Monday Morning Mish Mash

29 12 2008

nintendo_wii

1. The generation gap at work: a friend of mine got her young son a new video game system for Christmas. As he excitedly ran around the house shouting “Look at my Wii! Look at  my Wii!” he grandfather said “What’s wrong honey, did you hurt your penis?” In fairness to the grandpa, the kiddo calls his penis his “wee”.

2. I got a Wii for Christmas too. At the very least, I hope I can improve my video game skills to the point that my friend’s children can’t continue to massacre me at every game I play with them. I was never into video games as a kid, but this thing is pretty fun, and most of the games require you to be physical…I broke a sweat boxing!

3. I was reminded how old I’m getting. One of my cousins and his wife announced that they are expecting their first child. I can remember when he was so little that I had to be his hide and seek buddy because I was one of the “older kids”. And my younger brother drove my car this weekend–it was the first time I’d been home since he got his learner’s permit, so I let him drive a few miles from a convenience store to our house. Which is a very big deal, because my cars are like my babies.

4. Remember the flat tire I had a week or so ago? Well, I remembered I have road hazard insurance that will pay  up to $150 bucks a tire. Of course, they expected that I know what street I picked the nail up on, the tire dealer to call for authorization, and all sorts of other nonsense that I expect means that they pay out ZILCH on any of their road hazard policies.

5. This is the week I’ve got to order a new computer to replace the dead one. I’m looking at some HPs and Dells. Anyone have a recommendation?

Actions

Information

17 responses

29 12 2008
The Incredible Woody

1. LMAO

2. Vol Fan won’t box me anymore because I kick his ass every time. I’m not a nice winner either.

3. I just found out that a kid I used to babysit is having her first baby. Damn, getting old sucks!

4. What kind of tires do you have that cost $200 each?!? We pay that for the big mama tires Vol Fan has on his truck.

5. I’m the IT person for the company. No training, just expected to know everything. And we have never had good luck with HP. I have had good luck with Dell, Gateway, and Sony. Just remember the three basics – processor speed, ram, and hard drive. Get the biggest, baddest of those that fit your budget. Everything else is just icing.

29 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Woody–I ended up finding a “deal” at $135 dollars. There’s nothing special about them–they aren’t performance tires or anything. I got the usual bit that they are just “an odd size”. I may have to email you for a computer suggestion.

29 12 2008
JJJWWW

Get a MacBook Pro — had one for 6 months, and no crashes, a long battery life, connect wireless everywhere effortlessly

29 12 2008
Little Miss

Funny about the Wii. I can’t have one. I’d probably become addicted. I have so little time to spare as it is.

For the computer, it depends on what you need. I used to be an avid Dell fan – no longer. I’m an HP fan. I have an HP Pavillion DV6000 (you can Google it) laptop with an AMD processor, built-in webcam, built-in wireless and DVD player. It came with Vista Home Premium and I’ve not had any issues with it. My daughter has the same computer. Microsoft (because I work for them as a vendor) insisted I had to have Vista Enterprise (operating system) on my computer, so they installed it for me *plus* gave me a free copy of Office 2007 on it. I’m happy with the computer – completely. Oh, and the price? Couldn’t be beat for what I got. I spent around $850 at Best Buy a year ago.

29 12 2008
The Incredible Woody

Feel free to email with any questions you may have. I’m no expert but I have bought a LOT of computers!

29 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

JJJ–cant do a MAC, it wont work with my work software.

Little Miss–my work computer is an HP and I LOVE it. The only issue Ive had in almost three years is a dead CD drive that was replaced under warranty. Dells Ive had were fine, too. I had a Compaq a long time ago and it didn’ impress me. What do you think of Vista? Ive gotten mixed reviews on that.

Woody–will email you a few questions shortly.

29 12 2008
Noe Noe Girl

Little T got the Wii for Christmas too! He was on Tylenol all day the day after Christmas from sore muscles! We are all having fun with it.

hp or dell. I’ve had good luch with both but I’m no expert.

29 12 2008
Little Miss

I love Vista. I have had no issues with it at all. I think the thing that bothers people the most is the UAC (user account controls) where they are asked to continue or cancel, allow or deny, all the time. That gets a bit irritating, but even that you can turn off. Of course, I love Microsoft. They have been good to me in many ways, including paying my wages, indirectly. I’d work for them directly, if given the opportunity and the right offer.

29 12 2008
Tammy

I run the Mac OS -AND- Windows XP on my MacBook Pro. It handles PC programs effortlessly. On the PC side, Toshiba makes good laptops – highest rated by PC Magazine. I do my PC shopping on http://www.newegg.com – lowest prices anywhere, love them. I’ve always built PC’s, so I frown on the prices of Dell – you can build your own desktop for 1/3 of what they charge. Anyhooo… good luck shopping!

29 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Noe Noe–Ive always had good luck with both of those too.

Little Miss–yeah Ive never been able to get anything “concrete” out of anyone when they complain about it…

Tammy–I had no idea you could run PC on a MAC. (and I certainly dont have the know-how to build my own). Thanks for the site, checking it now.

29 12 2008
Jodi

I’ve had my Dell for about 6 or 7 years, and barring cable men installing unnecessary shit & causing it to crash, I havn’t had a bit of problem out of it. It’s fast, reliable, and easy to use. Just my two cents worth…
bb
dawtch

29 12 2008
Big Hair Envy

Woody is your best source of computer info. In one of my old posts, she left a comment that answered all of my questions, AND some that I didn’t even know to ask:)

I want to get a Wii Fit, because I am so out of shape. The only problem is that I’m afraid it will interfere with my blogging time. Bwahahahahaha!!!!

29 12 2008
David

I recently bought a Toshiba laptop. I’m very pleased with it’s performance. It came with Vista which I’d not used before. I’ve not an problems with Vista although I have to say there has been a learning curve since I had been an XP user. Other than going to Apple, there is not much of a way to avoid Vista.

29 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Good advice everyone…thanks particularly to Woody for answering my string of emails.

David…does Toshiba do desktops? For some of the work I do, I need a huge monitor, and adding one to a laptop usually means a heavy upcharge.

29 12 2008
Predo

I love my Wii (either one)! And I must agree, the game does get you up off the couch and moving. I am a bowling super-star, but get slaughtered at everything else. Enjoy it!

ps – we got the Wii fit and it is truly a workout, but it is fun!

29 12 2008
Alan

I always look forward to your Monday Mashes! And here are my thoughts on today’s edition!

My son is addicted to the Wii…especially the Smash Brothers game! It is more old school though…no physical jumping around or anything.

You ARE getting old! And the clock just keeps on tickin’…

Insurance sucks.

I have a Vaio right now, but for my money, I’d go with a Dell…but NOT Vista! That OS sucks!

30 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Predo–LOL! My brother got the fit, and I played with it for all of fifteen minutes, and the next day my legs and butt were HURTIN’!

Alan–A friend of mine turned me onto the Dell outlet and I found more than I needed for half what I thought I’d pay–so I ordered it last night!

Leave a Reply

