Monday Morning Mish Mash

20 07 2009

BeachHousePool

1. It’s vacation time! As you read this I’m probably lounging at the pool or sitting on the beach with a good book. It’s time for the outlaw family vacation. Yep: me, honey, Bonnie, Clyde, two brothers-out-law, two sisters-out-law and two 8 month old babies all in one big beach house for a week. Whether this is actually a vacation or one of those situations in which I remind myself that “that which does not kill us only makes us stronger” remains to be seen.

2. My 401K statements arrived last week. And for the first time in a year, I actually smiled when I saw them. One was up 30 percent, the other up almost 20. Of course, they had nowhere to go BUT up…still, it’s nice to think that just maybe we are over the hump.

3. But, it continues to be bad news for housing, which means bad news for me. It’s got me thinking, what would I wanna do with my life if I weren’t doing this? I haven’t come up with an answer. It’s hard enough right now to find a job at all…but to spring into something new that I have no experience in sounds impossible to me.

4. My youngest brother is apparently a chip off the old block. (He might kill me for sharing this.) He’s had his license less than a month and has already done something that both my father and I have done in the past. Crashed into another car in our own driveway. Of course, when dad I did it we were dinging old clunkers. Lil bro just happened to time his poorly–dinging Dad’s new car with his new Mustang. (Mustang?? Yep. Not quite as nice as the hand me down ding mobile I got as a teenager, but he’ll make due with it)

5. Trying a new category here at the ole Vinyl Village. Easy and tasty meals for the guy or gal on the go. I love good food, but I hate the time it takes to make it. So I’ve got a handful of easy, quick meals that I pull outta the old bag from time to time, and I’ll be sharing them here.

Actions

Information

9 responses

20 07 2009
The Incredible Woody

1. I think I hate you;) (Hope the babies don’t kick up too much of a fuss!!)

2. Mine have been quietly edging up, too. Yippee!!

3. Sounds scary to me too!

4. Isn’t it funny how things change for the baby in the family?!?

5. Looking forward to it. I need quick and easy. I’m not exactly a domestic goddess.

25 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

aww dont hate me. The babies were very good…and a lotta fun.

20 07 2009
Jodi

1. What’s a vacation..?
2. I don’t look at mine. For someone with above average intelligence (really! Quit LAUGHING!) they’re pure Greek to me…
3. You know, a lot of folks say “If I start a training program NOW, I’ll be (insert age of choice here) years old when I get done!” But…you’re still going to be (insert age of choice here) years old, regardless of what you do for that period of time…
4. *sigh*
5. So, where are these recipes..? *tap, tap, tap of foot* I’m waiting….
bb
dawtch

25 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

as to number three….excellent point!

21 07 2009
Jason

I think this is the tenth vacation you have taken in five months. Seriously! Every time I read your blog you’re going on a little getaway or making us guess where you’ve been.

Just jealous, that’s all.

I can’t wait to see your easy and tasty recipes. I’m running out of easy and tasty things to make.

25 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

well I get a lot of opportunities for free and cheap travel!

24 07 2009
Dad

Chip off the old block – A four year old Mustang is a lot better than a six or seven year old Tracer but I swear it is not favoritism, just opportunity. You came first and got the poor, naive, energetic dad – little brother got the more financially set, jaded tired old dad. In a couple of years when these new cars are paid for and college for little brother is done maybe I’ll start with #1 son and do a new round of cars.

25 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

ooo Ill start shopping for it now! JK…I loved my old clunker even if it wasn’t as snazzy as lil brothers.

24 07 2009
Jodi

Ummmm….I’m available for adoption….
*grin*
bb
dawtch

Leave a Reply

