Monday Morning Mish Mash

28 09 2009

JuryDuty

1. A few weeks ago, I remarked to someone that I had never been called for jury duty. Well, I jinxed myself, because the summons came a few weeks ago. I’ve always thought it would be neat to serve on a jury, but I had in mind the sort where I might be sequestered in at least a three star hotel during a trial that garnered enough attention that I could at least appear on Regis and Kelly if not Oprah once it was all said and done. But, this was county magistrate court, so my expectations were low.

So this morning I drove the nearly one hour to the county seat. Circled the block aimlessly for ten minutes trying to find 107 South Main (which, naturally, was actually a block OFF Main Street, behind 101 South Main, because that is how streets are done here), sat in a waiting area that had not seen updating since Three’s Company went off the air, and was hustled into a court room where juries were to be selected for five different trials. Now, they didn’t tell us what KIND of trials these were, but I suspect most of them were car accidents and small offenses. Several litigants were representing themselves, one didn’t bother to show up, and one theatrically braced at her neck as if to convince us all that she was truly suffering. After a dozen or so folks plead that serving might be some sort of hardship, the rest of us had to stand and introduce ourselves, giving our line of work, and where applicable, our spouse’s occupation as well. Twice I was called as a potential, and twice the plaintiffs asked the judge to seat me. And twice the defense attorneys asked him to excuse me. When the fifth trial was called (The Case of Ms. Neck Brace), the two attorneys present asked to approach the bench and informed His Honor that they had settled. I was free to go!

2. I had a very lazy weekend. Slept in every day, which I have not done in a long time. I can’t shake this feeling of constant fatigue the past few weeks,  but a couple nights of double-digit hours of sleep sure helped.

3. Last week was my birthday, and it kinda sucked this year. Honey was on a boat. Most of my friends who I could normally count on to show me a good time were predisposed. So I worked. Then I came home and made myself a filet mignon and a big salad and defrosted a cheesecake over which I sang myself “Happy Birthday.” Then I took a Tylenol PM and went to bed before the news was even over. But I did get some loot in the mail (and flowers from Honey) so I went shopping on Saturday, bought two pairs of pants and a new sweater at a “Buy Two Sale Items, get The Third One Free” sale. Now, anyone who has been shopping with me knows that I only purchase on sale, so it was a bargain meant for me.

4. I indulged in some of my only can’t miss shows last night—Desperate Housewives and Brothers and Sisters both had their season premieres! Does anyone else watch those? Brothers and Sisters in particular works my nerves–for a family that talks and shares and ushes and gushes as much as they do, they sure have a lot of dysfunction and get their feelings hurt awfully easily. Though I did love the cameo of Nora’s mother played by the lady who we know best as Miriam Cunningham from Happy Days. Hysterical when she went on about Nora’s late husband’s bottle blond bimbo when she was sitting right in front of her. As for Desperate Housewives, I’m already wondering what the new family on the block’s big secret is, and who attempted to murder Julie could be any number of people at this point…I guess Ill have to tune in next week.

Actions

Information

20 responses

28 09 2009
The Incredible Woody

1. Wow – things sure are different around here for jury duty. When we get called (Vol Fan did last month!), you have to show up one afternoon for about an hour of instruction. Then you are ‘on call’ for the next month! If they call, you have to show up the next day. Thankfully not much goes on around here – Vol Fan only had to show one day. Oh and they pay you a whopping $10 for your service!

2. I’ve slept enough in the last week for me, you, and all the neighbors. Ah, drugs!! But really – you might want to visit the doc. Persistant fatigue can be a big shout for help from your immune system.

3. Aww – happy belated birthday!!

4. I was up to my eyeballs in PBS last night. It was the start of a Ken Burns series on the national park system. I love my national parks. I have been told getting excited about anything on PBS just confirms the fact that I am old!

28 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

no, you know you are old when people start introducing you as “so many years YOUNG”

Its like callin a bald man curly.

28 09 2009
Heather P.

I’m so glad that someone else is watching DH and B&S. B&S drives me nuts to a certain extent and makes me glad that I’m an only child!! All that being in each other’s business would drive me over the edge!

28 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

me too! They need to learn to communicate better.

28 09 2009
The Incredible Woody

And you know that since you were alone and honey was on a boat, you get to milk this for weeks and weeks!!!

28 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Hmm Im not sure it works that way in our house, but I will try. 🙂

28 09 2009
The Incredible Woody

I once claimed a whole month-long birthday for just such a reason:)

28 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I have filed Form 0924-EZ, which allows for a two week extension of the birthday period.

28 09 2009
noe noe girl

Happy Better Late than Never Birthday!
I was on the PBS station too! Awesome.

28 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

thank you darlin!

28 09 2009
cuteasasa

Happy Birthday Curly! Glad you at least know how to treat yourself well.

I find both Calista Flockhart and Rob Lowe ……….ummmm………let me think….what is that word……icky. Yes, icky would be the word. I do find DS a very well written show but for some reason I just can’t get into weekly viewing. But I’m not much of a TV viewer. I did catch the Modern Family/Cougar Town combo and was very surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Wait, isn’t ABC the old person’s network? Or is that CBS?

28 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I thought maybe the old folks channel was the one I was tuned to all weekend–Hallmark, which featured wonderful reruns of the Golden Girls and Murder She Wrote.

28 09 2009
Tami Wyatt

I’m so glad DH is back on! Thankful that the bride is Susan. Wondering what stunt Carlos niece is going to pull…uh, yeah, she really looks 16. Wondering why Drea DiMatteo’s back is all burned to smithereens…..

Can’t wait to find out the answers to these questions!

28 09 2009
sista #2

Thanks for jinxing me….I have jury duty tomorrow. dammit

28 09 2009
Jason

I think your birthday sounds divine!

I watch both DH and Brothers and Sisters, but I haven’t watched the premiers yet. I love them both!

And I am the most favorite citizen of LA county to call for jury duty. I’m very popular. And I wish I weren’t.

30 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Get yourself a t shirt that says “AN EYE FOR AN EYE–LET EM FRY” next time you get called.

29 09 2009
Alan

My wife got called for jury duty also. And pretty much the same thing happened to her. I shop the same way you do. And I watch “Desperate Housewives” and then flip over to Sunday Night Football. Too much estrogen in that show to double up on it with that Brothers & Sisters show…

30 09 2009
The Vinyl Villager

yeah, after those shows, I feel like I need to go out and club a baby seal or something to regain a scrap of my masculine dignity.

1 10 2009
thegirlfromtheghetto

I am not a fan of either of these shows, sorry.

And, I could tell you stories of jury duty that could make your hair curl. I’ve served three times, once in Federal friggin court, eh!

1 10 2009
Stephen

You and Suzanne should share a tv

Leave a Reply

