Mid Week Mish Mash

30 12 2009

1. I decided to rename this category. All too often, my little mish mashes weren’t happening on Monday mornings. So now it’s just the Mish Mash and I can do it whenever I damn well please, thank you very much.

2. So what did Santa bring you? He was very good to me this year. I got a new netbook computer, which will be great to take along when Im traveling, and will keep me from always being glued to my desktop. I got a cool new watch–an automatic “skeleton” watch that shows off its inner workings. And I got pampered. The week of Christmas I had a massage, a manicure, and a pedicure. And I will sleep like a baby in 2010 with my new ridiculously expensive (but purchased on sale) pillow, new pajamas, and a new blanket that is the softest thing I’ve ever felt in my life. I also got the second season of Dexter on DVD. For those of you who don’t watch the show—you MUST. Trust me on this. Start at the beginning and watch…I have stayed up til dawn many a night because I can’t stop watching once I start.

 My new watch.

3. So the Honda dealership called me today with the news that my engine is shot. Luckily, this is still covered by the extended powertrain warranty. (Otherwise I’d be selling a kidney on eBay to pay the almost $7,000 it will cost to repair my car.) While I’m glad that my cost is limited to a rental car (why they wouldnt give me a loaner is beyond me!) and some frustration, I am beyond upset that my two year old car has suffered such a mechanical breakdown. It has always been pampered and maintained above and beyond what is recommended, and Hondas are supposed to go FOREVER. I am seriously considering trading it as soon as I get it back next week.

4. One of my brothers got the Wii game “Just Dance” for Christmas. Basically, a silhouette busts a move to dance hits from the 50s to today, and you must replicate the on screen moves. This made for a Christmas morning full of belly laughs. None of us are known for our dance moves…though I have some vague recollection of some attempted break dancing going on in our kitchen at one of my dad’s birthday parties one year…but it was quite a surprise that Dad got the best score of the morning with his rendition of the Mashed Potato song.

5. Did I mention there were over two feet of snow waiting on me when I got home for Christmas last week? Of course, where I live now, snow is a rarity, so to see two feet was quite a treat for me. My godson and I built a snowman and went snowtubing in it. I always loved playing in the snow when I was a kid, and take every opportunity to do so now that I’m kinda sorta grown up.

6. My crazy mama got sentimental on me Christmas night. After lunch with the family, she and I spent a few hours with one of my best friends from childhood and his family. He and I had managed to miss each other the last few times I’ve been home, so it was good to catch up a little, and mom seemed to enjoy being in the company of other ladies her age. After leaving there, we stopped by another close friend’s house (the mother of my godchildren) so mom could see the kids. For all her nuttiness, she loves kids and old people. Anyhoo…when I dropped her back off, she dug into her cedar chest and gave me a couple of outfits that had been mine as a baby, along with the music box from my nursery and the Volkswagen-shaped cookie jar I loved as a kid. (“Ever had sex in a Volkswagen?” she asked, “I have and let me tell ya, that take some flexibility.”) Upon getting home, I promptly dropped the music box, shattering the figures head into a dozen pieces. I’m just heartbroken over this. I have found someone who specializes in repairing such things, but I just know it will cost a fortune.

Actions

Information

14 responses

30 12 2009
Amanda

Does ebay have one you can replace it with?

31 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Ive been checking, but no luck so far.

30 12 2009
cuteasasa

Can YCM have a conversation without involving sex? Amazing to me that she can be waxing warm and fuzzy one sec while recalling her sexual flexability the next.

I think I’d like a Wii. Always sounds like such fun.

31 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

no, she can’t. The latest, which I may write about, is a man with a foot fetish. ick!

30 12 2009
dawtch

1. It’s your blog & you can Mash if you want to, Mash if you want to…

2. Santa brought me a set of makeup brushes, and some battery powered candles that, considering they came from the dollar store, look surprisingly realistic – but that take 3 AAA batteries EACH – I think that’s gonna end up hurting…

3. I think my car energy is rubbing off on you somehow…but, with a whole new motor, mebbe you oughta keep it – at least until a week before the warranty runs out 😀

4. I would imagine Dad has had a few more years to practice his dance, so really no surprise there, to me – lol.

5. I LOVE SNOW!!!!! Not that that’s news to anyone…Sadly, for whatever reason, we seem to miss most of it here 😦 They’ll get 2 feet in Terre Haute, Evansville, Gary & Dayton…we’ll get 2″ – if we’re lucky. Not sure how it happens that it will snow ALL THE WAY AROUND US BUT NOT HERE, but it happens fairly regularly…

6. I am truly glad for you that you got to spend some “good” time with your Mama, I have seen how rarely that occurs…I’m sorry about the music box, but the memories are in your heart, not the box 🙂

bb
dawtch

31 12 2009
thegirlfromtheghetto

That wii game looks like so much fun!

31 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

it is a blast! Id love to play it after drinking a little to loosen up.

31 12 2009
noe noe girl

Sorry about the music box =(
But the rest of your Christmas sounds wonderful.

31 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

ya know, it wasn’t half bad!

31 12 2009
Big Hair Envy

Is that a picture of YOU?? Lookin’ GOOD;)

Well, now there’s proof. Despite all of the craziness, Mama loves you:) That’s good stuff.

Happy New Year!

31 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

yes that’s me after wiping out on the snowtube! LOL. You are too kind. She does love me in her own special way…

31 12 2009
Jason

First of all, we are huge Dexter fans.

Second, I have GOT to get that Just Dance game for our new Wii!!!

31 12 2009
VE

Well, my blog roll starts anew tomorrow. I’d be honored if you participate again in 2010. Leave a comment and you’re on the blog roll! Thanks for visiting and commenting in 2009.

31 12 2009
dawtch

OK, WTF..? my comment is gone AGAIN!!! And I know I left it, because otherwise I wouldn’t have gotten emails on all these other ones from checking the “send me follow-up comments” box….GRRRRRRRRRR
bb
dawtch

Leave a Reply

