just admit it, I am WAY too old to participate in ANY party antics involving snorkels and turkey basters. Or beer, for that matter. I’m also WAY too old for four inch bangs..;) I miss the ’80’s.

I’m still singing your praises for turning me onto “Hopsack”!!! It’s second only to my favorite paint color of all time…..”Herbivore”:)

Leave a Reply

