The “War” on Christmas

11 12 2008

waronchristmas

Since I’m on my soapbox…

The past few years, ever since some fella who looks like Beavis’s geriatric stunt double wrote a book, some of the news pundits have declared that there is a “War on Christmas”. If the checkout girl at the mall doesn’t bid you a “Merry Christmas” as she rings up your purchases, then her store must be part of the vast conspiracy. If the local courthouse isn’t displaying a plastic Jesus with a lightbulb shoved up it’s hindquarters, then they, too, have fallen victim to this War.

I say baloney. And I say it to both sides of the battle. To my knowledge, a Christmas tree is a Christmas tree. A decorated evergreen isn’t a traditional accompaniment to any Hannukah, Kwanzaa, or Winter Solstice celebration. (Feel free to correct me if I am wrong). Politically correct loonies can call it Spaghetti Cat for all I care, but that doesn’t change the fact that it is a Christmas tree just as surely as the treats handed out on October 31st are Halloween Candy and not Holiday Candy.

Now, for the suggestion that wishing someone a Merry Christmas might be somehow offensive to those who don’t celebrate it. Who’s skin is that thin?? I will accept any well wishes in the spirit they are intended. I don’t find it the least bit offensive to be wished a Merry Christmas, a Happy Hannukah, a Blessed Kwanzaa, or a Splendid Solstice. And anyone who does needs to grow up.

On the other hand, those who expect to be wished a Merry Christmas by every store clerk, butcher, baker, and candlestick maker need to join us all in the real world for a moment. Stores serve EVERYONE of EVERY religion or lack thereof. The girl ringing up the pair of Spanx you picked out for Aunt Myrtle hasn’t a clue as to what holiday you hold dear, and for minimum wage, frankly, she doesn’t give a damn. She isn’t there to bolster your spiritual beliefs. If you want to be in a place filled with people who all believe what you believe, there is probably a lovely church within spitting distance of the mall that will be happy to wish you a Merry Christmas and, if the timing is right, let you have a crack at some homemade goodies down in the fellowship hall.

If every person aghast that a Nativity scene isn’t being funded with tax dollars would channel the energy they expend clutching  their pearls and pretending  that the end is nigh into showing the world some TRUE Christmas spirit surely that would go a lot further than a faded plastic arrangement of people on the lawn.

Actions

Information

28 responses

11 12 2008
Little Miss

Hear! Hear! Again, I agree with you. Did you hear about the hooplah here in Olympia, Washington where Governor Gregoire allowed an athiest sign? Even though I didn’t vote for her and I can’t stand her (she seems so fake to me) I happen to agree with her. Free speech, constitutional rights, all that stuff. Once they allowed a Christmas tree on government property, they have to allow any religion – or non-religion – to display something. People are all up in arms over this and our news says it has garnered national attention. People need to just get over themselves. Seriously.

11 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Little Miss: “Once they allowed a Christmas tree on government property, they have to allow any religion – or non-religion – to display something.” YES!! I don’t see what’s so hard to “get” about that.

11 12 2008
Big Hair Envy

As a young teen (circa 1983) I was working retail over the Christmas break. A young boy came to my register, and I wished him a Merry Christmas as I handed him his purchase. He looked me square in the eye and said that they did not celebrate Christmas. His parents proceeded to tell my boss what I had done, fully expecting me to be reprimanded. I was not, but it certainly did discourage me from using the greeting again. (I got over it in a couple of days:) )

Hillbilly Police – 6th Post – You caught on quick:)

11 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Big Hair–I thought Id been with you since the beginning! That kid needed to grow up. Did it bruise his poor feelings? I hope he was buying a pair of big boy panties.

11 12 2008
The Incredible Woody

I thought this season was all about peace and good will toward men. Oh wait – I have it all wrong – it’s about trampling a store clerk to death in order to get the latest video game…..

11 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Woody–that clerk better damn shout “Merry Christmas!” as your foot comes down too…or there will be a boycott! LOL!

11 12 2008
joanharvest

You took the words right out of my mouth. I have a Christmas tree not a holiday tree and Santa Claus is coming to my house not The Fat Holiday Man. I love being politically incorrect!!!

11 12 2008
Queen of Planet Hotflash

asked for a VV for congress shirt from Santa * big smile*

11 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Joan–I still have my Christmas tree too…but next year I might put up a Boxing Day Boxwood just to piss people off. (Fat Holiday Man? LOL! A year or two ago the PC police wanted Santa to slim down because his girth sent a wrong message–remember that? A skinny Santa my ass!)

Queen–LOL! I dont think I could make it in politics. I dont lie or kiss ass well enough.

11 12 2008
Asthmagirl

*Gasp*
The end isn’t nigh?
*Clutches pearls…*

12 12 2008
Zack

Customers at K-mart won’t be getting a “Merry Christmas” or
“Happy Holidays” from me because I’ll be trying my hardest to avoid them!

12 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

A-girl–Im afraid not…

Zack–is there some rule about what you are supposed to say to customers? And avoiding customers? Maybe you should go work at Lowes. That seems to be a requirement for employment there.

