Search Term Saturdays

10 01 2009

I tell ya…I could do a search term entry every day. It’s hard narrowing it down to just one a week. But this week’s winner is a real doozy:

“taking crossdressed son for a perm”

First, to the searcher, you have my respect for being so open minded. Many parents would be quite uncomfortable with the idea that their offspring liked to dress as the opposite sex…so it takes someone quite progressive to take said child out for a day of beauty.

Now, I’m not at all sure what this searcher was looking for. A support group for other parents facing a gender-bending beauty dilemma? A salon that specialized in hairdo’s for Show Girls? But I suspect that the parent in question was simply feeling some anxiety over the prospect of taking little Johnny into the Pretty Parlor for his first perm.

So, first of all, you needn’t worry about the staff at the salon. If they got through beauty school, this will hardly be their first experience with someone who doesn’t exactly fit the normal standards of gender identity.  The other patrons might turn their heads, but if Johnny is getting a perm, I must assume he spends a good deal of his life dressed as a girl and so he is used to the stares of incredulity. They don’t bother him, so don’t let them bother you.

But I would be remiss if I didn’t question the wisdom of a perm. A few flips through the pages of current fashion blogs doesn’t show me many models sporting permanent curls. Unless your son is over the age of 70, I have to wonder if a perm is really what  he should go for. But, then again, he clearly marches to the beat of his own drum, and no one will ever accuse me of being a fashionista.

Actions

Information

16 responses

10 01 2009
Predo

Well done! Bravo!

i agree, skip the perm. She can always get a hot roller or curling iron. Fads change so fast.

What a Fabulous Parent! A standing ovation to you!

10 01 2009
Mental P Mama

…unless he’s Carrot Top. But he appears to already know where the perms are.

10 01 2009
Queen of Planet Hotflash

No..don’t do it, no perm no perm!!!!!

10 01 2009
The Incredible Woody

Poor little Johnny might be stuck with stick straight hair like mine and dream of having hair like Tammy Faye Baker. So I have one piece of advice.

IT AIN’T GONNA WORK!! No amount of perming will give us flat-haired girls what we dream of!!

10 01 2009
The Vinyl Villager

whew! I was afraid I was off the mark thinking a perm was a no-no. Glad to know I’ve still got a little style.

I hope you guys enjoy these Saturday posts…they are the funniest ones to write!

10 01 2009
Liz

Good Grief! I always love your Search Term Saturdays! Who knew there was such an interest in this particular subject?

I’m thinking the world is getting way too overcrowded, which forces so many to actually hand carve their own niche in this world. Make them stop! Okay, I realize you can’t do that, but things seem to be getting just a tad too weird *out there*.

10 01 2009
Big Hair Envy

Don’t you understand what’s going on here? Forget “sexy”, he’s bringing “big hair” back:)

GET THE PERM!!!

10 01 2009
sista #2

They still do perms?
I am soooo out of touch.

peace
#2

10 01 2009
Noe Noe Girl

I hate perms~natty curly here! But what a cool parent! Just like me!

10 01 2009
trailerparkbarbie

Can I get an amen????!!!!!

10 01 2009
queenofphrump

Amen!

11 01 2009
Serendipitous Girl

Hmm … Shirley Temple with 5 o’clock shadow. Seems like the perfect candidate for TLC’s What Not to Wear … or a serial killer.

11 01 2009
Sohbet

Good.!

11 01 2009
Aksaray

Good Grief! I always love your Search Term Saturdays! Who knew there was such an interest in this particular subject?

11 01 2009
Jason

I don’t understand how these search terms lead back to you. Have you blogged about perms and crossdressing?

11 01 2009
The Vinyl Villager

S-Girl…that is quite the mental image!

Aohbet and Askaray—thanks for stoppin by!

Jason…I had one post about being kicked out of a bathroom by a drag queen…but thats the only time (outside of the search term saturday posts) that I can recall mentioning crossdressing. And perms…no!

Leave a Reply

