“It’s All God’s Plan!”

10 02 2009

mileycyrus

I would not normally bother to waste keystrokes on Miley Cyrus, but I feel moved to at this point. Someone needs to take away that girl’s camera. Now, I don’t enjoy her music and am proud to say that I have never seen an episode of Hota Dakota, or whatever show she has on the children’s channel.  So it is of no nevermind to me that she has, in the past, posted photos to myspace that show her in clothing that barely covers her achy, breaky heart. But now the camera has thrust her back into the headlines. She and some friends are shown in a photo pulling the corners of their eyes back. And some Asian groups have clutched their pearls and gasped that she could be so insensitive. Personally, since these are Hollywood children, I think it more likely that they were  making fun of their lifted, pinched, botoxed, and injected neighbors and family members. But in this overly sensitive world we live in, a person can no longer fetch their morning paper without causing grievous insult to someone or some group, so there you have it.

But what compels me to address this at all is the statement the chiclet-toothed starlet left on her blog:

“I want to thank all of my fans for their support not only this week, but always! I really wanted to stress how sorry I am if the photo of me with my friends offended anyone.

 I have learned a valuable lesson from this and know that sometime my actions can be unintentionally hurtful. I know everything is a part of GODs ultimate plan, and mistakes happen so that eventually I will become the woman he aspires me to be.

Peace and love, Miles

Excuse me, but what? It was God’s plan? God compelled you to insult an entire race as part of his glorious plan to make you a better woman?  If you want to apologize, do it. But don’t blame it on God or pretend he had some hand in it.

Can you imagine using this tactic?

“I’m sorry I was speeding officer, but it’s really all part of GOD’s plan!”

“Ooops! I’m two hours late for work…but it’s part of God’s plan, so it’s ok!”

“I know I shouldn’t be screwing your sister, honey, but it’s all in God’s plan!”

Give me a fuggin’ break!!

And while I am at it, why do people feel the need to capitalize every letter in “God?” Is it necessary in some religions to SHOUT his name? Everytime I see it in all caps, I can’t help but think of Karl Malden in Pollyanna:

Actions

Information

10 responses

10 02 2009
allison

Hear, Hear! About time somebody posted something smart about the twit. And that’s all I’m going to say since I don’t want to offend anyone.

10 02 2009
Josh

Damn!

I agree with you completely. I like her father, Billy Ray Cyrus. Not really because he’s from this area (that seems to be the only reason anyone around here likes him) but his music is good. His daughter on the other hand, she needs a little talkin’ to. I heard on the news that this was her friends doin’ a “goofy face”. If that’s the case, why isn’t the asian guy doing the “goofy face”? And if they are making fun of botox, why isn’t the asian guy making fun of it?

See? Not that I get offended by everything, but it seems like every picture that comes out of her, gets her in trouble. Maybe in between her tours/concerts with her schizophrenic friend (Miley/Hannah) she needs to stay indoors, and step away from the Myspace and/or Flickr.

And it’s definitely appropriate to capitalize the “G” in God, but not the whole thing. What the heck? “It’s all part of GODs plan? Oh my Lord. Maybe if you were in a session of worship, but this is just ridiculous.

Good job.

10 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Allison, you are in an offense free zone. You may say whatever you want, and it won’t offend me in the least. 🙂

Josh…the Asian kid has his eyes open big and wide. I think he’s making “honky eyes” LOL!

10 02 2009
The Incredible Woody

When you take away her camera and computer access, also take away Billy Ray’s bottle of highlights and his flat iron!!

PS – I’ve been to a few churches where, yes, they felt compelled to shout. ALL THE TIME!!

11 02 2009
Jason

I don’t have much to say one way or the other about Hannah Montana.

BUT, this notion that every little tiny thing that happens on the Earth, including celebrity error, is part of God’s plan….that makes me KOO KOO!!!

So, good post.

11 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Woody—I’ll try to wrestle those things away from him.

Jason–exactly! I’m now waiting for some pop tart to tell us “Ooops, It was Gods plan I didnt wear any panties today…sorry!”

11 02 2009
Alan

I recently saw a South Park episode where Miley/Hannah was the next up for superstar “sacrifice”. Once we get Britney to off herself…

Actually…I’m starting to wonder if that might truly be the case…

The girl is still a kid! She’s with friends and she is gonna be dumb. Let her be dumb! We all did it! And…has anyone noticed her friend in the front is Asian? Whatever.

As for your spin on this whole thing and her “God’s plan” comment…well…it’s ALL in God’s plan…ain’t it? LOL

11 02 2009
Predo

As if the spot light on them is not already bad enough, they have to go and post their own stupid photo’s! Wow, I just don’t get it. Crazy youth. Maybe they need to see what the real world is like for a few months. Hmmmmm.

11 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Alan…perhaps so, I just hate it when people toss that out there as a way of absolving personal responsibility.

Predo…didn’t Paris hilton try that as a reality show?

15 02 2009
Steve

Am I the only one to notice the apparent “gay”sain in the photo? Kids will be kids.

Leave a Reply

