Michael Phelps Smokin’ Pot

1 02 2009

phelpssmoking

Dolphin boy Michael Phelps admits that some photos do show him hittin’ the bong at a University of South Carolina party last fall.

“I engaged in behavior which was regrettable and demonstrated bad judgment. I’m 23 years old and despite the successes I’ve had in the pool, I acted in a youthful and inappropriate way, not in a manner people have come to expect from me. For this, I am sorry. I promise my fans and the public it will not happen again.”

While I figure most reasonable people will chalk it up to the sort of youthful stupidity we’ve all engaged in, I have to wonder what effect this will have on his endorsement deals.

And, gosh, Michael…smoking is bad for the lungs!

Actions

Information

12 responses

1 02 2009
Noe Noe Girl

Now VV be kind!

1 02 2009
The Incredible Woody

Man, I knew all that swimming ability wasn’t natural!!

1 02 2009
Queen of Planet Hotflash

Damn can’t a guy have any fun at all without all the prudes and condecending jackasses saying.. We found Something.. We found Something ( not you VV )
Why isn’t everyone having a shit fit about the dude that scammed everyone out of their money and he’s still kickin back in his multi million dollar apartment, drinking champaign and bitching that all he can do is look at his wife and spend money on the internet ? Now that fucker needs to be horsewhipped in public then gasoline poured on his ass and a fire set.

I’m having hotflashes…..

1 02 2009
Predo

Well, even stoned I bet he swims faster then any one of us!

I think he has paid his dues, with spending his entire youth at the pool in training to let down his hair for once.

Regardless, I know people will freak out, because as you know there is nothing more important for them to focus on. LOL!!!

1 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Noe Noe…I tried!

Woody–ha ha ha!

Queen and Predo–kinda what I was thinking…he’ll get flack over it because of who he is when we should probably cut him more slack than the average person because he probably didnt get to have much of a youth.

2 02 2009
Mental P Mama

Well I’m glad there weren’t cameras following me around when I was 23.

2 02 2009
Alan

I agree with Mental P Mama. Let the kid have some fun. Whoever took this photo probably had a few hits also! And that’s all I gots!

2 02 2009
cuteasasa

I’m kind of glad this happened. This guy is worth a fortune. Pre-olympics he was already worth a ton. Now he’s megga rich. Youth, fortune and a free ticket all together usually do not mix well. Just on the chance that he’s an all or nothing personality, it might be good that he has to at least use a little more judgment. I’d hate for him to piss it all away. Once upon a time M.C.Hammer had money. : )

3 02 2009
Peter Parkour

Not ALL of up. 😐

3 02 2009
Peter Parkour

“US”!!! Not ALL of us. 😕 It’s late, cut me some slack.

3 02 2009
The Vinyl Villager

Mental P and Alan–since this happened in SC, it was all the talk on the news last night, and I was glad to see that the overwhelming majority of people looked at it just as we are.

Asa–yes, youth and money are a bad combo most of the time. I bet this has been a wake up call for him.

Peter–come on! maybe you weren’t hittin the bong, but surely you did something in your youth that you aren’t exactly proud of? (and slack cut–I fired the spelling and grammar police at this blog long ago)

3 02 2009
Big Hair Envy

Whatever! He still ROCKS a Speedo….

Leave a Reply

