Let’s PRETEND It’s Monday, MMM kay?

13 08 2009

1. OK, so I’m still suffering from blogger’s block or a boring life or something, so I’m about four days late on this week’s Mish-Mash. Sorry I haven’t been around to read all my blog buddies as much as I’d like…it’s been one of those weeks.

2. A few of you follow me on Twitter. I must confess I still don’t exactly understand the point, but I always follow such online trends, I was on Friendster before MySpace made it passe. Then Facebook when MySpace became soooo 2005. And now I’m a tweeter. It’s always nice to log on and see a new follower. But beans and rice, I’ve been getting some spam followers lately!  Like Phillis, who tweets  I’m a good girl. I don’t want to fuck you the first night but I do want to make you cum.”  A good girl? If you say so Phillis.

Or Karri, who shares that “If it goes up to your belly button I WANT WANT WANT YOU!” Maybe Phillis can let her know exactly where IT goes up to.

And Gerri, who is coming prepared just in case IT doesn’t reach as far as she hopes: “One night stand and i’m bringing my toys 🙂 I like shy guys AND guys that are willing to try new stuff.”

3. I called to cancel my satellite radio subscription a week or so ago. This was the FOURTH time I’ve done so. I had it in my old car, and cancelled when I got my new one. Then I’ve called to cancel three more times as I try to reign in my budget. It’s impossible to just get online and cancel it or express such a desire to their automated system. You MUST talk to a representative. And each time they go through the same routine of “why are you cancelling?” and then this odd little dance of asking you which stations you listen to most so they can recommend others you might like in the hopes of getting you hopelessly hooked. Well I was hip to their game this time. When she asked what my favorite channels were I put together the two most disparrate ones on the programming schedule: OutQ (gay talk radio) and the Playboy channel.  If I’d thought quicker, I would have tossed in Catholic Chat or something. The woman stuttered and choked as she tried to come up with a recommendation, but ultimately failed to do so. By the end of the call, my account was NOT cancelled, but I was given six months for the price of one. Not too shabby for a 10 minute call.

4. Even my crazy mama isn’t giving me much blog fodder lately…although she is having some home electrical issues that may, according to  her, result in litigation against the power company. She claims that everything from her lamps to her refrigerator was blown up by a faultily installed power pole near her house. Methinks she’s just hoping to get some money outta somebody, because I have had to make it clear that my well is dry as far as she is concerned. She hasn’t been calling three times a day as usual. This probably means she has a new man, or has recycled one of her old ones. I’ll keep you posted.

5. There are about 160 miles left on my car’s warranty. For the past couple of months, there has been an intermittant rattle from somewhere behind me that drives me absolutely batshit crazy. Tomorrow it’s going to the shop…anyone wanna lay odds that the rattle disappears until I’ve put about 161 more miles on her?

Actions

Information

20 responses

13 08 2009
Alan

Man…I’ve had the same issue with getting together any thoughts for blog fodder recently. Anyway…I’m not getting the Twitter phenomenon either. Seems we followed the same path (except Friendster. Never did that one) but I kinda dig Facebook. It’s easy, I can easily control who my friends are and if I want to send someone a message it’s simple. I don’t know why so many people are into Twitter, but I’m just not one of them.

As for your car deal…you can bet your ass as soon as that warranty is over, you will need major engine work done. It’s just a given. Good luck with that!

21 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

yeah I love facebook, even if I am way too addicted to stupid Mafia Wars

13 08 2009
Amanda

I’m loving your method of dealing with satellite radio. I’m also thinking that the combination of OutQ and Catholic Chat will confound them nicely next time. You’ll probably blow up whatever little system they plug your response in to.

21 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

LOL! That was my plan, and I think it worked!

13 08 2009
cuteasasa

1) I’m just glad your absence wasn’t due to kidney stones.

2)
Me: My Saturn Vue has less than 30k miles and the air conditioning went out.
Saturn: Is it past 3 years ownership?
Me: 3 years, 4 weeks, 2 days
Saturn: That’s why we put dates on our warranty

This year I break down and decide to get it fixed. When I call to make the appt and tell them the history, that it went out at less than 30K he says:

‘Well if you’d have come in then we’d have worked with you.”

They sing whatever song is right for the moment but I’m not bending over anymore. Even if it’s 160 AFTER the warranty, argue. Why just today I got a free salad at McD’s. (Truthfully, they were nice and I didn’t even have to argue but I’m pretending I did since I’m trying to change.)

21 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

thats unacceptable that something like an AC would go out so soon! No wonder GM is bankrupt.

13 08 2009
Noe Noe Girl

Pack up and head this way- there is lots of blog fodder here and some one needs to blog about it! I’m not doing so well!

21 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Dont tempt me, I will pack my bag!

13 08 2009
dawtch

Nope, no way – that’s a sucker bet, and I live that life…everything I own that offers an extended warranty, has one. “They’ say they are a waste of money, I say, not in MY world…
glad all is well, was getting worried 🙂
bb
dawtch

21 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

who is this “THEY?” LOL! Ive actually got a blog started about “THEM”

13 08 2009
Jason

NEVER trust a woman named Phillis.

21 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

sounds like a bad drag name, doesnt it??

17 08 2009
thegirlfromtheghetto

I had to bail on Twitter. Too many celebrities, not enough characters. I was sick of seeing celebs endlessly self promote and never have dialog back with fans. Sure, some would right thanks, but not once did I get a shout out from a star and I have to say it hurt, lol!

Glad to see you are still blogging. So many of us are taking the summer (Life?) off from blogging. Including me, just got back. Have a TON of readign to do.

21 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

well I havent been as much as I would like, getting farther and farther behind on my reading!

21 08 2009
dawtch

Well, I, for one, don’t feel a bit guilty…I haven’t posting loads of crap that you would feel obligated to read…You’re welcome *grin*
bb
dawtch

18 08 2009
jennyspeaks

How’s life with Twitter?

I feel your pain. I signed up for Twitter one fine day. Immediately four women followed me and and yup, their display pictures left little to the imagination.

Just don’t let Twitter rob you of your willpower to blog! It’s easy to give short updates about life than one long post, but hey, don’t leave us readers thirsty here eh? 🙂

21 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

dont worry, its not Twitter robbing my of my willpower. Life is though…

21 08 2009
trailerparkbarbie

I got the “if it goes to the belly button” follower, too. Those girls are rejects from MySpace’s ho’trains. I block at least 5 every single day. They are NASTY….”shudder”

YM has been calling me, either. I was just wondering what’s up with that.

My car keeps telling me that I need to get the oil changed with a large explanation point behind the message. So, I suppose that means that I need to quit ignoring it and go do it. At least, I won’t have to pay for it. I talked the salesman out of 6 free oil changes when I bought it. I just hate taking the time to go and then sit in a waiting room filled with magazines from 2001.

21 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I havent heard from her all week! Yes, get your maintenance done. Dont they have a shuttle or a loaner car they can give you? Drop it off and go to the bargain store, its just down the road!

22 08 2009
Josh

Yeah, I’ve had a VERY dry spell lately – plus some other peojects I’ve been working on…

Leave a Reply

