Search Term Saturdays

20 12 2008

Introducing a new recurring topic: Search Term Saturdays. Yes, I know it’s probably a bit overdone to write about the funny search terms that bring people to your blog…but I get some truly strange ones and I know the people who pecked away their odd queries arrive here disappointed that they didn’t find the answer they were looking for. It is my duty to assist these poor souls!

In keeping with the spirit of the season:

“Why don’t they sell Christmas Icicles anymore?”

For whoever got here by doing that search, I apologize that the answer wasn’t waiting on you…but if you are still out there, I have that answer now.

BECAUSE THAT SHIT IS TACKY!! They don’t sell them for the same reason they don’t sell station wagons with wood on the side or Harvest Gold appliances anymore. The moment has passed. The time has come and gone. You should have done what my old step-granny did and picked the icicles off of your tree and reused them.

Now, if you MUST have them, I might suggest running a roll of aluminum foil through a shredder to replicate the look. But I will not be responsible if you cut your fingers, ruin your shredder, or if the neighbors laugh at you.

Actions

Information

12 responses

20 12 2008
Tammy

Wood paneled station wagons and harvest gold appliances… whoa, I had a serious flashback there. And yeah, icicles… what a mess.

I actually always wanted my parents to get a wood paneled station wagon…I have no idea why

20 12 2008
The Incredible Woody

Easy, cheesy! Next thing I know you’ll be saying that my cornflower-blue cow accents in my kitchen are tacky too!!!

I’d NEVER say such a thing

20 12 2008
Little Miss

Oh, Gawd… you saw my search! (just kidding). I used to love hanging those things. My brothers and I would fight over who got to do it and argue about who had more to hang. I don’t think we ever took them off – just threw out the tree with them stuck on there. I wish I could find an aluminum tree like we used to have downstairs in our playroom basement. Mom always got one of the fancy fir trees and hung tassels on it, and the aluminum one was for the kids. One year we had a white flocked tree and everything was white and red styrofoam candy canes and red plastic grapes. Can you believe it?

I LOVE those aluminum trees…did you have the one with the color wheel that made it change color??

20 12 2008
Mental P Mama

Wait. Those icicle thingies are tacky? But I loved them.

maybe tacky is a strong word. But they covered up the ornaments!

20 12 2008
Jason

Not only were they tacky, they were a NIGHTMARE to clean up. My mother used to take them off the tree and use them again. Because they were so expensive. Like fifty nine cents a package.

OMG, there was someone OTHER than my stepgrandmother who recycled them??? And YES they were a mess. I can remember finding them in the sofa in June

20 12 2008
Predo

We once had a kitty who ate one of those. She was sitting on the steps that go upstairs, and Jimmy saw the shiny foil she was sitting on and reached to pick it up. That stuff gets everywhere. With a jolt, the kitty leapt into the air with a blood curdling scream. You see, the icicle was not totally “passed” yet! Suffice it to say, I don’t think she ever ate another one! Poor kitty, the quick “evacuation” left her feeling a little molested!

Oh God!!! that poor cat

20 12 2008
Liz

Hey – Don’t make fun of my harvest gold washer & dryer! Actually, we did have a set in gold back in the 1970’s… we also had a station wagon with wood panels on the sides, lol. However, I haven’t used tinsel since I was a kid because it was nothing but a royal pain in the ass! My brother & I actually got into fist fights over the tinsel. I hate the stuff. However, real trees are also a pain, so they go together like peas & carrots, lol.

My grandmother STILL has her harvest gold appliances–I guess they dont make em like they used to. Fist fights over tinsel??

20 12 2008
cuteasasa

Yep, Predo, it was my dog. I used them until the year my Lhasa Apso (bless her little departed soul) could not shake loose a poo out in the back yard. Anyone who’s had a long haired dog has probably had this problem so I wasn’t all that surprised…until I had to come back in for scissors to cut the strand of tinsel that was holding it in place. She walked around for the rest of the day with a little 1/2 inch silver strand at the point of exit. Sort of lost it’s appeal that day.
LOL! I know thats not funny…but Im chuckling anyway. Poor pooch!

20 12 2008
Big Hair Envy

I saw icicles for sale in Wal-Mart last week. Almost bought them. For some reason, I am reverting to my childhood this year. Colored lights and tinsel make everything alright. Don’t they???

right, Im not sure about. But they sure do make things festive. So they DO still sell them? Leave it to Wal Mart

22 12 2008
Noe Noe Girl

Tacky?? Who knew?? I’m plucking them off my tree now =)

hurry before the cat or dog get to them!

23 12 2008
Alan

Icicles suck…and they get all over the place!

23 12 2008
thegirlfromtheghetto

Man, after “almost” a year have the same search terms:

Drag Queens
Pissing
Kim Kardashians fat ass

Kind of sad. But so is looking for icicles, WTF?

Leave a Reply

