Monday Morning Mish Mash

19 05 2009

pinwheel

1. Yes, I know that it is Tuesday. I’m at least a day behind this week. I was originally supposed to join some friends at their family beach house this weekend, but one of those friends is about 80 months pregnant and has been ordered to stay close to home by her doctor. Since I had no other plans, I hopped in my little car and went up to WV for the weekend.

2. My crazy mama had some oral surgery last week, and since I didn’t see her on Mother’s Day or her birthday, I thought it would be a nice gesture to take her out for some “running around” on Saturday. Since she is “recovering” at my grandmother’s house, I’m nearly certain that my grandmother appreciated it more than mom did. I say “recovering” because mom showed no signs of being under the weather at all until the very moment we pulled back into my grandmother’s driveway–whereupon she announced she was in pain and had most certainly developed a dry socket. You don’t need Scooby Doo to sniff out this mystery, do you? Any-hoo…the plan had been that mom and I would redo the flowers on my sister’s grave, and THAT WAS IT. It should have taken two hours. But, after fetching the vase from the cemetary, mom wanted to visit with a friend of mine who lives nearby and her new baby. So we did for a bit, and mom actually played basketball with her six year old. I haven’t seen her so active and “normal” in years. After that, mom needed a frozen drink, so we went through the Sonic drive through and she proceded to confuse the poor order taking gal by ordering a concoction that resembled nothing on their menu. Then she wanted to look at puppies. She fell in love with some $800 designer (mutt) dog, hinted that “they” (who is this THEY who knows everything?) said she ought to get a house dog for company. The salesman urged her to take it home, saying they now did financing. “If I miss a payment, what do you do, come repossess the dog?” Good point, payments on a living thing seem a bad idea. After puppies we went to the Hobby Lobby, but mom just had to run into TJ Maxx “for a minute”. She picked out a dress, which I bought as a late birthday gift. (Grandma’s reaction upon seeing it? “Well I hope you have a jacket to wear over that, your boobs will fall out.”) Then we went to  her house to assemble the floral arrangement for sister’s gravesite. I really have to take pictures of the inside of mom’s house sometimes. It, no joke, looks like one of those Oprah episodes on hoarding. I had picked out a summery mix of flowers, with some little sparkly doo dads and a few tasteful butterflies, thinking it a fitting memorial for a young person’s grave. Mom brought no less than a half dozen “things” to me–ceramic crosses, baby dolls, a bracelet, to “add to” the arrangement. I rejected them all but she insisted on topping off the flowers with a giant pinwheel. Lord, please let me die after she does. I will come back to haunt anyone who puts something tacky on my grave. The lone task we had planned now complete, I thought my day was done. But no. She had to go by the grocery store. And it took her a half an hour to get about six things. By the time I actually dropped her off, my head was throbbing and I just had to lay down. But, she was as coherent and normal as I have seen her in quite a long time, so it was a good day overall.

3. Things are looking positive at work–quite a blessing given the months of grim business forecasts we have had. It also means I am suddenly very busy–which is an awesome feeling. I hope this economic roller coaster ride is coming to an end.

4. Since I had planned a long weekend at the beach, Monday got to be a lazy day off for me. Well, if you can count washing the car, and mopping down the columns, front porch, and garage door lazy. But I did get to sleep in and go for $1 sushi yesterday, so those things make me a very happy camper. It’s amazing how much more productive I feel when I don’t actually have to do anything.

Actions

Information

9 responses

19 05 2009
joanharvest

It sounds like you had quite the time with your mom. Maybe too much time! My mom is gone now but when she was alive she was getting very nutty in her old age. She once told me that 20/20 should do a show on her because she had had such a hard life. I still can’t figure out what was hard about her life. I wonder if my kids think I am nutty? Ha! Ha! Probably!!!

19 05 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Oh that sounds like my mom…always needs a “break” and “works hard”. But works hard at what isn’t exactly clear, so I don’t see what she needs a break from. And I doubt your kids think you’re nutty!

19 05 2009
joanharvest

My mom referred to herself, get this, as as a martyr. She was Catholic. I think she secretly thought she was a saint.

19 05 2009
The Incredible Woody

1. It’s a real bummer to be 80 months pregnant!!
2. Sounds like you should’ve borrowed some of mama’s pharmaceuticals.
3. Yay, work! Things are picking up for us too!
4. I tend to be the same way. Are we twins?

19 05 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Woody…she would agree that it’s 80 months. She’s been measuring full term since like 32 weeks. And when I told mama I couldn’t stay and visit any longer because my head hurt, she gave me three of something (Im not sure what, but I went ahead and put them in my pocket, figuring it was three less she wouldn’t be taking. I didn’t take them either, they came out of some unlabeled bottle, and for all I knew it was her hormones. There’s some dog on the side of the road right growing boobies because he chomped down the pills I tossed)

19 05 2009
Noe Noe Girl

Well it sounds like your mom is doing “better” and that is good. I could so get used to those lazy Mondays!

19 05 2009
The Vinyl Villager

me too….even just sleeping an extra hour or two makes all the difference

19 05 2009
Mental P Mama

I know it’s not funny, but your stories make me laugh. I hope you had yourself a little few alcohol somethings after that time with mom….

19 05 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Mental P…oh, I long ago gave up doing anything other than laughing about it. I was too tired for even alcohol…it was a nap and a cold compress for me. LOL

Leave a Reply

