Swish and Flick!

21 03 2009

magic-wand

On my list of “needful things” are quite a few pieces of pop culture memoribilia–autographs, scripts, etc. Well, one of those needs was fulfilled this week!

I’m a huge fan of Harry Potter–I’ve read all the books (including the mini Tales of Beedle the Bard), seen all of the movies (and anxiously await the new one) and even own all the ones that are out on DVD already.

So you can imagine how pleased I was to learn that an old friend of mine works for Alivan’s–a company that sells all things Harry Potter. And when I say all things, I mean it! You can get books, robes, wands, brooms, even Bertie  Bott’s Beans (not sure if they have the booger flavored ones from the books though).

Anyway, I got my own little piece of Harry Potter memorabilia delivered this week–a yew wand. Now, resist the temptation to call me a dork (I’ve already heard that this week). It’s really neat–I’m kind of amazed at the craftsmanship–each wand is hand made, and smooth as butter. The grain of the wood is really beautiful. It arrived at my office, and entertained all of us for a while.

So if you, or your little wizards, are fans of Harry Potter, I’d recommend checking out Alivan’s offerings, it’s really cool stuff!

Actions

Information

8 responses

22 03 2009
cuteasasa

One of the things that makes you so cool is that you admit things like this.

And that you hit people with food.

23 03 2009
Noe Noe Girl

Can you beat a dead horse with that wand? Any chance of waving it around and fixing the economy? It’s worth a try!

23 03 2009
MJ

NEAT! I love the movies, and I’m finally finding the time to read the books – I’m on the third one now. I can’t wait ’til summer!

23 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa…LOL! I havent done that in years.

Noe Noe…Ive been trying to find a spell to conjure up winning lottery numbers all weekend.

MJ…me either! Its been too long since a movie came out!

23 03 2009
imom

Nice find!! I’m very much into all things Harry Potter, so I can relate. I have no issue with my dorkiness!

23 03 2009
thegirlfromtheghetto

I have been wanting to dress up as Herminee (Yes, I know that’s spelled wrong, too lazy) for Halloween for years. My cat looks a little like her cat, so its the perfect reason to bring Beatrice to work. I’ll have to check it out.

23 03 2009
Alyson

I am so glad I have found another Potterhead. I too own all the books and movies. I’ve read all the books twice, except the last one, only once for it, and can’t wait for the movie.

24 03 2009
heather

I used to buy those Bertie Botts for my daughter. They are amazingly disgusting. Enjoy them if you dare.

Leave a Reply

