Monday Morning Mish Mash

23 11 2009

1. This turned out to be an unexpectedly busy weekend. Friday, after spending the morning at work, and the afternoon hanging garland, lights, and decorations for a client, a friend of mine and I went out for a night on the town. While I did not drink myself into oblivion as I have done the past couple of times a night out has happened, I did stay out til four in the morning.

2. Saturday, after sleeping in til almost eleven, I had a salon day. The same friend I went out with recently told me that I looked “ancient” in bright light because the white hairs that keep mulitplying across my head are all the more obvious then. So, guess what, I don’t have any white hair now. (I’ll grow old gracefully as soon as I am ready, thank you very much.)

3. Sunday, I went to Atlanta to see two exhibits–Dialog in the Dark and The Bodies Exhibit.  Now I have seen the Bodies before…and expected it to be somewhat gory, but it wasn’t. It’s an amazing and very interesting look at real preserved human bodies. If you ever get a chance, go see it. It’s fascinating how many bits and parts we are made of. Dialog in the Dark was an hour long look at everyday life for a blind person. In total darkness, myself and seven others had to explore a park, cross a street, make purchases at a bar, grocery shop, and board a boat. Really gives you an appreciation for your sense of sight, and makes you marvel at what blind people go through. And our tour guide, herself visually impaired, sounded exactly like Wanda Sykes.

4. The Thanksgiving countdown is nearing zero. I’ll  be making the trek up to the mountains of West Virginia in a few days and have a full schedule of people to see and things to do. I get to meet (I hope) my middle brother’s new girlfriend. I’ve only met one other girl he has dated, and she was about as refined as a dump truck, so I’m anxious to see what the new gal is like. Looking forward to some good food! (And someone best have me a pecan pie at the ready.)

Actions

Information

14 responses

23 11 2009
The Incredible Woody

1. Oblivion doesn’t really agree with me;)
2. 11? Seriously, you only slept til 11??? I’ll grow old as gracefully as my wallet will allow.
3. I’ve never heard of Dialog in the Dark but it sounds like something everyone should do.
4. I’m stealing your line (refined as a dump truck) because it describes Vol Fan’s sister to a T. I’ll let you know how many laughs I get with it.

24 11 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Oh gosh, his sister didn’t used to date a kid from West Virginia did she?

23 11 2009
Josh

Dialog in the Dark sounds fucking CRAZY. I agree with Woody, that’s something everyone should try.

The Bodies sounds weird and disgusting but something I’d like to go see.

What would be REALLY crazy is if it really was Wanda Sykes…and she was actually blind. Minus being funny bc she’s blind, because that’s def. not funny.

OK, I’ve said enough. Don’t want to say too much or Karma might come and get me. 🙂

24 11 2009
The Vinyl Villager

The Bodies was, surprisingly, not disgusting at all. I kinda expected that too before I saw it the first time. Definitely see it if you ever get a chance.

23 11 2009
Jason

You’re riddled with white hair and staying out til four in the morning? Wow, you’re amazing.

24 11 2009
The Vinyl Villager

well Im not riddled with it anymore!

24 11 2009
Amanda

Will you see your Mama this weekend? We’re due for some stories!!

24 11 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I’m sure I will at some point. She’s already calling trying to get me to have Thanksgiving dinner at the damn Cracker Barrell with her.

24 11 2009
cuteasasa

When the bodies was doing it’s “tour” here there was a lot of information in the media about the issue that the people had not donated their bodies. They are apparently from China and taken, not donated. I didn’t go. I know it’s fussy, but it just felt wrong.

Ah, smart move on the white hairs. It’s a lot of maintenance with short hair tho so you may want to take the dive and learn to do it yourself. Nothing worse than roots. I don’t know anything about this first hand but my older friends have told me this is the case.

25 11 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa…I heard something about the bodies being taken. Gonna look into that and report my findings.

24 11 2009
Zack

“she was about as refined as a dump truck”

LOL.

25 11 2009
The Vinyl Villager

well you know it’s true. She was fun, but I don’t think anyone will accuse her of being classy.

30 11 2009
Stephen

If E had some hair I bet it would be have white in it too. Whippersnappers…

1 12 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I know…kids these days. What the hell happened to you on saturday?? hmmm?

Leave a Reply

