Needful Things

31 03 2009

I’ve wanted one of these classic Mercedes since they were available new off the showroom floors. I think both represent some of the last timelessly beautiful automobiles ever built. From time to time, I run across  a low-mileage, showroom condition one for sale online…generally at a fairly reasonable price. There’s hope yet to have one of these!

First, the Mercedes S-class (model designation W126) was the top of the line from 1979 til 1991.  I think it’s just as handsome now as it was then.

w126

And for those Sunday drives, I’d love a classic Mercedes SL convertible. This basic body style, designated as the R107, had a tremendously long run–from 1971 to 1989. A crisp white one would probably be my first pick, followed closely by a silver blue one with a dark blue top, but it’s an elegant car in any color.

mercedessl

Actions

Information

14 responses

31 03 2009
The Incredible Woody

My sister-in-law’s sister bought one just like the bottom one last summer. It was gold – yuck! I think it was previously owned by a little old lady that only drove it to church on Sundays – it was mint.

31 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

oh no, was it sort of an earwax gold color? I think I know just the shade you mean.

31 03 2009
The Incredible Woody

That’s it! That’s the color – earwax gold.

1 04 2009
Noe Noe Girl

I have a 1960 Ford dump truck (for real) I think you would look nice in. Can you drive a stick shift? We call her “0ld Blue”.

1 04 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Noe Noe…WHY do you have a dump truck?? LOL! And yes, I can drive a stick.

1 04 2009
Noe Noe Girl

My place is 60 acres. And sometimes I have to “haul” stuff!

1 04 2009
The Vinyl Villager

ahh now Im jealous. That’s another needful thing…some acreage where I can hide out and be a hermit.

1 04 2009
The Incredible Woody

Ha – we have a dump truck too!

1 04 2009
dawtch

I’m jealous – one of my needful things is also acerage…
bb
dawtch

1 04 2009
Predo

1971 and 1972 were good years for cars! I myself would prefer a corvette from that date range, but alas would be afraid to drive it! What if I got a scratch on that baby!

1 04 2009
ArchitectDesign

Someone in my building has that R107 convertible in an sort of deep musty green -it’s the most awesome car ever…and then a block away someone has the same exact model in yellow. I grew up around vintage mercedes (more models from 60s-70s) -my dad would buy them, restore them, drive them for a year or 2 and then sell them. I remember my high school prom taking a 1972 mercedes in a cream yellow color and driving my friends around -so fun!

1 04 2009
MJ

I love my stepmom’s old Mercedes. I was so upset the day she gave it to my sis-in-law.

1 04 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Woody…if I ended up making a dump truck one of my needful things, you and Noe Noe are to blame!

Dawtch…Id be content with about 10…how many do you need?

Predo–at the risk of sounding like an old man, they just dont make ’em like they used to.

ArchitectDesign–thanks for stopping by! My dad had a classic Mercedes too…for about a month. I think it’s engine blew up on a bridge somewhere. I can picture your prom car perfectly! I wonder which cars of today, if any, will stand the test of time as well?

MJ…well if you know anyone who wants to give away another one…just let me know.

2 04 2009
Josh

VV,

You can always find those cars very cheap. Seriously. At least around here. My buddy bought one almost exactly like that for below 5 grand, WITH low mileage and very well kept.

Look in Auto Trader.

Leave a Reply

