Monday Morning Mish Mash

1 12 2009

1. Had a wonderful Thanksgiving with the family this year. It dawned on me that it’s the first time in many years that we’ve all been together. My middle brother spent last Thanksgiving…um…attending a state function, I was absent from a few because I was at the outlaws house, and so I think this might have been the first time in four or five years we were all at the house together. I mentioned meeting my brother’s new girlfriend, and am somewhat disappointed to report that there’s nothing blog-worthy about her–she seems very nice, good looking (our Nana said she was “as pretty as a speckled submarine–whatever that means).

2. Lil brother, stepmom, and I braved the malls on Black Friday. I didn’t buy a single thing but I did help pick out a few of my Christmas gifts (am so looking forward to my new memory foam pillow!!). Best Buy was a ZOO! But, the TV I thought I got such a great deal on last year was half the price I paid for it. Kind of a sick feeling knowing I could have gotten two if I waited a year. LOL!

3. My uncle hosted our big family Thanksgiving this year. The lucky bastard didn’t even have his house on the market and a neighbor’s friend made an offer on it. Why can’t I have that kinda luck?? No one  has even looked at my house.

4. I saw my crazy mama, literally, for five minutes over Thanksgiving. The usual reasons for my short visit apply, but she called five hours late–literally as I was on my way to the interstate to come home. And was less concerned with seeing me and more concerned that I might bring her a pack of cigarettes and a dozen eggs (which took THREE stops to find). She claimed she was baking a cake. She gives me her usual speech about “the house is a mess, but come on anyway.” And when she says a mess, she means it! I snuck and took the picture above while she was refilling her Pepsi. That giant pile of clothes is her sofa! and that mess of stuff in front is hiding a coffee table. I’ve long said it looks like one of those Oprah shows on hoarding–you be the judge!

Actions

Information

14 responses

1 12 2009
Claire

Ewww! I’ve never understood laundry on the living room couch. Yup, looks like a screen cap from Hoarders. Glad you had a good Thanksgiving though. I completely avoided shopping over the weekend – well, not completely – but mostly because of a zero budget! LOL. Let us know what you think of that memory foam pillow. I’ve always thought those were weird. I like to scrunch up my pillow too much.

1 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

well Im a little high maintenance about my pillows. I have to have at least three. And I like a really firm one under my head…but these things are HEAVY, so I hope I like ’em.

1 12 2009
Mental P Mama

Mercy! Is that a big salad on the coffee table?

1 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Laws, I hate to think what she might be growing….

1 12 2009
Liz C.

Glad to hear you had a good Thanksgiving. I only did cyber shopping over the holiday, but I got some great deals.

Your poor crazy mother may need help… or she may just need an intervention of sorts. Whew! What a mess!

1 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

and she chain smokes in the house. Can you imagine he dust and odors trapped in all that? Ugh…it smells like a bar.

1 12 2009
trailerparkbarbie

I, hereby, verify that is REALLY her house!

2 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

can’t make stuff like that up!

2 12 2009
Judy S

Reminds me of MIL’s house, except she had to excavate the couch because FIL is not well and had to have somewhere comfortable to sit. She sent me home with a van-load of fabric and old magazines. I took them gladly, since I have no problem disposing of useless items, and if I hadn’t they’d still be in her house. 😦 They moved into her mom’s house, so now they have not only her hoard, but her mom’s too. Ugh. And, believe it or not, that pic is not the worst I’ve witnessed.

2 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I believe it! I wish I could have take a few more of the other rooms. Or the bathrooms…there is just a path on the floor to get to everything between the bottles of lotion, shampoo, conditioner, etc.

2 12 2009
cuteasasa

Love pillows. I got a memory foam last year as a little treat to myself. It’s either under the pile of clothes on my couch : ) or somewhere in the closet. It was too firm for me but it might have just been the one I picked.

Yea, Momma is a hoarder. Clean hoarder tho, not the type with filth amongst the stuff. Curious. What does her actual closet look like? Right now that’s exactly what my couch looks like but to a good cause. I’m undergoing my annual purge. I have 4 45 gallon trash bags packed and ready for Goodwill later today. Now I have to put the rest of the stuff back. It scares me that I do this every Thanksgiving and still have that much to purge each year.

2 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Well I picked the firmest one I could find, I think Ill like it. If not, the thing is so heavy it could be used as a weapon if anyone breaks in. LOL!

3 12 2009
Josh

Haha I think she would be a good candidate for a show about hoarders. While I leave clothes around sometimes, it never gets to that point.

4 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Sadly, thats probably the best room. Ill take more next time…you cant even get in two of the bedrooms.

Leave a Reply

