Let’s Take a Drive Back to 1982

4 02 2009

Auto sales are apparently at their lowest point since 1982. Sad news for the automakers…but it got me thinking. What were we driving back in 1982? So let’s take a cruise back in time:

One of my favorite all time cars, for reasons even I don’t understand: The 1982 Cadillac Seville. Nevermind it’s bustle butt, I thought it was pure class.

1982_seville_elegante

Since I am a big Honda fan, here is what I would probably have been driving around in this 1982 Honda Prelude:

82prelude

I think my mom had one of these, a 1982 Chevy Chevette (hmmm…I’m beginning to see why 1982 was a bad year for car sales):

82chevette

In 1982, these were probably slowing down traffic. And I imagine you can still find one that’s only been driven to church and back, a 1982 Oldsmobile:

82olds

Or maybe you were on the cutting edge, and bought the new Renault (introduced as a 1983 model). I’m nearly positive my stepmother had one identical to this:

renaultencore

Or how about that perennial best seller, the Ford F-150?

1982f150

So, what was everyone else riding around in back in 1982?

Actions

Information

28 responses

4 02 2009
Girl nextdoor to you everyday

My mom had a silver Nissan 240Z and then she got a white Nissan 280ZX sometime in the 80’s. I loved those cars… They were awesome! Dad got stuck driving the hideous orange truck stamped with Duke Power. If you don’t remember that color let me remind you… it was somewhere between pumpkin guts and snot. A custom color they finally dropped.

4 02 2009
Noe Noe Girl

I was driving a Vega! I had that car for 10 years. I got lucky on that! Cant remember the year~I’ll have to look it up. My CdubbleU had one of those trucks and his parents always had a caddy! We only buy and drive American made cars. Guess that didnt help much!

4 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Girl next door–Hi! I loved those Nissan Z cars…I wouldnt mind having one now. I thought the one that came out around 1986 was the hottest thing EVER.

Noe Noe–did they have a Caddy like that one? If you say yes, I will be so envious.

4 02 2009
Big Hair Envy

I was driving the ever-classy Pinto. Baby $&*# greenish-yellow. Don’t judge – It got 41 miles to the gallon. Thanks for the memories:/

4 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Big Hair…our neighbor had a brown Pinto, lovingly and cleverly called the Pinto Bean, long into the 80s.

4 02 2009
imom

I wanted a Honda Prelude so bad, it was my dream car of the early 80’s. One of my friends got one for a graduation present and I was so jealous! Nice drive down memory lane.

4 02 2009
Philly

I drove a 78 Chevy Nova,,,,,good times in that car.

4 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

imom… I had a 91 Honda Prelude once upon a time. And if I could find one in good shape now, Id get another one. Best car I ever had!

Philly–I had to google it to refresh my memory of what the 78 Nova looked like, but one of my uncles had a bronze colored 4 door one. They had to be one of the top selling cars of those years…you used to see them all over the place.

4 02 2009
The Incredible Woody

I was driving a lovely Vega too. Dear God that was the absolute worse car! If it was cold, I could walk faster than it would go!! Thank goodness, I blew up the motor (No one would listen when I said that it was running hot!) and it was replaced by my beloved 1984 Honda Civic. I loved that car!

4 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

ahh the Vega…Chevys answer to the Pinto, wasnt it?

4 02 2009
Heather

Well, I wasn’t driving in 1982, but my mom was driving us around in a 1979 White Ford Mustang. I hope you aren’t being a smart about that Seville, because I have always thought those were gorgeous cars.

4 02 2009
Predo

We had a lime green station wagon with simulated wood grain trim on the outside. Wow, that is hot! My favorite thing about the car, was that there was a second back seat that flipped up and would face out the back window instead of ahead! I loved sitting back there!!!

4 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Heather, no not at all. I always have loved those. Theres always a few in showroom condition on ebay that I drool over.

Predo–I always wanted a wood-sided station wagon!

4 02 2009
Liz

This is a fun tumble back through time. I started the 1980’s out driving a Datsun 280ZX, but when I got preggers with first child, I switched to a Jeep Grand Wagoneer that I loved for many years.

4 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Liz….I think my mom and stepdad had a Grand Wagoneer…or two. I tend to remember a red one that had some sort of design down the side and a navy blue one that may have had some wood on it? I hated them because I thought they were too “Trucky”…

4 02 2009
MJ

I wasn’t born for another three years… :p

4 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

MJ…which, if my math is correct, means you werent old enough to drive until I was a few years out of college?? Damn I feel old now.

4 02 2009
cuteasasa

A “pre-owned” yellow 4 door Toyota. My Dad had helped find it for me. I didn’t have it long before it got hit by a truck and went to car heaven. Then I screwed up big time and bought a Chevy Cavelier. Car had a 3 year bumper to bumper and a 3 year and 1 day expiration date. And thus began my hate for the “American” car.

4 02 2009
Liz

Yup. The Grand Wagonner was meant to be the modern version of a *Woody* and had fake wood panels on the side, plus leather seats. I loved that car until the SOB died in the middle of a very busy highway, with a car full of kids.

4 02 2009
Serendipitous Girl

We had two cars the whole time I was growing up–a 1973 VW van (blue with a white top) and a 1974 VW convertible bug (pale yellow with a black top). I still LOVE those two cars and wish my parents kept them.

5 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Cuteasasa…I know someone who used to have to wedge a baseball bat into the backseat of their Cavalier just to keep the front seat standing up right.

Liz–theres a guy who takes those Jeeps and restores them and sells them for a mint! I think his site is wagonmaster.com–very cool stuff there!

S-Girl–those are great cars! VW had a concept for a new bus a few years back that was awesome…of course, they didnt build it, which is a shame–it could have made the minivan cool.

5 02 2009
cuteasasa

VV – If I’d have had a baseball bat wedged to keep the seat standing, it would have probably been used on other parts of the car pretty quickly. That car was an absolute piece of crap. The head blew the day I was out driving around car shopping. Talk about a dent to the trade in value…………….

5 02 2009
Alan

In 1982? I was too young to drive! So there! Ha!

5 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Cuteasasa….I had a Dodge that I felt about the same way about.

Alan…yeah me too, but do ya remember the family car of those days? If memory serves, Mom had a chevette in those days, and dad had a brown Toyota station wagon that was missing its hubcaps.

6 02 2009
DrZibbs

Renault huh? I had the Renault LeCar. Nice

9 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Dr.Z—ahh the LeCar…a classic for sure. Thanks for stopping by.

30 01 2010
bettys

I wanted to thank you for this great blog!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

28 06 2010
Joseph

In 1982, we had a 1976 Civic hatchback, and a 1981 Ford Fairmont station wagon. Both were wonderful and I wish we still had them!

Leave a Reply

