Monday Morning Mish Mash

6 04 2009

gerberadaisies

1. Over the weekend a quick trip to pick up ONE thing at the home improvement store turned into a half day project when the honey suggested I get a fern for the front porch. Well, the garden section had just been filled with spring flowers, and I couldn’t get out of there without picking up $50 worth of gerbera daisys and marigolds. (which I actually hate, but they are one of the only things that will grow in the rocky clay). So spring is officially in the air…literally. The pollen is so heavy you have to turn on your windshield wipers if the car sits outside for a few hours…you can imagine what that does to allergies.

2. While I was digging up the back yard, one of my neighbors was outside grumbling about the mess his dogs had made. “We’re gonna have another little one in September.” he added. “Oh, what kind?” I asked, thinking he was still talking about dogs. “I don’t think she’s far enough along until May to know.”  I distinctly remembered that last year, they’d had both their pooches “fixed” and they were inside dogs…I wasn’t sure how she could have gotten knocked up unless it was intentional. Just as I was about to say “I thought she was fixed!” the neighbor continued with “That’s why we’ve been getting this work done on the house, trying to get a nursery ready and stuff.” The light went off…he was talking about his wife not his pooch. “Oh my God, you’re talking about Lauren! I thought you meant the dog was pregnant!” I felt kinda stupid…

3. My living room needs help…Im tired of it. When we moved into this house almost 4 years ago, we made do with whatever mix and match items we  had…have filled in the gaps with a few new pieces and made it look as good as we can, but it needs some new life. I’m thinking a sofa, rug, and a new coffee table will do the trick. It just needs to be a little fresher and brighter. So I went out on Saturday to start looking for a sofa. Six furniture stores later, I found ONE that I liked. Got home, placed it on the floor plan, of course, it was six inches too long. That’s the problem with my living room…it’s a fine size, but has absolutely no wall space. It’s open on one end to the foyer, has openings to the kitchen and dining room, French doors to the backyard and a fireplace. There’s nowhere left to put furniture.

4. My father-out-law (one half of Bonnie and Clyde) was let go from his job last week–after nearly 40 years with the company. The company (a global conglomerate) is reorganizing, and cleaned house of their entire North and South American executive team. I’ve no doubt he’ll find something new, but damn, talk about a punch in the gut after that long!

5. But in happier news, the countdown is on for my first vacation of the season. The Easter Bunny can hopefully find me at the beach, cause that’s where I’m heading next weekend! Woo hoo!

Actions

Information

17 responses

6 04 2009
Noe Noe Girl

1-lovely
2-future babysitter?
3-I just got rid of my early attic collection
4-bummer and it pisses me off
5-springbreak??

6 04 2009
Noe Noe Girl

1-lovely!
2-future babysitter?
3-I just got rid of my early attic collection!
4-bummer and it pisses me off!
5-springbreak?

6 04 2009
The Incredible Woody

1. Better cover up – a freeze is coming!!
2. Seeing the effects of those sleepless nights might put your biological clock on hold.
3. I have had the same sofa for 19 YEARS – never even re-upholstered! It really pisses me off when crap is well built because Vol Fan is NOT interested in spending money on replacing stuff “that looks fine”!!!!!
4. Things are getting scarier by the day…..
5. Yay beach! Drink a nice fruity drink for me!

6 04 2009
The Incredible Woody

For some reason on my blog on the rss feed, you are showing up as posting 9 years ago!!

6 04 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Noe Noe…noooo babysitting!

Woody…I know, my upstairs sofa is 13…it needs to be recovered but its still in too good a shape to toss out altogether. The downstairs one was a $400 bargain one that can go directly to Goodwill. 9 years ago?? Criminy! For some reason I have been having trouble posting comments on blogspot blogs today…maybe its because Ive gone back in time?

6 04 2009
cuteasasa

It snowed here today so outdoor planting is a couple of weeks away yet.

Vacations are like a real long recess. My next one is Memorial Day week and I’m already counting down!

6 04 2009
Jason

First vacation of the season? But you just went on like three separate vacations! No fair.

6 04 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa…theres a chance it will snow here tonight. Crazy! I was in shorts and flip flops yesterday.

Jason…those dont count..they were for events. LOL. And that was still winter.

7 04 2009
dawtch

Wish I could plant stuffs. Everything green I touch, dies 😦 Some witch I am, huh..?
bb
dawtch

7 04 2009
dawtch

Oh yeah, and it snowed here yesterday….
bb
dawtch

7 04 2009
Predo

Nice! From “fixed” pregnant puppies to a beach vacation! How daring of you! That is why I love your blog! You so crazy!!! Just don’t tell me about it when they chain the kid up in the back yard! Mwa-ha-ha-ha!!!

8 04 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Dawtch…there was a chance of snow here too! Thankfully, it just got colder than a witches tit in a brass brassiere (are witches tits cold? inquiring minds want to know!)

Predo–if they get the kid fixed, Im calling DSS.

8 04 2009
Jodi

Well, they can get that way, much like any other, but Hunny tends to keep the cold at bay…and I threw away my brass brassiere when I quit stripping….
bb
dawtch 🙂

8 04 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Jodi…somehow I dont think you’re joking that you had one. LOL!

8 04 2009
dawtch

I would never joke about a thing like that! I also had thigh highs *actually went through about 15 pairs over the life of my dancing career), numerous leather outfits (from thongs to full length “gowns”) and still have a bull whip & cat o’nine tails….I probably have pics somewhere, if I can find ’em….*grin*
bb
dawtch

8 04 2009
dawtch

Ummm….thigh high BOOTS – the hose never stood a chance, wouldn’t even make it a whole night…

9 04 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Im glad you clarified…I was thinking hose, and thought “damn, only 15 pair??”

Leave a Reply

