Monday Morning Mish Mash

11 05 2009

1. It wasn’t much of a weekend…Saturday I had to work a very poorly attended (IE: waste of time) expo to try to drum up some much needed new business. It was a beautiful location, but did not generate even one lead.

2. Sunday was better–we attended a downtown art festival that included a ton of great art. If I had a big budget, I would have gone crazy. My favorite? An artist who worked paper into the most incredible textural and tonal framed pieces…paper delicately folded into squares, delicately “shredded” for texture. I wish I could remember the artists name so I could post pictures of their work…

3. Also at the art fair, we saw the guy in the video below perform. Absolutely amazing. While music plays, he paints the artist (in 2.5 songs) with nothing but his hands. Really cool to watch it take shape and so cool to see the undeniable likeness of the artist suddenly “pop”.

4. My crazy mama was in rare form this weekend…a bawling, bitchy shell of despair who was up to her usual tricks of blame everyone before looking in the mirror. She is absolutely exhausting, and I am so glad I live hundreds of miles away from her.

5. A few months back, Honey was on a flight that was ultimately delayed for over 24 hours. Which sucks, of course, but the airline did handout 600 dollars in vouchers, which we cashed in this weekend for two tickets to San Francisco. A few clicks of the mouse later and we had a helluva deal on a hotel too. So, in three weeks, for the total price of dinner and a movie, we are jetting across the country. Woo hoo!

Actions

Information

15 responses

11 05 2009
dawtch

1. It sucks to be so excited about something, await it with anticipation, only to have it disappoint…I’ve gotten to where I get excited about very little until it actually occurs 😦
2. I love art. Even more so, I love artists – they don’t think like the majority of people, and I seem to connect very well with them…go figger 🙂
3. When I tried to play the vid I got an error message that said “sorry, embedding disabled by request” 😦 But I went to Youtube and searched the title, which popped up for a second when I tried to advance it, and watched it there 🙂 Very cool!
4. I’m sorry you weren’t gifted with a momma you could be thankful for & depend on. It is very unfair that some folks are just that way…I actually put forth a theory on why that is in my Mother’s Day post…
5. Lucky you! One of these days (there’s that phrase, again) I may have the time & wherewithal to do such things…
Hope you have a good week!
bb
dawtch

11 05 2009
The Vinyl Villager

well crap…lemme see if I can fix that video.

11 05 2009
The Vinyl Villager

OK new video inserted…

11 05 2009
dawtch

Very Cool!!!!!
bb
dawtch

11 05 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Concerning #4……a big fat AMEN to that. I spent 2 (very long) hours on the phone with her yesterday evening. And…you’re welcome. She was gonna try to call you again but I did my good deed and listened to the moaning, groaning, and somewhat atoning.

Also, I have a book for you the next time you are up this way. It’s called “Shop America” and it’s a big coffee-table book of American store-front designs and layouts. It’s too big to mail. I’ll try to get it to Granny’s house in case I don’t see ya.

And….since I’ve been such a WONDERFUL PERSON, can I go to SF with you?????? LOL

11 05 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Wanted to add…..leave Honey behind. We’ll go and have a fantasssstic time!
Come on…you know that we would.

11 05 2009
The Vinyl Villager

TPB–did you get to hear all about the supposed murder confession?? Oh Ive seen that book! Thats awesome…thanks! Yes…we would have a blast! I hope to see a drag show or something this time…Ive been twice before and never seen so much as a cross dresser on the streets.

11 05 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Yes, yes, yes!!!! I’ll not only go to the drag show….I’ll dress up in drag as Rush Limbaugh. No…better not do Rush, I’d get the crap beat out of me. Hmmm…..I could be Jerry Springer???!!!!!

I think that I will take the book to the post office and see if media mail might be reasonable. I’ll let ya know.

11 05 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Oh, I forgot to answer you. Yes, I got to hear all about the murder theory over and over and over, etc. She said that Kristen Keller (the DA) has gotten involved. WTF? KK is a Raleigh Co. DA.
I really need to call you. Did she go on and on about the engagement ring and the sewing machine when you talked to her?
FYI (and your info only, don’t tell her), that sewing machine is in Tenn. now. Uh-oh! There’s gonna be a butt-whipping!!!!! A redneck slapdown in the works. LMAO
This might be TMI….just delete if it is.

11 05 2009
The Vinyl Villager

I didnt get to hear about the sewing machine (I knew it was long gone) but I did hear about the ring. OVER AND OVER AND OVER until I finally snapped and yelled at her.
Call me anytime!

11 05 2009
cuteasasa

TPB – still stop by the trailerpark but it seems you are busy and away. Now I know what you are doing and what a sweetheart to take some of VV’s grief and aggravation.

VV – San Franciso. If I ever win the lottery that’s what I will move. In a hearbeat. I’ve only been twice but I’ve never been so charmed by a place ever. And have you ever driven south down the coastal highway? Getting to places like Carmel only reinforces my suspicion that our higher power does not really play all that fair. It’s just so lovely. If I knew how to make this text green it would be …..envy, just plain old envy. So have fun and then tell the story when you get back. >> Oh, if I don’t lose my job (big IF) I may be going somewhere over Thanksgiving. Somewhere they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving. And they drink their tea with their pinky finger sticking out. <<But first I have to not lose my job. Which means I’ll likely be eating dry turkey with my Momma. But fingers crossed!

11 05 2009
Serendipitous Girl

OHMAHGAH! You’re going to San Francisco?! Say hello to mah ladieth for me!! And if you want advice on pizza, we DID do a pizza smackdown while SSG was there.

You must be SO excited!

11 05 2009
Alan

San Fran on the airlines budget huh? Sweeeet! Stop by Haite Street and smoke some doobies for me…

(not that I’ve ever done that…but I love the 70’s…)

12 05 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa–YES! The last time I was there, rented a convertible and drove to Santa Cruz. It’s really a cool city, isn’t it? Don’t lose your job!!

S-Girl…I am always up for pizza and sushi suggestions!!

Alan–I wont be doing that (again) Ive tried that stuff two or three times, with disastrous results which could be a story to tell here sometime…

12 05 2009
Noe Noe Girl

I had a great week end! My mother can be alot at times. Get on the phone with her and you cant get off!

You jet setter you!

Leave a Reply

