There’s a She Wolf In The Closet

29 09 2009

 So goes the new song by Shakira. (And if you haven’t seen the video, I have included it below because it is  hotter than a  hootchie’s cootchie–the girl  can move, dayum!)

Anyhoo, this isn’t going to be a missive on how we all have a she wolf in the closet (and who among us doesn’t have an inner freak that needs to be let loose sometimes??). It’s a vocabulary lesson, and you will feel so much smarter having learned this, I am certain of it.

As I do whenever a song catches my fancy (or, as those who ride often in the car with me will attest, when a song comes along that I will PLAY TO DEATH) I look up the lyrics. And I was surprised by a word in the lyrics to She Wolf.

“A domesticated girl that’s all you ask of me

Darling it’s no joke, this is LYCANTHROPY…”

What on Earth is lycanthropy and why is such a multi-syllabic word in a Shakira song? This is the question that raced through my mind, and is no doubt racing through yours as well.

Well…I always strive to give everyone their click worth, so I found out.

lycanthropy:

  1. In folklore, the magical ability to assume the form and characteristics of a wolf.
  2. A delusion that one has become or assumed the characteristics of a wolf or other animal.

Now there, don’t you feel smarter?

Actions

Information

7 responses

29 09 2009
cuteasasa

I recently got to listen to a young woman explain why her acrylic nail on her “point and gag” finger was an inch longer than the other. I didn’t make it past the 40 second mark.

30 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

um, did it have something to do with an eating disorder?

29 09 2009
Claire

I stumbled on the word “domesticated” before I even got to the LYCANTHROPY word… Cats are domesticated. People are domestic. But perhaps she’s trying to liken herself to a cat, but then that mixes metaphors, right? Cat/wolf/dog? Maybe that was the whole idea. Anywayzz…..

I’ll go listen to the video now….

30 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

see that didn’t even dawn on me!

29 09 2009
Alan

Wow! That is an…um…interesting…outfit. But it looks like she’s having a seizure!!!

30 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

she is gyrating an awful lot isnt she? Maybe someone needs to put a spoon in the she wolfs mouth…

30 09 2009
Monkeytoemomma

To quote my twins, “Oh my gosh! I just had connection!”

Lycanthropy – thropy = Underworld: Rise of the Lycans. It all makes sense now!

Leave a Reply

