First Mish Mash of 2010!

4 01 2010

1. So, the Honda dealership somehow managed to get my car back to me after working on it, basically, for two days. This worries me. They replaced 60-some individual parts. I basically  have no confidence in the car I loved now. So, trying really hard to decide if I should just trade it in or not. Test drove a few things over the weekend, including a BMW that I LOVE. Now, I live very near the United States BMW plant. Their employees get some great perks, including dirt cheap use of their products. So I’ve never wanted a BMW because everyone and their cleaning lady here has one. But, damn, this one I have picked out is purty! And drives like a dream. Mmmm…what to do, what to do?

2. Had a great New Year’s weekend. Rang in the new year at a house party, where something called Jim Jones punch nearly got the better of me. An old friend and his partner visited my little town for the weekend, was great catching up and showing them around. We had dinner at a Persian restaurant I’ve been wanting to try. Basically, there was very little on the menu that sounded familiar to me, but I tried a sampling of kabobs that were incredible—particularly something called a Kabob Torsh, which is beef tenderloin in a pomegranite and walnut marinade. Very good stuff! We did some barhopping before and after dinner. Had a great time, though at our last stop the old Honey and the new Sweetie (yes, faithful readers, there is one) came face to face. Awkward for all, but I guess it’s good to have that over with.

3. Had three showings of the Plastic Palace last week, including one who came back for a second look. I smell an offer…and I think 2010 is gonna be a great year so long as work stays steady enough that I can keep a paycheck. Still not seeing anything but the dimmest glimmer of that light at the end of the economic tunnel.

4. There’s no cable at my temporary residence, but my roomie has a huge collection of movies and TV shows on DVD. He has gotten me hooked on “How I Met Your Mother“…I love all the cast members, and the storylines are great–I’d call it the “Friends” of the 2000’s. Anyone else a fan?

Actions

Information

19 responses

4 01 2010
Sandi

Time for YOU to get a new sweetie for the next encounter with the old sweetie!

4 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

oh no no! It was MY new sweetie.

4 01 2010
The Incredible Woody

1. As much as I love my Hondas, that is one damn fine looking vehicle:)

2. There is no sweeter revenge than seeing an old flame while with the new flame, especially if the new flame is HOT and you were looking HOT!

3. Woohoo!!

4. Fan here. Tivo it every week! I think it is a riot!

4 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

I probably looked more a hot mess than hot…but it was dark in there. LOL

4 01 2010
cuteasasa

1) Very nice. Very. And I understand. Hard to fall back in love once you can’t trust, be it mechanical or otherwise.
2) Jim Jones punch. Will have to look that one up.
3) 2010 can’t possibly be worse than 2009. Even if I die in 2010, it will be only equally bad with 2009. Unless I die after 6 months of actually sticking to my New Year’s diet. Twas a bad year it twas.
4) Can’t stand it. I think a comedian summed up my annoyance with this show when he wanted to understand how the main character “grows up” to be Bob Saget.

4 01 2010
4 01 2010
Tammy

That is one gorgeous car! If you can afford I say go for it!

Better to get the old honey new sweetie stuff out of the way.

I hope to hear your house sells soon, we will have one on the market in a couple months and I want to hear good things about home sales!

I’ve never watched How I met your mother… But I hear great things about it.

4 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

The funny thing is, the insurance is cheaper on the BMW than on my Honda!

4 01 2010
Zack

1 – I say definitely get the BMW and then let me drive it when you come home the next time!

4 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Well as long as you don’t pull into the driveway or go through any tunnels in it…LOL

4 01 2010
Josh

Hahaha, I bet that was ackward with the whole new/old sweetie thing. I’ve had that happen before. So I know how it is.

Your house may sell if someone is sniffing around it. I hope they think it smells as good as you think!

5 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Me too! No offer yet…but I hope one is coming.

5 01 2010
Grumpy

Ugh – old Honey/new Sweetie stuff can be rather uncomfortable, no matter how moved on or over one or both parties may or may not claim to be.

LOVE ‘How I Met Your Mother’ 🙂 I think ‘Slap Bet’ is my fave episode

5 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Thats the favorite episode of the friend who got me hooked too! Love how the slaps get paid back over the rest of the show….

5 01 2010
Sweetie

HAHA the new sweetie/old honey thing wasn’t that awkward – the old was out the door in a flash 😦 The BMW is deffinatly the car of choice for the deal he can get on it! And he looks damn good in it if I may say so myself!

5 01 2010
Sandi

From what I hear, he looks good in anything! Out yourself, Sweetie! We DEMAND pictures!

5 01 2010
The Vinyl Villager

Sandi, you are too kind. And NO PICTURES! The last person who saw a picture of Sweetie called me a dirty old cougar.

5 01 2010
Wicked Stepmom

It is a lovely car but you will also lose the great service you get with Honda plus the parts, etc. will be more. Leave it to a mom to be practical. (lol)
I am also just not seeing you staying at a log cabin in the woods. Think creepy spiders … You are more a modern, state of the art cabin person.

8 01 2010
alyson

I LOVE How I Met Your Mother. Slap bet is hilarious.

Leave a Reply

