…Strike a Match and Watch it Gleam…

16 12 2008

I stole this from Snooty Primadonna…and anyone else who would like to steal this for their blog is encouraged to! (And I’ve no idea why the spacing and format are all wonky. I tried and tried to fix it)
Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?
Hot chocolate. Although apple cider is good this time of year too.
Does Santa wrap presents or set them under the tree?
when I was a kid, he sat them on the sofas. (one sofa for me, one for my sister) at mom’s house. At dad’s, they are always wrapped–generally in the sunday funny papers, and quite often “trick” wrapped.
Colored lights on tree or white?
White

When do you put your decorations up?

The weekend after Thanksgiving.

What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?

cheeseball probably

Favorite Holiday memory as a child:

I have a few…for some reason the first Christmas we spent at our log house stands out.

When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?

One Easter a cousin told me that the Bunny was fake. I asked my mom if it was the truth, and she confessed. “What about the tooth fairy?” she nodded. “And Santa too??” she nodded. “And what about Jesus?” she slapped me. (I’m just kidding, I don’t think she really slapped me)

Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?

We do gifts at one grandparent’s house on Christmas Eve.

How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

Carols playing, a scattering of curse words, and the past couple years–in shorts and a t shirt!

Snow! Love it or Dread it?

Love it! Since I only get to see it rarely. If I were someplace that got a lot of snow all the time, I may feel differently.

Can you ice skate?

I tried once or twice. I managed to balance, even move forward a bit, all while holding my arms straight out and doing the “helicopter” dance. My ankles ached for weeks afterward

Do you remember your favorite gift?

I recall a black bike with gold spokes. (Pimp my bike much?). And a pair of the very first Air Jordans, which were the envy of my third grade class. A gold herringbone necklace back when those were the thing. And a black and white picture of my honey at age two.

What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you?

spending time with my loved ones.

What is your favorite Holiday Dessert?

the cookies!

What is your favorite tradition?

opening our stockings Christmas morning

Which do you prefer, Giving or Receiving?

both. I like to give when I find a perfect gift for someone. I like to receive when they find the perfect gift for me.

What is your favorite Christmas Song?

Mary Did you Know? is a recent favorite. Jingle Bells traditionally.

 

 

Candy Canes! Yuck or Yum?
eh, I can take em or leave em.

Ever recycled a Christmas present?

not that I can recall. Ive taken several back.
Actions

Information

4 responses

17 12 2008
Predo

“the truth about Santa” answer has me cracking up! Outloud! I have to go explain myself to the hubby now. Thanks!!!!!

17 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Predo–you’re welcome. To an 8 year old, it all sounded equally far fetched to me.

17 12 2008
Big Hair Envy

I’m stealing this right now. Thanks!!

17 12 2008
Liz

Oh Yeah! You got quite a few giggles out of me…

Especially the *Jesus Slap*.

Leave a Reply

