Enough Already!

22 01 2009

I was eating dinner last night and the folks on Entertainment Tonight were talking about it. The interwebs are abuzz. The Today Show did a piece on it. Then this morning I go to check my email and their is a link to an article about it. I’m talking about the First Family’s wardrobe and I am puzzled as to why we even give a shit. That President Obama got his bow tie from J. Crew is of no interest to me. That Mrs. Obama chose a young, relatively unknown designer for her ball gown is an admirable (and fashionistas might say) gutsy move, but not one that deserves headlines.

michelleobama

Now, I was anxious to see what she would wear for inauguration, but only because the red and black number she wore the night Barack accepted the nomination was, to my eye, a monstrosity that made her look like the Bride of Satan emerging from the fires of hell. (Apologies to Narciso Rodriguez–it would be a fine dress for a cocktail party, but it looked like something from the Penney’s sale rack on national TV)

I thought the Isabel Toledo outfit Michelle wore for the swearing in was gorgeous. The color complimented her complexion perfectly. That it was exquisitely made was obvious, and it had a timeless, yet trendy appeal that suited her very well.

But then came the much-talked-about Jason Wu Ball Gown. That I seem to be the only one who didn’t like it probably says more about my fashion sense than it does about the gown, but the damned thing looked like something you’d wear to a country prom! Or maybe as a SECOND wedding dress. The single strap bothered me, I can’t decide if it looked more like an afterthought, or like it had lost it’s twin. And it seemed like she had to constantly adjust it to keep from tripping on the hems. And all those skinny bangle bracelets. Was there a sale at Claire’s or what?

Let’s hope all this wardrobe nonsense is over. We ought to be much more concerned with how he will lead the country than where he got his socks and what her coat is lined in.

Actions

Information

17 responses

22 01 2009
Philly

AMEN!!

22 01 2009
The Incredible Woody

I am soooo glad that I wasn’t the only one that didn’t care for the ball gown. It just wasn’t flattering at all. It made her look like the frumpy step-sister at cotillion!

I didn’t see the red/black outfit but I like your description.

She did look stunning in the yellow suit!

But, like you said, why is this news?

22 01 2009
Little Miss

I hated that ball gown. It was horrendous and it made her look fat. She’s a tall woman, a tad “thick” in the middle, and it made her look like a linebacker in drag. Seriously. I don’t have anything nice to say about it. The yellow inauguration outfit was nice, not stunning, and to me, nothing at all to write home about. The shape of the dress did nothing for her figure, and she doesn’t stand up straight. She hunches over like a lot of tall women do because they are uncomfortable with their height. Stand up, Michelle! Good grief.

The focus on clothes is obnoxious, even for me. I love critiquing clothes as much as the next fashionista, but seriously. I’m with you. Enough. Maybe it’s because there isn’t anything else remarkable about the couple to talk about?

22 01 2009
The Vinyl Villager

well glad Im not the only one!

Ive always thought high-waistlines make a woman look oddly proportioned. (Is that a high waistline, or is she just shaped that way?)

22 01 2009
heather

I thought that gown looked like she made a toga out of her grandma’s bedcover, you know, the chenilley ones with pompoms on them?

22 01 2009
Big Hair Envy

If I remember correctly, that ball gown was part of the Gunne Sax collection back in the Spring of ’83. It was all the rage at my junior prom.

22 01 2009
TamiW

I thought the ball gown looked like something she pulled out of the back of the closet. It didn’t fit her well and it looked frumpy. She should have had a more elegant version of the swearing in dress in my opinion…..

22 01 2009
cuteasasa

I am writing this wearing a pair of Lee Jeans that were about an inch too long. I got sick of stepping on them when I wasn’t in shoes so I cut an inch off. They are otherwise very comfortable and I figure as long as I don’t go out in my PJ’s (a trend I detest), I’m good. But clearly I am not the person to comment on anyone else’s fashion.

22 01 2009
Liz

I’ve been trying to keep my trap shut since I always tend to stick my foot in it when my mouth is open. That said… I thought her ball gown was the worst disaster of all time. I loved the gold suit she wore yesterday for the swearing in but it did not escape me that it had a certain Jackie-O look to it. But OMIGOD that *ball gown* looked like nothing more than a post prom fire sale monstrosity. She looked more like a *house frau* than an elegant First Lady. Someone needs to give that designer some drugs so that he can at least be interesting instead of just BLAH & dull! Frankly, she looked like a refugee from the party where all the losers go. Pray that someone will take charge of this woman’s wardrobe during their term in the White House. Hopefully, no one will let her wear a hat like Aretha Franklin’s. Should be interesting to see the parade of bad clothes choices over the next four years.

22 01 2009
Liz

Okay. Did I say too much? 😉

22 01 2009
The Vinyl Villager

either none of us know squat about fashion, or all the pundits on TV were just kissin’ her butt! (and Liz–of course you didnt!)

22 01 2009
Alan

Dude…I’m talking c#@k rings and hookers on MY site and you are naming off fashion designers and talking bow ties??? What the hell is going on today? Have I lost my mind???

I seriously need to go home for a while and take a couple days off…because I have seemingly entered some kind of mid-life crisis…

22 01 2009
The Vinyl Villager

ooo…cock rings and hookers. Im on my way…

23 01 2009
jjjwww

Of the ball gown, Joan Rivers said on the Howard Stern Show that it looked like she should be picking cotton in it. I wouldn’t go that far, but didn’t like it myself, says he who buys most of his clothes at Target.

23 01 2009
heather

I’d love to have the money it cost to buy that ugly dress.

23 01 2009
sista #2

It reminded me of one of those old white bedspreads my grandmother had in the front bedroom.

That dress was horrid.

peace
#2

23 01 2009
Suzi

I must be easy, I thought all the outfits looked very nice.

Leave a Reply

