Death By Chocolate

9 07 2009

death-by-chocolate

And I always thought “Death by Chocolate” was just a really fattening dessert:

(CNN) — An employee at a New Jersey chocolate processing plant died Wednesday after falling into a vat of hot chocolate, according to a spokesman for the Camden County Prosecutor’s office.

Vincent Smith II, 29, was dumping raw chocolate into the vat for melting when he fell in from a nine-foot high platform. He suffered a fatal blow to the head from the vat’s agitator, a paddle-like mechanism used for stirring the chocolate.

According to the Camden County prosecutor’s office, three other people were on the platform at the time. One was able to shut the machinery off quickly, but it was too late to save Smith.

The facility, owned by Cocoa Services Inc., is managed and operated by by Lyons and Sons.

The rectangular vat, which was 8 feet deep, 14 feet long and 6 feet wide, was churning a batch of chocolate for Hershey’s when the accident occurred, the prosecutor’s office said. “

What a grisly way to go, but what a story to tell once he gets to the Pearly Gates. If you had to go in a dramatic fashion, what would you choose?

 

Actions

Information

26 responses

9 07 2009
Josh

LMAO

Sorry. That’s hilarious.

I just realized I’m a horrible person. 😀

9 07 2009
noe noe girl

Gosh I cant even think of a dramatic way to go VV~ maybe I will just sneek out!

9 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

heart attack during sex?

9 07 2009
noe noe girl

Think anyone would miss me??

9 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I would!!

9 07 2009
The Incredible Woody

I think I would choose dramatic but not horrifying.

Fall in a vat of chocolate? Yes.

Fall in hot asphalt? No.

PS – I would miss you NNG!!

9 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I wanna be about 98 years old and have my parachute fail on my first skydiving trip.

9 07 2009
Mental P Mama

Not my first cause-of-death choice either. But it is odd how funny and scary it is all at the same time. There was a lady who fell in a sewer treatment vat in New Jersey a few months back. Now that’s not a fun way to go at all.

9 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

ewww. I would just hope death came quickly with that one…

9 07 2009
drZibbs

How can you not laugh at the funeral?

9 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I wonder if they were able to get the smell out?

9 07 2009
David

Based on his picture, it appears that Vincent made the fatal mistake of going to work in full drag. That can’t have helped his chances of surviving the swim in the deep dark chocolate vat.

If he works with a bunch of rednecks, I would suggest they consider that he didn’t “fall” at all.

9 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Id venture he got a heel stuck in those pesky factory grates…a real shame, his eyemakeup was FIERCE!

(a sidenote in case Vincent’s family stops by–of course this isn’t Vincent pictured)

9 07 2009
queenofphrump

I sorta need to be reassured that the vat was emptied by first plucking the body, then all the chocolate disposed of by fire (only proper funeral for sacred chocolate and flags), then that the vat was COMPLETELY cleaned and sanitized before putting the next batch of ingredients in. This is all because with as much chocolate as I consume…. there is no doubt I will come in contact with this gentleman’s dna if they don’t. and that kind of grosses me out enough not to eat chocolate anymore. I know I will be sitting and eating some chocolate next month thinking about what a person does last after they die. Poop. Now I have really grossed myself out.

9 07 2009
thegirlfromtheghetto

I’d hopefully go this way. I LOVE chocolate. Still, scary when those industrial accidents happen, yikes!

9 07 2009
big hair envy

OMG! My BIL & nephew are BOTH named Vincent Smith….GAH!!! Better go call my sister… (True story.)

I won’t leave another comment. The last time I thought I was leaving a clever note, the family of the deceased got all up in my grill…..lesson learned;)

9 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

damn testy bereaved people, I swear.

Tell your relatives to stay away from the chocolate.

9 07 2009
The Incredible Woody

At dinner tonight, my friend told his best ER story (he is a trauma nurse).

An elderly (like in their 80s) couple came to the ER for medical attention for the husband. Apparently they were getting busy and decided that they needed to spice things up a bit. They got on the internet and found that prostate stimulation might aid the male’s arousal.

They decided that a toothbrush would do the trick.

So Grandma proceeds to stimulate Grandpa’s prostate with the toothbrush. She got a little, um, vigorous in her stimulation and perforated his bowel.

He had to have surgery to repair and was in ICU fighting the infection for weeks.

How would you like to have to tell your 60yo kids that tale???

9 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

a toothbrush??? LMAO! oh my God how awful. Well…I guess I can give em kudos for trying to keep the fire burning even at that age.

9 07 2009
big hair envy

Woody? BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! I hope to be as lucky…the heck with my 60 y.o. kid!!!!!

9 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Im with you! the kids could just be told it was an inflamed hemmorhoid or something.

9 07 2009
Alan

I didn’t read all your comments but was there a reference to Augustus Gloop in there somewhere?

10 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Not til now! LOLOL!

11 07 2009
cuteasasa

When I make my first parachute jump, whether the chute opens or not will be entirely irrelevant.

I’d have thought that by a man’s 80’s, you could stimulate his prostate with your pinky finger. If he’s not meeting you half way by then, he’s one healthy old fart.

I think my favorite death story is Lupe Velez and the telling of the story on the old TV series Frasier. You know you screwed up when googling “actress suicide in toliet” tells your story!

11 07 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa…I was wonderin where you’d been! (and too funny on the prostate)

8 02 2010
Ken

WTF??? that is kinda depressing that all of you can make a joke out of a death. .. tsk tsk. but i about peed myself reading your comments. a toothbrush!!!!!?????? RLY?

Leave a Reply

