Monday Morning Mish-Mash

27 07 2009

waterspout

1. Had a great week at the beach with the outlaws. Couldn’t have asked for better weather! This was of course the first vacation with the 8 month olds…and I can not believe how much children change things. Gone were the late nights playing games (everyone was too tired and God forbid a noise be made after the babies are asleep). Life for a new parent apparently revolves around when the baby will sleep, poop, and eat. And it is cause for great concern if any of those things happen too often, not often enough, or stray from normal quantities.

2. Have I ever mentioned that I love to read? It’s a running joke among the outlaws that I am some sort of speed reader because I routinely finish three or four books on vacation. Well, I only finished two this time: David Sedaris’s latest “When You Are Engulfed in Flames” which was great of course, though not as funny as some of his previous works. The second was “The Sea of Monsters” by Rick Riordan. It’s the second in a series of “young readers” books revolving around the half-blood son of the God Poseidon, Percy Jackson. Harry Potter fans won’t be able to help drawing comparisons and will no doubt enjoy the series. I finished the first book in that series a few weeks ago.  I finished a fourth book just before we left–it had been in my pile of “beach reads” but I just couldn’t put it down. “The Thireenth Tale” by Diane Setterfield. An awesome book…easily the best I’ve read in a while.

3. Maybe the coolest thing at the beach was seeing a water spout form over the ocean. The outlaws hired a photographer to come out to the beach house and take some new family portraits, and as we were setting up on the beach, we  saw it forming just off the coast. Just a little mist at first, but eventually turned into a full-fledged water-borne tornado! It lasted for a few minutes, then disappeared as quietly as it started.

4. Ever notice how the shit ALWAYS hits the fan just before you schedule some time off? And no matter how much planning you do beforehand, the shit keeps hitting that fan while you’re gone?? I swear, work is deader than Michael Jackson right now, but I’ve done nothing but put out fires all morning. And I can be free of deadlines, meetings, and have a completely blank calendar, but if I plan a day off my schedule will fill up immediately beforehand so that I am rushing til the last possible second to get everything done. Maybe I should just take more days off and work will get busy again.

Actions

Information

12 responses

27 07 2009
Jason

You are so right about how things change once a baby comes along. And it isn’t the same again for a very, very, very long time. If ever.

I LOVED The Thirteenth Tale. I think it might be my new favorite book ever.

27 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I totally did not predict the twist at the end!

27 07 2009
The Incredible Woody

1. Life seems to end that way too:)

2. I’m the type that absolutely cannot put a book down. Once I start, nothing gets done until I finish.

3. That is awesome!!

4. Sounds like a pretty reasonable plan if you ask me!

27 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

yeah I guess you’re right. We revert to infanthood if we’re lucky (?) enough to live that long.

28 07 2009
GYL

I am JUST about to blog about my reading for the last month or so…..8 books later. I am gonna google your reads asap!

4 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

coming to see your suggestions! (a week late!)

28 07 2009
thegirlfromtheghetto

Hey, have you ever looked at goodreads.com? I love it, and it is a great way to keep track of what you have read and what books you want to read. Plus they have book giveaways. I’m on there, and you can find me from my blog page. Nerd Girl Blogger is my name there, thought they mention of ghetto might scare them, lol!

I love Sedaris but haven’t read his latest yet.

4 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I need to check that out!

3 08 2009
trailerparkbarbie

I have that David Sedaris book but haven’t started reading it yet.

I’m reading “A Man Named Shirley” about Shirley Love. Do you remember who he is? Local radio/tv personality. I was just really curious what he did that had enough material for a whole book.

4 08 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Someone wrote a book about him?? How is it?? What’s next, the Life and Times of George Strange? (remember him??)

9 08 2009
Liz C.

It does change when kids are born. Luckily, if they are fun kids as they grow, you’ll have more fun with them. When they get to the right age you can teach them all the things their parents don’t want them to know, like how to lock their parents out of the computer and other fun things like that. I have an older B-I-L who always brought the kids the stuff I didn’t want them playing with like drum sets BB guns & archery sets. We still call him Wicked Uncle Bill.

How remarkable that you were all able to witness such a phenomenon and have a picture of it too! I hope the family picture turned out well. My (formerly) Galveston friends had a photographer come out to the beach when they had their whole family there & it was truly the greatest family portrait I’ve ever seen.

10 08 2009
trailerparkbarbie

George Strange….yes, I remember him.
And, yes, there really is an entire book written about Shirley Love. Who’s next….that English teacher from WWHS…poop…can’t remember her name now. You know….the one who wore all the make-up and got arrested for “walking” her horse by tying it to the car and going for a drive. Ah…MOUSEY! Yes, that’s who she was. OMG…do you remember her?

Leave a Reply

