A Little Dose of Useless Knowledge

10 03 2009

Although generally used interchangeably, did you know that  a labyrinth and a maze are NOT the same thing? Generally speaking, a maze offers choices and dead-ends whereas a labyrinth offers only one (albeit LONG) way to the center.

Here’s a better explanation: The labyrinth is an ancient spiritual tool that has been used throughout the world for over four thousand years.  A labyrinth is a circuitous path with one entrance point that leads through a series of switch-backs to its center.  A labyrinth is not a maze.  A maze, by contrast, has dead-ends and blind alley ways.  Its intention is confusion and mystery.  The labyrinth, when followed, leads eventually and without making choices to the center.  It is designed for one to find his/her way.  The labyrinth may be thought of as a map, but as such it should not be confused with the territory that it represents, that is the inner Being and its relationship with Spirit.”

labyrinth1

Of course, the only kind of Labyrinth I really know anything about is the one pictured above—a game that used to drive me NUTS as a kid! Now, don’t you feel smarter?

Actions

Information

21 responses

10 03 2009
Jodi

Labyrinths are very popular in the pagan community. It’s almost impossible to attend a pagan festival and not find one. I’ve heard many says that “walking the labyrinth” is soothing & enlightening. I’ve tried it. I wasn’t impressed – I was neither soothed nor enlightened. Kinda disappointing 😦
bb
dawtch

10 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Jodi, I came across this tidbit when a couple had one installed in their yard to, as you said, provide “soothing and enlightenment.” I personally think they were soothed by having less grass to mow…

10 03 2009
The Incredible Woody

Too much time on your hands??

10 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Woody…awww. Just trying to give you your clicks worth. 😦

10 03 2009
cuteasasa

I had to stop and go look up “switch-backs”. Smarter, no. Little less dumb. Maybe. But it was interesting.

10 03 2009
Josh

I agree with Woody, VV – You have too much time on your hands…

11 03 2009
Serendipitous Girl

I think there might be a metaphor for life in there somewhere.

Or a sweet reminder of those guys who had dragon posters on their walls in high school … and possibly still do.

11 03 2009
Amanda

The thing that popped to mind was having to double check Harry Potter 5 to see if it has the appropriate word. Random thought.

11 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa–well, we can all hope to be a little less dumb each day, right? LOL!

Josh–you go sit in the corner with Woody.

SGirl–Im almost sure of it.

Amanda–ooo yeah, I forgot about the one in that book.n

11 03 2009
Noe Noe Girl

Ok now I have to have one of those!

11 03 2009
Big Hair Envy

I LOVED that game!!! Sucked at it, but loved it!!!

11 03 2009
Predo

I just had flashbacks of the movie with David Bowie. Wow, I am sooooo old!

11 03 2009
trailerparkbarbie

I thought a Labyrinth was a part of a woman’s……

oh….never mind. That’s labia. LOL

11 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

TPB–in either case, its just as long and frustrating a route to get to where you wanna be.

11 03 2009
Tami

I consider myself smarter for having read your blog today.
🙂

11 03 2009
cuteasasa

Re: your response to TPB. Often I enjoy your responses as much as the original story. This was a good one.

11 03 2009
trish

Thanx, I did not know about the labyrinth’s spirituality. I only thought it was a game. However, I kinda agree with Woody & Josh …sorry

11 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Tami–glad to have given you your click’s worth!

Asa–I love the comments too!

Trish–it’s ok. Im a geek. A dufus. I can handle it and am comfortable in my own skin. 🙂

12 03 2009
Alan

My life is like a labyrinth. And I LOVED “Pan’s Labyrinth”. Aaaand…thats all I got…

13 03 2009
Ahmnodt Heare

There is no such thing as useless knowledge; only useless people with knowledge. My mother used to say that about me.

13 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Oh no, does that mean Im useless?? LOL! Thanks for stoppin by Ahmnodt

Leave a Reply

