Quip of the Week

7 12 2008

“Apparently when our house was built, no one used tampons, baby wipes or took big poops.”

The quip of the week goes to Alan, for his story of adventures with Roto Rooter. It reminds me of a time I was cleaning my old apartment…I wiped off the bathroom counter, and for reasons I don’t fully understand, dropped the paper towel into the toilet and flushed as I moved to cleaning the tub. Well, you guessed it. The toilet overflowed…plugged up by the paper towel. As the water hit my feet, I rushed to get across the bathroom to the linen cabinet.

BAM! I slipped, fell flat on my back into a puddle of toilet water. On my knees, I reached behind the toilet to turn off the main valve. I used EVERY SINGLE towel I had to soak up the mess. Now, I didn’t have a washer and dryer in this apartment, so I took the giant trash bag full of wet towels to a friend’s place in the complex, washed the soppy towels, and returned to find ANOTHER mess. The wall valve had popped off and water was trickling out of the pipe. Bathroom flooded, hall carpet soaked. My freshly laundered towels had to be soiled again.

Actions

Information

9 responses

7 12 2008
Alan

Of all the stuff I wrote and you pick the one where I mention tampons and big poops?!?! LOL…that is cruel! 🙂

7 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

LOL! Sorry, but it made me spit coffee across the room. Anything that gets that kinda reaction outta me has to be quip of the week.

7 12 2008
Tammy

We had a sewer overflow valve next to the water heater in the garage. Not sure what clogged it, but the sewer overflowed INTO the garage. The timing couldn’t have been more perfect. We were painting 3 rooms and had moved all of the furniture and boxes and piles of shoes and clothes into the garage. All of it ruined – the filthy sewage water had seeped into everything. It was the smelliest thing I have ever smelled – OMG. Even worse, we put all this ruined stuff on the curb with a sign that said “Sewer line broke – YOU DON’T WANT ANY OF THIS, trust me.” And a family came along in a truck, literally smelled things and carted some of it off. WTF!?! Go ahead, if you can stand the smell. Wow. Thank God for insurance, we got all new stuff – yay!

7 12 2008
joanharvest

I can just imagine that whole scenario. I could write a whole post about all the floods and leaks I’ve been through in my house. At least I never fell in toilet water.

7 12 2008
Peter Parkour

Sucked to be you that day. 😐 Dang.

7 12 2008
Liz

Wait Just One Damn Minute! You actaully clean the counter of the bathroom with paper towels? Who cares if you threw them in the toilet for flushing? A man who uses paper towels on ANY counter is an enigma in my book…

8 12 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Tammy—ewww! at least your insurance company didnt try to make you clean all the stuff.

Joan–at least the toilet water was clean.

Peter–yes it did!

Liz–see, any man who uses anything else is creating too much work for himself. Use a rag or cloth, and then you have to wash it. A paper towel you just throw away (don’t flush it!)

8 12 2008
Jodi

Huh, that sounds like the house we lived in before the last….
bb
dawtch

18 04 2011
bryan

Sounds interesting!

Leave a Reply

