Kids And The Pranks They Pull

23 03 2010

I have a LOT of cousins. Like maybe 30 first cousins. Dad is one of nine kids, and mom is one of four, so there’s a lot of room for folks carrying my bloodline to be running around. One of  my cousins and I were born the same week…I am older than her by three days, so growing up we were always close. Y’all might know her mama, TrailerPark Barbie. Barbie might kill me for revealing that she is old enough (but not medicated enough) to be my mama…but there it is. And her daughter, TrailerPark Skipper, has dipped her toe into the blogging world with a guest blog over at Barbie’s Trailer Park, and a blog of her very own dedicated to pinching a penny til Lincoln begs for mercy.

There’s a point to this besides me plugging for y’all to go give her a read (though you certainly should). See…when Skipper and I were kids we went through a little prank playing phase. Flipping through the phone book and calling people with unfortunate last names (long before Caller ID rendered such phone play impossible) was one thing I remember rather well. But the best prank ever took place in the parking lot of Hills Department Store.

Skippers mom and dad had the very first minivan Chevy ever made. It was two-tone blue and had rows and rows of seats. It was like a rolling living room to a young kid used to being crammed into a Honda hatchback. And one day, myself, Skipper, and Barbie were out running around in their big ole van when Barbie had to make a stop at Hills. Hills was THE place to shop in those days…we had yet to get a Wal Mart, no one had heard of Target, and KMart just couldn’t compare. Barbie must have been running in to grab a few quick items, because she left Skipper and I in the van. (Something that would have gotten us kidnapped, molested, or taken by social services if it were to happen today, but back then, it was just fine.)

I don’t have a clue what prompted us to do it, where we got the idea from, or who instigated it (I’ll take credit to preserve Skipper’s sterling reputation) but we found a piece of paper and a pen and crafted the following note:

“Sorry I bumped your car. Don’t have any insurance. Hope it doesn’t cost you too much.”

The exact wording is lost to time, but that was the jist of the note we placed under the windshield wiper of a car within site of the van. I don’t think we expected to actually SEE the owner of the car find that note, but we did. She came out, saw the note, grabbed it, and then her jaw dropped, her hands flew to the sky, and she shreiked as she circled her undamaged car looking for the dent caused by the hit and run driver.

Skipper and I died laughing in the floor of the van, careful to hide ourselves from the view of the irate driver. I wonder if we told Barbie what we were laughing at when she got back to the van?

Actions

Information

21 responses

23 03 2010
The Incredible Woody

LMAO! I thought you were going to say that you decided to move the car and had bumped another one while doing it:)

23 03 2010
The Vinyl Villager

No, no, it was years before I ever crashed a car into anything. LOL

23 03 2010
littlefrugalista

How funny you should post this. Today while I was working out I got to thinking about how we called and pranked that Fortune Teller/Psychic lady who lived on Valley Drive (it was still Valley Drive back then). She would answer and would demand to know who it was. We would then tell her if she was psychic she should already know.
😀

23 03 2010
The Vinyl Villager

OMG I totally forgot that one! LOL!!

23 03 2010
trailerparkbarbie

hahahahaha…that’s funny!

23 03 2010
queenofphrump

That’s a good one! I did not realize the relationships. The blog world is a small one indeed.

23 03 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Yes it is! Its her fault I blog actually…she made me do it! 😉

23 03 2010
trailerparkbarbie

..and I am so glad that you decided to blog. You are really good at it!

23 03 2010
trailerparkbarbie

VV….I totally loved this! For one thing, it brought back memories. Another thing, I now know what you and Skipper were up to. (no, y’all didn’t tell me what you were laughing at).
I hated that van! I felt like I was driving a Meals on Wheels…especially when I would catch a glimpse of elderly men and women running toward it at stop lights.
Skipper just read this post, too. She called me just as I was getting ready to post this comment and we were laughing at it. She has some memories of your pranks, too. I hope she will post some of them in a comment.

Thanks for the memories and the laughs!

23 03 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Oh wow, I remember you calling it Meals on Wheels!! Didnt you all hit a moose or something in Canada with it once?

23 03 2010
littlefrugalista

We hit a deer and were redeneck enough to go back and see if we could eat the carcass. Alas the van destroyed it. LOL

23 03 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Thats perfectly legal where we come from, thanks to the lejjislateure! I always wondered why they passed that law…would the sort of person who would eat roadkill really pause to consider if it were legal?

23 03 2010
Tammy

That is a great story!

23 03 2010
The Vinyl Villager

I love it! Brings back great memories.

23 03 2010
littlefrugalista

What about the people we used to call and try to sell huge lots of condoms wholesale rofl

23 03 2010
The Vinyl Villager

OMG I forgot that one! LOL

25 03 2010
trailerparkbarbie

hmmm……you two were up to a LOT MORE than I knew about. I should give you both a good thrashing!
JK…..actually, I really enjoyed it when y’all got together. You made me laugh a lot. I miss those days.
Hey….why don’t you come and spend the weekend. I’ll get TPSkipper to come, too. We’ll “borrow” some other peoples cellphone and make prank calls!

25 03 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Me too! We should have a get together soon. (As soon as I get a new pancreas and get moved…I swear my “junk” has been mating and multiplying in the closets these past five years! Ive got one more day til the movers come and I am nowhere near done! Im tempted to go get a carload of “day laborers” from the parking lot of Home Depot, or see if one of those people with the “will work for food” signs actually means it.

26 03 2010
Big Hair Envy

LOVE this story! I had a cousin who was born the same year as I, and we used to get into all kinds of mischief. He was a lot bigger than I was, and one day he told me to climb on his shoulders and get the baby aspirin off of the top shelf of the pantry. This was REAL baby aspirin, mind you, and we liked the “orangey” flavor. Long story short, we ate the whole bottle!! My dad ran over my tricycle trying to back out of the driveway to take us to the hospital. I don’t remember anything about the hospital visit, but I remember being one ticked off little lady when I saw my tricycle!!!

BTW – I LUV TPB;) Would you please bring her to Blog Fest with you??

6 04 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Ill see if I can talk her into it! Maybe me, her, and TrailerPark Skipper could make a weekend of it!

1 04 2010
Maurita

Dear Friends, Happy April Fool’s Day!!

A man accompanied a friend home for dinner one evening and noticed that as soon as they entered the door, his friend kissed his wife and told her how pretty she looked. After dinner, he complimented his wife on the food and kissed her again.
“Do you always do that?” asked the visitor when they were alone.
“You bet I do,” answered the man. “It helps keep our marriage a happy one.”
The visitor was greatly impressed and decided to use the same procedure with his own wife. That night he swept her into his arms when he got home and kissed her warmly. “Sweetheart,” he said, “you look wonderful tonight, and I’m a lucky man to have such a beautiful wife.”
His wife looked at him in amazement, then burst into tears.
“For Pete’s sake,” exclaimed the astonished man, “what’s the matter?”
“What a day this has been!” his wife answered. “First Johnny sprained his ankle, then the washing machine broke down and flooded the basement, and now you come home drunk!”

Happy April Fool’s Day!

Leave a Reply

