Monday Morning Mish Mash

7 12 2009

1. I spent Saturday afternoon putting up the Christmas tree in the little house at the Vinyl Village. Those of you who have been around a while might recall that I go a little nuts with the Christmas tree lights. My 7.5 foot tree normally sports over 1000 white lights, delicately woven from trunk to tip. Well, this year, several strands of my lights decided to depart this Earth while waiting in the attic for the holiday season. And since I have about as much Christmas spirit as the love child of Scrooge and the Grinch, I made do with only 600 this year. That sound you hear is the power company’s stock dropping on this news.

2. My crazy mama had a date on Friday. She met the gentleman at one of the local gambling establishments. (“Don’t you dare tell your Granny!” she warned) I was to call at 9:30 in order to give mama an “out” if the date was a dud, but it slipped my mind. “That’s alright.” she said the next morning when I called to apologize for my forgetfulness. “You’da been interrupting something if you had called! He’s six foot two and hung like a bull! And Lord, he has stamina. I’m not as young as I used to be you know…I think I’m gonna go take me a nap.” That sound you hear is me gagging.

3. I’ve got a question about lawn maintenance. Is there a reason we must rake leaves? Is it bad for the lawn to just leave them there? Since I was a child, the only reason I can think of to rake leaves (other than removing them from walks and driveways, which makes sense) is to make a pile to jump in. Otherwise, why bother? The street I grew up on is canopied with large trees and I still love the “whoosh” of leaves in the fall as you drive down it–sending a cloud of fallen leaves into the air behind the car. I like the gentle rustle of leaves moving across the lawn in a breeze. Maybe I’m just lazy, but I say leave them.

4. I think we all get a song stuck in our head from time to time, but I’ve been getting them “stuck” a lot more the past month or so. I don’t know what’s up with that! Everything from the theme to “The Fall Guy” to the Black Eyed Peas…might be a sign of insanity.

Actions

Information

20 responses

7 12 2009
JJJWWW

Since I think I inspired #3: to keep up with the neighbors…if they were evenly spaced across the lawn, they’d remain, but they are unsightly and lumpy, with part of the yard covered, part uncovered…NO WIRE HANGERS!!

8 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

ha ha! YES you did inspire this.

7 12 2009
JJJWWW

Oh, and with the wet leaves on the 45-degree downward angle on the street into our neighborhood, you have to start braking about 50 yards from the stop sign, otherwise you would skid across the street and down a steep hill — wish those folks would rake those OUT of the street.

7 12 2009
cuteasasa

Won’t that be a meet cute story to share with your future babies about their step-grandpappy? ….shudder….

8 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

they’ve already “broken up” LOL!

7 12 2009
Jason

Even with 600 lights, your tree looks great. Once year I put those twirly twiggy things at the top of our tree but my kids made so much fun of them!

8 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I should clarify that is last years tree…I get made fun of for them too…people have no taste. lol

7 12 2009
big hair envy

Your tree is SO purty!!! Is that my gift…the one with the polka dots and the pink name tag?? I LOVE it!! You are too kind;)

I don’t mind leaves in the yard. The ones in the gutters?? Now THAT’S a different story. SOMEONE needs to get on that…..I won’t name any names!!

Hope you are feeling a bit better these days:)

8 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Im feeling much better…would be great if I had a lil Christmas spirit. But I seem to have less every year anyway….

8 12 2009
noe noe girl

Love the tree, and with gifts already. Impressive!
Dont even say the leaf word around me.
We just finished getting ours up.
There were so many I even posted about it.
’tis the season!

8 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

dont be too impressed Noe Noe…those are last years presents. LOL! Ive bought ONE this year, and it isnt even wrapped.

8 12 2009
Al

I don’t know about the leaves either. I love to rake em and let the kids jump in though. And as for the songs getting stuck in your head? Well…let’s just say I woke up at 5am this morning with that damn Lady Gaga song in mine. Talk about insanity. THAT will drive you there!

8 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

ga ga ooo la la ro ma ro ma ma

8 12 2009
Amanda

We aren’t decorating for the third year in a row – traveling too close to Christmas. Bah Humbug.

We didn’t rake up the leaves this year and I can see our grass growing like mad underneath, even in spots where we’ve had trouble keeping it nice and green. SO, I say leave the leaves and have a gorgeous lawn in the spring.

8 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Excellent point, surely the leaves make for a lovely mulch.

8 12 2009
trailerparkbarbie

OMG! Now, I know why I haven’t heard from her lately. TPSkipper said that if I ever told her about any sexual adventures, she would throw up, hang up, and jack me up!

My crazy song for the last few days has been…Pink Floyd “Is Anybody Out There” intertwined with David Allen Coe…”You Never Even Called Me By My Name”….quite an interesting mixture for my BC (brain channels).

Love your tree! We didn’t put up one last year because we were going to be gone. The year before that was when the “bat mishap” took place.
This year when we got the three out of the attic, we discoverd a block of lights that were not working. So, I immediately name it “the back of the tree” and put that part against the wall. Who has time to fix all that stuff?

10 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Not me. Lights are too cheap to worry with.

10 12 2009
Stephen

When I dragged the tree-box in from storage and opened it, about 10 roaches scurried out. Jack made a stomping game out of it, but Suz was ready to skip the holiday entirely after that. Looks like I am in the market for a big zipper bag.

10 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

oh hell no. You know how I am about a roach. At that point I would have said, “Kids, we’re the Jewish. Mazel-tav!”

14 12 2009
Wicked Stepmom

Well, your list for santa is certainly interesting. Let’s hope that someone in our family hits the lottery this week.

Leave a Reply

