Does This Mean I’m Nuts?

23 02 2009

A week or so ago,  a fellow blogger was talking about cleaning, and how she tends to keep things out of guilt, allowing sentiment to exist when there is no rational basis for it. It got me thinking: I do the same thing. But I take it a step beyond. 

Example: I have box after box of cards I’ve been given–all the way back to my high school graduation. Now, granted, they are all shoved into attractive, matching faux-leather containers, so they aren’t presenting a clutter problem, but WHY?? I have crayons and ink pens and playing cards that I got as gifts when my age was a single digit. WHY??

On some level, I know it’s silly to keep such things. I’ve even brought myself to toss most of them at one time or another. That card from Great Aunt Sally that marked my birthday five years ago? It was on top of the trash can until I pictured old Sally searching the aisles of Hallmark for the PERFECT card to send me, then cheerfully dropping it into the mailbox, content in the knowledge that it would bring a smile to my face. How can I toss something that Aunt Sally put such effort into for little ole me? And the answer is, I CAN’T! Does that mean I’m nuts?

I also tend to personify inanimate objects. When I trade a car, I’ve caught myself, days later, picturing the trade-in huddled on the used car lot wondering what it did to deserve being kicked out of it’s nice warm garage. Angry that it had carried me so many miles only to be thrown over for a newer and faster model. Does that make me certifiable? Probably not, plenty of people give their cars names, which is sort of the same thing, right?

But I do the same thing, to a lesser degree, whenever I think it’s time to toss an old souvenir, stocking stuffer, or trinket. And the longer these items stick around, the worse it gets. That stamped leather wallet, brought back from the Smokey Mountains years ago by a well meaning relative? (I don’t even recall which one!) It’s been relegated to the “TOSS” pile a half dozen times, but then I picture the poor, tacky thing pleading “Why? After ALL these years?” Does that qualify me for a week’s stay in a padded room?

I guess I’m just a sentimental fool…

Actions

Information

17 responses

23 02 2009
cuteasasa

Certainly an interesting sentimental fool. From the pictures of your home I’d have never guessed it. I’m a mix. When my babydog was 16 years old I knew I would soon lose her and it was going to kill me. So as a therapy, even before she got sick, I started a scrapbook. It’s very crude, nothing like those fancy ones groups of women huddle in back rooms to create using fancy scissors and multi-color pens. As I worked on it I emptied drawers and tossed all the things that didn’t have a place in her book. You want for crazy? I loved this little dog so much she got more birthday cards than I did because my friends knew I got more joy out of her silly cards than if they sent to me. After her book was done, the rest went to the trash. For as much junk as I have in this house, very little of it holds deep meaning. But maybe that’s because I have so much junk? Now that I have only her book to remember her by, it’s without value. (You’re right. I need a blog instead of tag teaming on yours. : ) )

23 02 2009
The Incredible Woody

Hopefully our padded cells will be next to each other’s…..

23 02 2009
Noe Noe Girl

Yes Darling you are nuts! We all are! Let’s have a yard sale! A bunch of sappy sentimental fools selling their memories! What a sight! We can unload the stuff and go on a cruise!

23 02 2009
Noe Noe Girl

Cuteasasa ~We are all waiting!

23 02 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Me, too. Only I carry it a step farther. At yard sales and auctions, I find myself feeling sorry for that ripped, torn, and molded 3rd grade reader that once belonged to somebody. Or, that old gray felt hat with the dirty sweatband. Why do we feel like we have to be the Keeper of All Memories? I went so far as to buy some old false teeth at an auction. Nobody wanted them. Neither did I. But, I ended up bidding and winning them. I took them home and put them in a baggie and stuck them in a box of junk in the closet. But, I kept feeling weird about having someone’s teeth in my closet and finally retreived them from the box and threw them away. Now, if anybody can explain to me why I felt sorry for somebody’s teeth, please tell me.

23 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Asa—you feel free to tag team here as long as you want!

Woody—ahhh, yes, it would make the time there go by much faster to have friends “in” with me!

Noe Noe–I promise if I could get a cruise outta selling that leather wallet and all these damned greeting cards, I would have sold em a lonnnnnng time ago!

TPB–Its easy! you’re nuts too! Join me and Noe Noe for the yard sale and cruise!

23 02 2009
Red

Being a sentimental fool is okay . . it isss okay. We love you for that. Keep your cards. They dont take up much room anyhow 🙂

However, don’t keep your Granny’s teeth after she’s dead. Please. My MIL has her Granny’s false teeth in a jar in her china cabinet and the Woman has been dead for years. Now THAT’s weird.

23 02 2009
Big Hair Envy

Yard Sale & Cruise??? I am SO in!!! Bwahahaha!

We are enclosing our garage, and I have had the worst time tossing things. Fortunately, I had a moment of sanity, and sent all of that crap to the DUMP!!! Out of sight, out of mind. Right?

Is my cell ready???

23 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Red, are you sure your MIL didnt sell ’em at auction to TPB? LOL

Big Hair, I had no idea so many of us were afflicted!!

23 02 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Not just a yard sale…A BigAss Yardsale! You know that’s how we do things, VV. BigAss or nothing. And, yes, I’m in!

23 02 2009
joanharvest

I keep everything too and then my daughter cleans up after me and chucks it all. That’s OK because my memory is so bad I forget about the stuff a few days later.

I say keep whatever you want as long as you don’t trip over it.

23 02 2009
Josh

I just throw shit away – my wife is the one who keeps it.

24 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

TPB–I wouldnt think anyone would want the junk I save. But if you bought dentures…then there must be someone out there who might want my old crap!

Joan–LOL! No, its all neatly put away.

Josh–that sounds like a recipe for fighting…

24 02 2009
trailerparkbarbie

VV…….My problem with having a yard sale with y’all is that I would probably buy all of your crap. And, keep my own, too!

24 02 2009
homebunnyj

Babe, if it doesn’t make you smile it does not belong in your home. Period. Your home is your haven and should not be full of things that have guilt attached to them. I personify objects too, and always have; but I have learned that this is my home, and those relatives meant the cards and presents to bring me smiles for a time. It would upset them to think I keep things out of obligation to them or somehow to the objects. It took me fifteen years to get to this point, so I think you better get crackin’ before the early-stage Alzheimer’s starts to set in — ya never know! I don’t want you to grow into an old geezer buried in his stuff. And, think of your stuff going off into the wide world to bless someone else — the young mother who can’t afford a new car and has to have her dad cosign for her on your old one just to have something to take the kids to the doctor in will love it at least as much as you did and it will serve her well. You could freecycle the vintage cards; papercrafters will honor them by remaking them into a work of art. Set your stuff free, and yourself too!

24 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

TPB–if you buy all the stuff, you wont have any money for the cruise!!

HomeBunny…thanks for droppin’ by! Good idea with the papercrafter! I could turn that junk into something beautiful….off to google that idea now.
And I actually saw the last car I traded in traffic a few weeks ago (it was a hot little convertible)…it was being driven by an elderly gentleman. I felt better. He probably drove it less, pampered it more, and had waited his whole life to have it.

24 02 2009
Alan

Ya know…I’m adopted. Maybe you are my long lost brother…’cause I swear I have had the same feelings about my cars…

Dude…you are going for a new record! 3 or 4 blogs in a couple of days! You trying to keep up with me or what?

Leave a Reply

