Needful Things

11 03 2009

Given the field that I am in, it shouldn’t come as a surprise that many of the things “I’ve always wanted” are from the decorative arts world. And I have loved the following, literally, since I was a wee lad:

hill_house_lp

“The narrow Hill House Chair was meant by Charles Rennie Mackintosh to be a decoration, and not a functional piece of furniture. The Hill House Chair still resides at the Hill House in Helensburgh, Scotland.
Charles Rennie Mackintosh, the creator of the Hill House Chair, was a skilled interior designer, painter and decorator who renown for his inventive interpretation of Art Nouveau.  His participation in such landmark events such as the 1902 exhibit of Modern Decorative Arts in Turin and the 1931 Exhibition of the Vienna Secession School solidified his place in the history of design.”

Since the time I fell in love with the Hill House chair, some truly heinous, cheap knock off’s have been done. While not as tall, I’m sure everyone can remember seeing something that kinda looks like one at their local Big Lots furniture department or other low-buck retailer. But I won’t be daunted, I’d love to have a pair flanking a foyer table, a dining sideboard, or even a tall chest. There’s absolutely nowhere I can imagine putting even one in my current house…so I will have to continue saying “I’ve ALWAYS wanted one of those” at least until I move to my next place.

Actions

Information

6 responses

12 03 2009
Alan

Oooookay…

(dude…I am SO behind in reading! You’ve got a lot of stuff here…)

12 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

ha ha! I’ve had a full mind the past week or so.

12 03 2009
Noe Noe Girl

Yes that chair will look very nice at YOUR house =)

12 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

aww does that mean you dont like it?

14 03 2009
cuteasasa

Put it upstairs. In the event of a fire, you have a dual purpose piece. Betcha anything that’s what Charlie was thinking with this one.

15 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa..I bet you’re right.

Leave a Reply

