Monday Morning Mish Mash

8 06 2009

1. I’ve had a bad case of blogger’s block the past few weeks…my apologies to all my blog buddies for not getting around to see you as often as I would like. A big part of it is that I haven’t had a real weekend in months. I’ve been keeping the roads and skies hot, of course, and just haven’t had a whole lot of free time. This weekend wasn’t much better, as I had to go help Honey move into a new office, plant flowers and mulch in the front yard, clean the house, wash the car, and though the weekend started with no plans, ended up with dinner engagements every night. I did, however, manage a few hours laying by the pool to work on my tan.

2. The outlaws are coming! Bonnie and Clyde will be here for almost a week starting Wednesday. Clyde was recently let go from his job of almost four decades, and is being courted by a competitor. So, they will be shacking up at our Plastic Palace until next Tuesday while he takes a tour of the company’s southeastern division. Fortunately, they rarely provide much food for the blog, so it should be relatively drama free.

3. If you follow me on Twitter, you know that I was watching that banal show “I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here!” last week. If we required truth in advertising, it would be called “I’m a Has Been or a Never Was, Glue that Camera to Me!” Seriously, what did Spencer Pratt and Heidi Montag do to be famous? In 30 minutes they managed to work my nerves to the point that I will turn off the TV if I ever see either of their faces on the screen again. As they might say back home, they are both just “eat up with themselves.”

4. And while we are talking about celebrities…it’s almost a daily occurrence that a Hollywood starlet lets a boob fall out, wears something disastrous, or shows us her baby maker, but the men of Hollywood rarely have such wardrobe malfunctions. One of my coworkers and I indulge in the guilty pleasure of looking through photos of stars on the red carpet. And the following picture of Ryan Reynolds, taken at the premiere of “The Proposal” with Sandra Bullock, begs the question “Don’t these folks have people to help them with their wardrobes? Like, making sure they are wearing proper undergarments?”

RyanReynolds

5. I had dinner with some friends/old clients last night. Five or six years ago, they purchased a small, tumble-down house on the best street in town, and I designed their renovation. (Well, we call it a renovation, but in reality, all that we saved were three walls, a fireplace, and the original interior doors). This couple has spent their married life fixing up, building, or remodeling homes, only to get “the itch” and start the process all over. At any rate, they asked if my house were “all done.” And I’m sad to say that after almost four years in this house, NO! There are rooms that are still builder white. The guest room still has the original light fixture that looks like a giant lighted breast implant, and every piece of furniture is sitting exactly where the movers put it four years ago. Sure, there’s been a lot done, but you’d think I’d be a little more creative with my own place, wouldn’t you?

Actions

Information

17 responses

8 06 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Glad you made it back and hope you had a great time in SF.
Do you really do all of that stuff around the house? WOW!!!!!!! I’d pay dadgone good money for someone to do all of that stuff.

That pic……OMG!

Spiedi doesn’t do anything except promote themselves. That’s the only talent that either of them have….self promotion.

Have a great week!

PS YM came for a surprise visit yesterday.

8 06 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Well…in fairness, the landscaper usually does the mulching stuff but I had pulled up pansies and made a mess so I couldn’t wait for them to come make it look decent. I had to use my car to go get the pine straw, and so then was forced to wash it and vacuum it. It was a vicious chain of events.

How is my mama doin??

8 06 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Actually really enjoyed her visit. More like your old mama and it was nice!

8 06 2009
The Vinyl Villager

She’s sounded really good on the phone the past few times.

8 06 2009
The Incredible Woody

1. I’ve had blogger block too. Too many things to do – flowers to plant, weeds to pull, pools to lay beside, etc…

2. Scary that – getting let go after 40 years!!!

3. I was forced to watch that same show. And didn’t know who those 2 were either. What a couple of goobers!!

4. OMG – At first I thought it was a wrinkle or something. Once I figured it out, I am speechless. Is that guy loaded or what?!?

5. Since Vol Fan is nutso about being in debt, we have once again put building our house on the back burner. We are going to purchase the house we live in from my father and do a crazy renovation. Like we have to move out. Both bathrooms completely redone, new kitchen, tearing out walls, new windows and doors, etc. Just about the only thing we are saving is the hardwood. It is the old school solid type. We plan on pulling it up in the bedrooms and putting it in the new dining and great room and refinishing it. Exciting stuff!!

8 06 2009
Little Miss

Glad to know you’re still around after your jetting across the country and back. Don’t worry about still having builders white after 4 years. It’s been 10 years that I’ve been in my house and I still haven’t finished painting. Bathrooms and laundry rooms need done, and the hallway – don’t get me started on the ceilings! Ugh. And then there’s the yard… poor yard.

8 06 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Woody…I think he was excited to be on the red carpet! LOL I want pictures of your renovations!

Little Miss…if I ever did “finish” the house, it would be time to start over on the first rooms that got done. So I’m not gonna sweat it!

8 06 2009
Amanda

I adore Ryan Reynolds and I just can’t believe that picture. It’s just too…good of an outline I guess. Now if a picture of Jesus had shown up in the creases I’d have been a believer.

8 06 2009
Amanda

Oh and Welcome Back!!!

8 06 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Amanda, if I had just seen it by itself I would have thought it was photoshop…but its in with dozens of others, so I dont think it is. Thanks for the welcome!

8 06 2009
cuteasasa

1) Welcome to my world.
2) WONDERFUL that he has interest! Good luck, good luck, good luck!!!!!
3) Another reason to not worry about being HDTV ready. I couldn’t believe someone sold this concept without actually getting celebrities to participate.
4) R-Y-A-N ….excuse me, I’m writing down the name. Will check after finishing this to see if he has a fan club.
5) Thinking about painting a wall in my breakfast nook area. What color would you suggest to counter a sort of pepto bismol pink? I need to know no later than Feb 2010 when I’ll get to it.

8 06 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa…ya know, I saw a bathroom recently that had 50’s original pepto pink tiles. The homeowners had painted it really dark chocolate brown, and found some pink and brown towels. It looked intentional then…what are you stuck with thats pink?

8 06 2009
cuteasasa

Send you a picture. I’m not really stuck with my pink I actually sort of like it. But finding a complementary color isn’t working well. But you know, now that you suggest chocolate brown, I’m thinking maybe a deep taupe. Not quite to brown…..hum…..

8 06 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa…got it, let me think on that, and I’ll send ya some suggestions.

8 06 2009
Jason

Surprise, surprise, I’m stuck on that photo of Ryan Reynolds. That looks too real to be true. Are you sure it isn’t photoshopped somehow? I mean, it’s so blatant, just hanging there right in your face like that.

8 06 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Jason.. I’m not sure…normally, I would have thought so, but it was just mixed in with dozens of other red carpet photos from the same night, and the photographer didn’t point it out in anyway. Im thinking he REALLLY liked what Sandra was wearing…LOL

10 06 2009
Noe Noe Girl

I’m in the club with tons of stuff going on! Summers are like that. OUTSIDE! I love it! And plus it’s hard to blog in the pool!
We have been working on our place for 15 years. When you finish it all you die. I still have tons of shit to do! nuff said.

Think you will have outlaw stories to tell?

Leave a Reply

