Needful Things

9 03 2009

I was flipping through a magazine today and spotted something…pitiful that my short term memory is so bad, but I’ve already forgotten what it was…and thought to myself, “I’ve always wanted one of those!”  Then I started turning over in my head all the things that I have “always wanted” The examples that came to mind ranged from the extravagent “you’ll NEVER have that!” to the somewhat mundane “WHY do you want THAT? and if you do, why haven’t you just gotten it?”

So I’ve decided to jot down all these things I need to make life complete. Why? Who knows? Maybe so I can check ’em off as I get them? So the folks reading who have the unenviable task of buying me birthday and holiday gifts don’t have to ask me for suggestions anymore? (Yeah…I like that…hint…hint) Naaa…because there’s some pretty cool stuff on that big list in my head and I’d like to share it.

First up:

movadowatchA Movado Museum watch. So called because it was the first watch dial selected to be part of the permanent collection at the Museum of Modern Art in 1960. Originally designed in the late 1940’s by Nathan George Horwitt, a Bauhaus-influenced artist–the watch pictured above is the classic Movado, although there are many other designs available from them now.

Why do I want one? It’s great looking–classic, clean lines, is as stylish now as it was over 60 years ago. Why don’t I have one? That’s a very good question…since deals can be found that would allow me to have one for only a few hundred bucks.

More “needful things” coming soon…

Actions

Information

6 responses

10 03 2009
Serendipitous Girl

You can tell a lot about a guy by his watch … you can also tell a lot about a guy who wears a gold chain with open shirt buttons and a pinkie ring. I’ll let you be the judge of which jewelry SSG approves.

(And SSG is fully aware that you don’t need her approval … but she will still give it. Welcome to Predo’s world.)

10 03 2009
Snooty

Totally fabulous watch and it is undoubtedly timeless. I think I’m going to like your list, pal. I definitely like your taste… mainly because you are so wise for being such a youngster. Nice choice!

10 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

SGirl…you give your approval anytime you want! I wanna see what you think of my new pinky ring anyway…

Snooty…awww thanks!

10 03 2009
Noe Noe Girl

I will just say I have always loved this watch!

10 03 2009
Josh

That piece is beautiful. Very stylish. Now you made me want one. Shame on you. 😀

10 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Noe Noe–you have excellent taste.

Josh–do they still have the flea market in Milton?? We could probably find a fake for 20 bucks!

Leave a Reply

