Monday Morning Mish Mash

18 01 2010

1. Most of you know I’m a big fan of home and garden shows. whenever I hear people on “House Hunters” complaining about wallpaper or a paint color they don’t like, I just cringe…”That can be fixed with a bucket of paint and a Saturday afternoon!” I’ve been known to yell at the TV a time or two. But after spending the weekend helping Sweetie strip wallpaper I can almost understand where they are coming from. Now, the previous owners of Sweetie’s mid-century ranch were a pair of old queens, and stereotypes would tell us that the house should have been gorgeous, and decorated to within an inch of it’s life. But, these two fellas didn’t get the decorating gene. (or at least it mutated when they got to the bedrooms–I can’t fault the other rooms.) The master was papered in floral stripes separated from a navy blue texture by a floral border. Probably the height of elegance in 1989, but certainly not what anyone wants to fall asleep under these days. But, nothing a weekend and a bucket of paint can’t fix, right? WRONG! The blue paper came off easily enough–just peel off the face, spray and steam the backing, and it scraped off revealing clean smooth wall beneath. But the top half, clearly a different sort of paper, was like scraping a price tag off. Nightmare!

2. There was a car show in my little town this weekend. Kind of pitiful…many of the luxury brands were missing, and even a few of the non-luxury brands were absent. But American cars were out in full force, and I must admit they have come a long way. The new Buick LaCrosse was gorgeous, the new Ford Taurus was turning heads, even the new Chevy Camaro wasn’t half bad. Chrysler, on the other hand, seems content to keep making cars that only a rental agency could love.

3. And speaking of cars, now that I’m driving around in a fine piece of German engineering, I am moving to the top of my “to do” list a visit to the BMW Zentrum, about a half hour from me. The US factory that builds BMW X5s and X6s is there and features a museum and plant tours. Should be a fun way to spend a few hours!

4. Gotta make a doctor’s appointment this week. A few weeks ago, I felt like I was getting a cold. Ever since, I’ve just felt “off”…a near constant feeling like my body is craving something–a mixture of dizziness and feeling like I’m just starving to death (despite the fact that it gets WORSE if I eat.) Any guesses what’s wrong with me?

Actions

Information

20 responses

18 01 2010
Amanda

Hypoglycemia
Diabetes
Nasty cold
Vitamin deficiency
anemia

That’s all I’ve got. Be wary of WebMD (HA)
http://drgrumpyinthehouse.blogspot.com/2010/01/goodnight-humor.html

18 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

none of that sounds good…Doctors visit is a must!

18 01 2010
The Incredible Woody

1. Our new house was COVERED with wallpaper. Some multiple layers thick. Some directly on the sheet rock without primer beneath. Wallpaper should be outlawed!!
2. The Buick Enclave is pretty sharp.
3. Blew right by that place on my journey:)
4. Maybe you are pregnant?! LOL! Seriously, it sounds like hypoglycemia to me.

18 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

wow…pregnant! Wonder how much money the last “pregnant man” got for the media attention? Might help pay off some bills…

18 01 2010
Tammy

Wallpaper is evil! I cringe when I watch the decorating shows and they decide to use it to redo a room. I hope to never have to scrap wallpaper again… ever!

Touring the BMW place would be very cool. If you go take pics!

A trip to the doctor definitely seems in order.

19 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

appt. made for BMW on Friday. Doctors appt. made for Wednesday!

18 01 2010
sixcatmama

My vote is for pregnant! Have you been craving pickles and ice cream????

19 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

no more than usual…

19 01 2010
thegirlfromtheghetto

I hate hate hate people who have bad decorating taste. My hubby bought our plans before my time, and we have been slowly updating an 80s nightmare. All I will say is painting over black cabinets and spongepainted bathrooms done in black and silver is a nightmare. And I only watched!

Oh, boy, get to the doctor soon. Spare yourself the years of misery I spent and DON’T start trying to self diagnose online. But, don’t let them tell you it is nothing, in case your doctor does. This sounds “curious” to me, you are too young to feel “off.” Hope everything will be ok.

19 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

It was probably good taste when they did it…

silver and black sponge paint?? Ya know, when we were buying the paint for this little project there was a woman who seemed to be attempting a gold and tomato red spongepaint in her house. Sweetie had to implore me not to stage an intervention right there in the Lowes.

19 01 2010
big hair envy

It’s imperative that you get to the doctor….STAT! It could be something as simple as stress, but you don’t want to take that chance.

Wallpaper is the bane of my existence. Evil personified. BTW – I’m LOVING the “Hopsack” you recommended….pictures coming soon;)

I’m definitely a Camaro fan. When CB & I first started dating (in high school) he drove a ’69 Camaro. Mr. Subliminal??

19 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

I thought I spied a little hopsack in some of your Christmas photos…look forward to seeing the full picture spread!

19 01 2010
Liz C.

I was watching House Hunters or something on HGTV this last weekend and this idiot guy kept going through houses saying things like “Oh no! We can’t buy this house because it has wallpaper in a couple of rooms” or “We can’t buy this house because the walls in the basement aren’t finished.” I so wanted to slap the moron. I settled for a virtual slap. Oh and here’s a hint: There are people you can hire to do the nasty wallpaper deed but I’m not one of them.

Taurus? Really” Hmmmmm…

A Beamer, huh? I’m a Toyota gal myself. However, I drove the evil Suburbans for 20 years. How else could I have hauled all those kids to soccer & basketball games?

Yup, you have to get thyself to the doctor. It might be something as simple as allergies but you won’t know until you see the Doc. I’ve been getting nauseous (like I’m going to hurl) and then sneeze (a huge sloppy sneeze). Turns out it’s my stomach, not my allergies.

19 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

I used to want a Suburban so bad. No idea what for. But I have always loved them.

19 01 2010
Sweetie

Yes you need to get to the doctor!!!! Believe it or not I checked around this morning, its not easy to find people to remove wallpaper….In theory it is, there are alot of painters who do this, but when you explain you’ve tried to take it down, and you go thru all the tools, tricks, sprays, razors etc you’ve bought and tried…..they all go, HUM! Of course at that point they just suggest maybe painting over it, and texturizing your wall. So much for that idea! LOL

19 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

I am convinced the old queens hired a voodoo witch doctor to come in and place a binding spell on that wallpaper.

20 01 2010
sixcatmama

Does sweetie need to go to the doctor too? Most diseases are transferable…

20 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

not unless hypoglycemia is contagious.

27 01 2010
trailerparkbarbie

crossing my fingers for “pregnent”. We need some new blood in the family. And, just think of all the education a lil’ Junior could get from YCM!

Seriously, keep the doc appt. I tried to self-diagnose this winter and ended up with a butt-load of ER bills. Plus, I am covered from head to toe at this very minute with a drug-reaction induced rash that looks like a horrible case of chicken pox. Love you toooo much to see you make the same mistake.

27 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

well I wasnt pregnant. Thank God! Trying to get child support these days is hell! LOL!

Leave a Reply