12 12 2008
ntsc

The Romans did head counts and tax collections in mid summer, not mid winter.

Chirstmas is in December in order to pre-empt Winter Solistice celebrations.

Chirstmas trees are Germanic in orgin and do have roots in Winter Solistice celebration and Santa Claus was Turkish.

Xmas is not an abbreviation for Christmas, the X represents the cross. In the 50s Xmas had the same status as ‘inappropriate’ as Seasons Greetings.

12 12 2008
Predo

Very well put, and I could not agree more!

It seems odd that people have all this agitation about nouns and adjectives, while we are surrounded by people with out enough food, or no home, or have a disability and can not function “correctly” for today’s society.

We have surgery for butts, boobs, and noses, so I think it is about darn time we figured how to get that “stick out of their a$$es”. Maybe it could be an outpatient process!

12 12 2008
Slice of Grice

Hello there,

I’ve started following your blog — I’m enjoying it! I wrote about this holiday topic back in college for The Crimson. http://www.thecrimson.com/article.aspx?ref=505248

Best,
Morgan

12 12 2008
Peter Parkour

I myself say “Merry Christmas” to friends and family. But with this “War on Christmas” mud being flung, “Merry Christmas” in public is starting to sound abrasive to me. I think the people all up in arms, raising hell about folks not saying “Merry Christmas” are doing more harm than good for their cause. So in closing… “Happy Holidays”. 😉

12 12 2008
Alan

Wow! The soapbox is out and I love it! 2 excellent blogs in a row and now I can’t wait to see what you have for tomorrow!

P.S. I agree with everything you’ve written. Go get email dude!!!

12 12 2008
MJ

The girl ringing up the pair of Spanx you picked out for Aunt Myrtle hasn’t a clue as to what holiday you hold dear, and for minimum wage, frankly, she doesn’t give a damn. She isn’t there to bolster your spiritual beliefs

AAAAMEN!

And Merry Christmas, Happy Kwanza, and all that mess.

12 12 2008
Jodi

Can I just say “YOU GO MISTER” As a non-christian, I am heartily sick of hearing everyone snivel & whine about how “our” holiday has been hi-jacked, and now they don’t feel like they should have to listen to “Merry Christmas.” And as for the politically correct..? I say Get Over It. If your that easily offended, maybe you should consider agoraphobia as a lifestyle choice…and if I hear one more person claiming to be offended on my (or my fellow pagans, muslims, etc.) behalf, I’m liable to slap them…
ahem…
Sorry, the whole “politically correct” thing is one of those “Things” that aggravate me to no end – shut up and get over it already….
bb
dawtch

12 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

NTSC– my mom used to say that Xmas was “takin the Christ outta Christmas!” Thanks for the info.

Grice–thanks for commenting! Ill pop over and read your take on the War!

Peter–the news pundits would have us believe that Happy Holidays or Seasons Greetings is something new. I never throw away cards, and Ive got Christmas cards from 15 years ago that say both things.

Alan–ut oh. I hate to disappoint you, but it might be a few days before the soapbox is back. After all the candy Ive eaten this week, I think I broke it. (did you email me? I havent seen it?)

MJ–right back at ya!

Jodi–I cant think of every hearing of anyone who actually WAS offended, just a lot of people who didnt want others to be. Makes very little sense to me.

12 12 2008
Jason

I think I’m over all of the December holidays.

13 12 2008
trailerparkbarbie

Seems you’ve hit a nerve here, VV. Soooo many comments already.

Well written post. You get the point across.

All I can say again is, “Daaaaaamn, you’re smart!”

14 12 2008
thegirlfromtheghetto

Me and my BFF The Big A will NEVER say Merry C——–. We can’t stand it, and laugh at how many times you can say “You too” without puking in your mouth a bit. I have to bake 10 dozen cookies tomorrow and all I can think is its for a bunch of work bitches who hate me. Look how crazy Christmas makes a person. I don’t bake unless I host a shindig at my place. My cookies are magical, and I’m giving them to bitches? Ugh! Fucking Christmas.

14 12 2008
Alan

Oops. Sorry…no email. Meant “Go get em”!!! LOL

15 12 2008
tom

Nice post !! Wish people could get more as angry about our tax dollars going for Congressional Health Care, Corporate Buyouts and Farm Subsidies as they do for Nativity Scenes !!

15 12 2008
tom

Just pretend the word MORE isn’t in the last comment!!

15 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Jason–Im at the point now where I can enjoy them!

TPB–I have a strict policy not to suffer through things that get on my nerves alone. LOL!

Girl–maybe those magical cookies can turn a bitch away from her bitchy ways.

Alan–LOL! thats ok.

Tom–yeah really! There are a LOT more important things to worry about.

25 12 2008
Cherenow

Terrific! This nation is so obsessed with nonsense. I say “Merry Christmas” because I feel that greeting is already inclusive….you can have a merry Christmas whether you go to church 10 times a day or just use the 25th as an excuse to sleep late. But I realize the touchiness of it all, so nowadays I often just say nothing. For me, I’d rather say something meaningful or nothing at all.

Leave a Reply

