Monday Morning Mish Mash

9 03 2009

brotherssisters

1. It was recently brought to my attention that the Snuggie–you know, that blanket with arms–doesn’t have a true back. I don’t know why, but this changes everything for me. I kinda wanted one…perfect for naps, or curled up on the couch with a book. (hey, don’t judge—I reduce my carbon footprint by leaving the heat set on a frosty 62 degrees). But now I find that it’s nothing new at all–just a bathrobe that you put on backwards. Someone is making a fortune by making a fleece hospital gown look appealing. And I almost fell for it!

2. I had to go in this morning to have blood work done as part of some testing I’m undergoing to prevent these kidney stones I’m plagued with. Why it couldn’t just be done at my doctor’s office is beyond me…but I had to go to an independant lab. And it was NASTY. Two lines–one for drug testing and one for lab work–was my first clue. The lady who actually took my blood didn’t look like she had seen a comb in weeks. Thankfully, that’s over…now in a few weeks I’ll get the results and probably be told I can’t eat or drink anything I enjoy anymore.

3. Talk about crazy weather–a week ago I was loving several inches of snow. And this weekend, I had every window in the damned house open. Yep–5 inches of snow on Monday and 80 degrees by Friday. Gotta love that!

4. Is anyone else a fan of “Brothers and Sisters?” I have been since it came on the air–it has the best ensemble cast of maybe any TV show ever. But am I the only one who thinks they need to stretch their plot lines a LOT beyond the current and predictable “well intentioned dishonesty leads to drama“. I simple can not take another episode of this person keeping something from that person, with the best of intentions, only to have it turn into an hour full of examples of how honesty is the best policy. And pre-dic-tuh-bull! Does anyone NOT think that the new illegitimate son isn’t totally gonna end up in some sort of love drama with the old-not-really-but-we-thought-so illegitimate daughter?? Come on, writers, this cast deserves better than this!

5. Regular readers have probably caught on that I LOVE to get a new car, and do so fairly often. This is not a trait that I got from my father. His sign that it’s time to car shop is when the driver’s seat is worn out. (no kidding–he will tell you this himself). Well, Subaru must make a damned good driver’s seat, because he called me this weekend from the car lot and was about to trade in the trusty wagon that had carried him for 196,000 miles. I think the most miles I have ever put on one car is about 55,000. I wish…well, ok, my bank accounts wish, that I could look at cars this way–more the way I might look at, say, a vacuum cleaner. I don’t run out and get a new one everytime Dirt Devil launches a new model. So long as it’s sucking dirt off the floor, I keep it. I really ought to feel the same way about cars–as long as it gets me from A to B, it’s fine. But I don’t ever see that happening.

Actions

Information

13 responses

9 03 2009
The Incredible Woody

1. They makes blankets that are sort of like the snuggie. Basically you wrap the blanket around you from the back and it has snaps on the front to secure it, leaving armholes and legholes. I have had one FOREVER!!

2. Umm, sounds exactly like the sort place you want to be around their needles….

3. I know but wasn’t this weekend just perfect??

4. Sounds like it has turned into a soap opera!

5. When I LOVE my car, it stays, like my Accord – had it for 15 years!! But if I just LIKE my car, not so much, like my Expedition – had it for under 1 year!!

9 03 2009
Noe Noe Girl

5-I drive cars and trucks till the wheels fall off! So now I love your dad!
2- Everything is “contracted out” these days.
3- Good sunshine at our place yesterday! =)

9 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Not only was the place nasty, but now I look like I need to be drug tested…bruise and track marks on my arm…which has NEVER happened to me when I’ve had to have blood drawn.

9 03 2009
MJ

Yeah, we’ve had the same weather here.

Seriously, a snuggie? C’mon…
Me and my friends are always making fun of that commercial.
I call it a blanket with holes in it, but a backward robe is pretty accurate too…

9 03 2009
imom

My dad wanted a Snuggie for Christmas, I couldn’t find it at the As Seen on TV store, so he didn’t get one.

When I got my current job I had to go to one of those places for a drug test, creepy people there.

I don’t want to talk about the weather 😦

I don’t watch Brothers and Sisters only because I forget about it and I can’t stay up past 9. Maybe I should rent the seasons?! I love the cast and I’m sure I’d love the show.

I still love my car as much as I did when it was brand new, in fact I still think of it as a new car and it’s an 03. Call me crazy!

9 03 2009
Jason

I don’t share your views on Brothers and Sisters. I love it every time, and I guess I’m just not smart enough to see that it is predictable. I even cried last week when Kitty’s baby was born and Rob Lowe had a heart attack and nearly died. And Holly! She scares me. There is no way that Ryan is going to have any kind of a thing with the other ex-sister–I forgot her name. No way.

But I do agree with you on the new car thing. All the way. Except I have never gotten past 41,000 miles on car. I don’t have the stamina to last that long. I didn’t get my disease from my dad either, unless it’s because my parents’ cars were always broken down pieces of junk. In that case, I did.

9 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

MJ–the “inventor” was on Oprah the other day, and said he had $60 million in sales…can you believe that??

imom–I need to find that kinda love for a car…

Jason–oh make no mistake, I love each and every one of them too. But I betcha if Ryan and whatsherface aren’t ACTUALLY a couple, there will be drama because Justin will see something and take it the wrong way or one of the others will THINK they saw something and not tell him…

9 03 2009
Alyson

I have followed Brothers and Sisters since the beginning also, and I feel kinda cheated that nobody died on the heart attack episode, as was promised.

Also, all I could think of when I saw Sally Field slap Tommy’s character was the great scene in, “Steel Magnolias”…………..”Take a whack at Weeza”……..

9 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Alyson…OMG I can almost recite Steel Magnolias word from word from opening scene to credits. And wasn’t Tom Skerritt (sp?) who played her hubby on Steel Magnolias the philandering father who dropped dead in the pool on the first episode of B and S??

10 03 2009
Heather P.

Well am I the only one who hates Holly and the fact that she turned Tommy in to the cops? She doesn’t deserve the money and the company since that money was supposed to be for William’s kids and her kid isn’t. I was really hoping that they could push her out of the company. Yeah and I am really disappointed that nobody died last week too!

10 03 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Heather P. yeah…Im confused about Holly. I need to go back and watch earlier seasons…but I dont even remember how it is that Holly came to work at Ohai?
I missed the whole 2 hour thing the other week because my satellite was out in the snowstorm…how did Holly even find out about Tommys intentions?

13 03 2009
coffee

instead of a “Snuggie” i prefer to call mine a “Power Blanket”

14 03 2009
Alyson

It was Tom Skeritt who plays the deceased cheater in the show. I was really excited when the show premiered to see them together, then they killed him off by the end of the first episode.

Holly was babysitting Tommy and Julia’s daughter at their house when she conveniently came accross the paperwork in Tommy’s office.

Dlisted said something a while back about Tommy leaving the show, so I sort of thought he would be the death on the 2 hour thing…………..maybe a suicide after being found out.

Leave a Reply

