Monday Morning Mish Mash

22 12 2008

 flattire

1. Just a few more days and Christmas will be over! Ever wonder how Christmas traditions start? Well I found the answer to at least one, thanks to Noe Noe Girl:

Santa was very cross. It was Christmas Eve and NOTHING was going right. Mrs Claus had burned all the cookies. The elves were complaining about not getting paid for the overtime they had while making the toys. The reindeer had been drinking all afternoon and were dead drunk. To make matters worse, they had taken the sleigh out for a spin earlier in the day and had crashed it into a tree. Santa was furious. “I can’t believe it! I’ve got to deliver millions of presents all over the world in just a few hours – all of my reindeer are drunk, the elves are on strike and I don’t even have a Christmas tree! I sent that stupid Little Angel out HOURS ago to find a tree and he isn’t even back yet! What am I going to do?” Just then, the Little Angel opened the front door and stepped in from the snowy night, dragging a Christmas tree. He says “Yo, fat man! Where do you want me to stick the tree this year?”

And thus the tradition of angels atop the Christmas trees came to pass……..

2. And speaking of that poor angel:

3. Those of you who have been hangin’ around the ole Vinyl Village a while (yes, you two) will recall that back in the late spring I quit smoking using Chantix–which prompted some very strange and detailed dreams. We’re talking indy-film quality stuff! Well, what I haven’t told you is I fell off the wagon a couple months ago. No good excuse why. No “trigger”. I just did. So I’m going back on the Chantix this week. Which means there may be some posts about bizarre dreams coming for your enjoyment.

4. Everyone has seen the crazy Iraqi dude toss his shoes at President Bush by now. Of course it was in poor taste, and brings up questions of security, but really…who among us hasn’t wanted to slap some sense into our elected leaders? Well, now we can: CLICK HERE.

5. Just my luck–during the month of December not only did my computer bite the dust, but I picked up a nail in my tire that, for some reason, couldn’t be patched. The main reason I got rid of my super-sexy, very fast, teenaged-girl attention getting, silver convertible with its like-butter red leather seats was economy. My car is supposed to be sensible, inexpensive to operate, fuel efficient, and all that jazz. So why does it cost almost $200 to replace just ONE of it’s tires??

Actions

Information

17 responses

22 12 2008
Noe Noe Girl

Proud of you vv for getting back on the Chantix. It worked for me. I stayed on the stuff a year so determined to quit! I had the wild dreams. Quiet a few still make me red in the face thinking about them! We can talk about them over a beer sometime =)

That poor angel!

22 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Noe Noe…ya know, the first time was SO easy…I set my date, and never looked back. You just cant let yourself pick one back up even after MONTHS. I know…Im on my second day now, the dreams should be kicking in soon. How long had you smoked before you quit?

22 12 2008
Noe Noe Girl

I puffed the things for over 30 years! Started smoking when I was 14 cause I was just so damn cool! Hardest thing I ever did was giving up the smokes. I still want one every now and then but I tell myself …. nahhh I can wait and the earge goes away. I’m gonna be your cheerleader OK? You can do it! I have some extra Chantix if you want them?

22 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

if the months worth I bought doesnt work, I may take you up on that. One good thing–you sure cant afford to smoke and take Chantix. LOL

22 12 2008
Mental P Mama

I read somewhere that combining Chantix with the patch helps more. My husband tried it with the Chantix, but it didn’t work. It worries me because he already has a spot on a lung….so I am always pulling for anyone who can beat those devils! I quit, finally, after 20 years off and on. I went to a guy in Boston they call “The Mad Russian.” He is a healer, and I don’t know what he does, but it is nothing short of a miracle. Yefim Shubentsov is his name. Google him. Sorry about your tire. I hate it when that happens.

22 12 2008
MJ

Bummer! I hope your Christmas holiday gets better!

Merry Christmas.

22 12 2008
Jason

I can’t wait for the crazy quit-smoking dreams!

22 12 2008
Heather

If you want to quit smoking for good, try to follow the signs.
The second day of Sagittarius works best. Also take plenty of Vitamin C pills or eat plenty of oranges. The C helps to flush the nicotine out of your system.

22 12 2008
Predo

OMG – that was sooo fun! I totally needed your blog today! I will spend the night smacking Bush with a shoe. You Rock!!!

22 12 2008
Jodi

1. I have another Christmas story for you – I’ll email it, it’s a little long – then you can post it if you want 🙂 There, all sent, LOL
2. I can’t watch it at work, no speakers 😦 but tis ok, not a big angel person, as you might have guessed…
3. Vicodin was always the one to give me vivid, ate up type dreams…now I just don’t dream – or if I do, I retain no memory of it.
4. OMG – The “Throw a Shoe at Bush” is a big hit here at work – several people seem to be already addicted! Here’s another fun one for you…
http://www.planetdan.net/pics/misc/georgie.htm
5. $200 for onr tire..? That’s almost as bad as my $150 to replace just my low beams – plus another $50 fo the bulbs. Yeah you read that right $200 to change to light bulbs! But you see, I have this really nice (in my opinion) Chrysler Concorde. She a beaut. Black with dark tinted windows, heated leather seats, 4 disc in dash cd changer, am/fm/ cassette, sun/moon roof – essentially all the bells and whistles. My baby…but…in order to replace the head lights..? The WHOLE FRONT END has to COME OFF. Yep, OFF. Not loose, nope, OFF. We tried to do it. The owner’s manual made it sound relatively easy, no mention of REMOVING THE FRONT END. COMPLETELY. Had to go to the dealer, and it still took the dude who knew what he was doing (ok, SUPPOSED to know what he’s doing…) 2 1/2 hours to do it. And they cut me a break on the cost…
Oh well, such is life! Merry Ho Ho, Happy Yule, Krazy Kwanza, & all that jazz!
bb
dawtch

23 12 2008
Alan

Oh man…THAT sucks! And ANYTHING that has to do with fixing a car is expensive…windows, tires, engine, turn signal…

24 12 2008
Peter Parkour

Merry Christmas, V.V.! 😀

24 12 2008
Liz

I really needed a good laugh today, so I knew where to come… Thank you! I laughed so hard, I snorted & blew snot all over the computer screen.

I also smacked GW around a little bit, lol.

Good luck with the Chantix. First time hubby took it, it didn’t work but the doctor says sometimes you have to do it 2-3 times. I’ve also talked to people who have had to try it several times, who said it eventually does work. Hubby is now on Chanitx again himself.

Apparently, you drive on better tires than we do.

HAVE A VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

24 12 2008
cuteasasa

I smacked bush 8 times. And talk about a sentence I never thought I’d write…..

26 12 2008
The Incredible Woody

I’m looking forward to more dreams!! Hoping next month is better.

How’s Mama? For some reason, she was on my mind the other day.

26 12 2008
Big Hair Envy

Merry Belated Christmas VV! I hope you and Mama had a great holiday:)

27 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Thanks for all the Christmas wishes! Sorry I haven’t been around this week, but it’s been the usual holiday craziness! (And for those wondering about Mama–there’s a post in the works!)

Leave a Reply

