A Very Sleepy TMI Tuesday

25 08 2009

dscf9879

How timely that this week’s TMI Tuesday should be about sleep, which is something I’ve had some trouble doing lately.

1. Do you have “your” side of the bed? Which side?

Yes…I sleep on the right side (or is it the left?) It’s the right side as you face the footboard, but the left as you face the headboard. I’m not sure how this became my side. When Honey and I met, we were on different sides depending on whose house we were at, but once we shacked up, I was on the right.

2. How old is your pillow and what condition is it in?

I require several big, fluffy, firm pillows to sleep. I have a king sized pillow and two regular ones. One to sort of put between my knees, one to wrap my arms around, and one for my head. The one for my head has to be replaced about every six months.

3. What is your favorite position to sleep in?

On my right side, with the above mentioned arrangement of pillows.

4. How often do you change your sheets?

As in get a new set? Not often because the sheets I like are expensive. But they get washed once a week.

5. What helps you fall asleep when insomnia strikes?

Tylenol PM. Or sex. But Tylenol PM is always in the mood to be taken, so it’s a more surefire way.

6. Does sex make you sleepy or energized?

Nighttime sex is very relaxing. Morning sex can be invigorating.

7. What is the minimum amount of sleep that you need to be functional the next day.

On a rare occasion, I can get by with just 4 or 5 hours. But I can only do that one day at a time. Typically, I need 7 or 8 to feel good.

Bonus (as in optional):Describe your most vivid dream.

I feel like I have shared this, but when I was in high school or something I had a very specific very vivid dream that I bought 50 Powerball tickets and won the specific amount of $152 million–an amount that the jackpot had never approached at the time. Some years later, in college, the jackpot hit that record amount, and I was so convinced that I was going to win that I drained my checking account to purchase 50 tickets. I defied the odds, alright, by not even winning a single dollar.

Actions

Information

7 responses

25 08 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Lots of pillows! Sounds like you want to be back in the womb!

I’ve been using Alteril. Might be misspelled. It’s that stuff that guy advertises on television. All natural stuff. Tylenol PM gives me an awful hangover effect the next day. Ambien and other rx drugs do strange things like I’ll fall asleep but wake up 3 hours later and be totally hyped up.

25 08 2009
cuteasasa

I just replaced all of my pillows due to an accident involving urine and a foster dog. I love my pillows and typically replace them gradually over the year. I found out that having to purchase 6 at once is not cheap.

Loved the lottery story. I mean, you had to do it. Better to be broke for a short window of time than wondering for the rest of your days if the millions were meant to be yours.

TPB: Does that stuff work? And can you check the spelling for me? I’ll try anything.

25 08 2009
Jodi

Wow!! I couldn’t sleep with all those pillows!!! Mine is almost flat – and it has to be cold, well, cool. Once I’ve lain on it & gotten a particular spot “warm” I have to turn it or flip it if I’m still awake, which I usually am 😦 And 4 or 5 hours of sleep..? Picture the worst case of PMS you’ve ever encountered, add a bit of the-valve-stopping-thoughts-from-becoming-words-is-permanently broken, and a large handful of “Fuck-You-I-Have-Enough-Friends (I actually have a t-shirt that says that! *grin*). Now, picture all of that on STEROIDS…that’s me on 4-5 hours sleep…If I can’t get 8 at a bare minimum (10 is much better, and safer for those who have to interact with me) not sleeping at all is always the better option. Naps & I have a love hate relationship – I love to nap & hate to wake. My Hunny could tell you, 4-5 hours is just enough to piss me off, as he says 🙂
The lottery thing..? That sound like just my luck…
bb
dawtch

26 08 2009
Alan

I sleep with a pillow between my legs (for my back) and one over my head. Don’t know why. And I tried Tylonol PM and it made me grumpy the next day. I had to stop taking it.

27 08 2009
Liz C.

“Tylenol PM is always in the mood”, LOL!!!!!!! That made me laugh, snort & spit. All at once. Thank God I was alone. Funny!

My whole life I’ve had dreams that I could fly…. And yet, I still cannot fly in my waking world.

30 08 2009
paulineking

I sleep with lots of pillows. I usually don’t use anything to help me sleep but if I do it is Tylenol PM but I think its the generic type though.

3 09 2009
Liz C.

Xanax is my choice for a sleep aid. However, I don’t have a prescription, so I go with watching boring movies. I can recite the dialogue to many of the most boring movies ever made. Not a plus.

Sex always invigorates me. Unfortunately, I can’t remember the last time I experienced sex

Leave a Reply

