Monday Morning Mish-Mash

24 11 2008

porschetarga

1. One of my favorite bloggers, Red from Dr. Pepper is Good for the Soul, has closed up shop. I suppose we all get a little burnout from time to time, but I haven’t been this sad since Maxine closed the House of Ill Repute. When Red made this announcement I commented “Well f*ck you then!” cause she is the kinda gal you can say that to and not have her collapse onto a fainting couch. Hopefully, she saw my humor. She’ll be missed.

2. It’s been a week of babies! One of my S.O.L.s (sister out-laws) had a baby girl Tuesday morning, one of my oldest friends had her second baby boy Friday morning, and my other S.O.L. had a baby boy Sunday morning. Being an uncle three times in one week is a little overwhelming.

3. “Hitler has only got one ball, Göring has two but very small, Himmler is somewhat sim’lar, But poor old Goebbels has no balls at all.”  So sang one of Shirley McClain’s gentleman friends in “An Evening Star” Turns out he was right on at least one count– Hitler was a one ball wonder.

4. Some time back, I submitted The Vinyl Village for review by the unapologetic folks at “Ask and Ye Shall Receive” My head finally fell on their chopping block–much of their somewhat scathing review was expected based on what I had gleened from their reviews of other blogs–too much “filler”, too little “soul”.  I see their points, but recognize that much of the review is their opinion, and if the “filler” isn’t the stuff blog dreams are made of, I hope it provides the occasional chuckle or moment of mindless escape for those who chance across it. But, the whole point of getting their opinion was to improve, so as I digest some of what they said, and reflect on what I’d like this blog to be, you may be seeing some changes around here. I also open the floor for anyone else who reads here and has some constructive criticism for me.

5. I spent Sunday afternoon at a big new car show. Nothing too exciting there, although I did fall in LOVE with a chocolate brown Porsche 911 targa. The more realistic thing that caught my eye was a new Volkswagen CC (four door coupe). But walking around, its easy to see why the Big Three are in trouble, and it has nothing to do with the economy. With a handful of exceptions, American cars just looks like cheap crap compared to their competition.

Actions

Information

22 responses

24 11 2008
The Incredible Woody

1. It’s like losing a friend, isn’t it?

2. Congrats to everyone!! My first thought was ‘Wow, think of all those Christmas presents to buy!’ Yes, I am a cheapskate.

3. No wonder he was so pissed off.

4. I have to say that is one review that I don’t agree with. I have seen enough “soul” to feel like I know you. I always look forward to what you have to say. And if a guy jacking off with a jar of pasta sauce doesn’t make you giggle, I don’t know what will.

5. You’ll need that 4-door if you are gonna start hauling all those babies around. I agree about the Big Three. Why can’t they see that? When I was car shopping last summer, it was like their vehicles weren’t even in the same league. But I have to admit I am a Honda person. I have had 5!

24 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Woody—1. it really is. 2. I was thinking the same thing–“All those birthday gifts so close to Christmas. 3. LOL! 4. Thanks–I thought maybe they didnt dig far enough to find the “soul”. And everyone needs a little mindless humor now and again. 5. Im a Honda person too! Between me and my immediate family, we have had about ten.

24 11 2008
The Incredible Woody

My whole family loves Honda, too. Between us we have had:

My 1984 Civic – which was only the best car ever. I would still be driving that thing if I hadn’t totalled it.
My sister’s 1985 Accord – which I later bought from her and then wrecked
My brother’s 1986 Accord – which he wrecked
My brother’s 1987 Accord – which he wrecked
My 1990 Accord – sold to husband’s sister, still going strong
My sister’s 1993 Accord – which my Dad bought from her, still going strong
My brother’s 1994 Accord – which he wrecked
My sister’s 2003 Accord – still going strong
My 2006 Civic Coupe – loved that car but husband didn’t fit (he’s 6’3″) so I traded it for…
My 2007 CR-V – I LOVE THIS CAR!!

We either wreck ’em or keep ’em!

24 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

We’re about tied, I count 11 Hondas in my immediate family dating back to 1983. I had a Prelude back in the day, and feel the same way you feel about your 84 Civic. I still tear up a bit if I see one like it. LOL!

24 11 2008
Philly

I read their review, I read all their reviews. The sista’s do not need anyone to approve or dissaprove out site. You don’t like it? Fuck off.
Have they ever said anything nice about anyone’s blog?

We like your site, that is all that counts

#1

24 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Sista 1–thank you!

24 11 2008
trailerparkbarbie

You brave, brave man.
I’m working on developing a thick skin before I submit my blog.
Where is your review?
Maybe, I missed it. I’ll go back and look.

I had a Honda Prelude and loved that thing. Last week, after being loyal to American cars for a long time, I bought an Accura which is made by Honda. It is the most fun drive that I’ve had since my Prelude.

3 babies….Hmmm….you could do twist on the movie, 3 Men and A Baby. You could be 3 Babies and 1 Man.

24 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

TPB–I remember that Prelude you had! It was dark red wasnt it? (or was yours navy blue?) I saw your new car at the car show too–very nice choice!
As for that movie–I couldnt even handle ONE baby. Three would have child protective services knowing me by name.

24 11 2008
Peter Parkour

I’m pretty sad about the whole “Red” affair too. 😦

Congratulation Uncle. 😉

I haven’t read the review yet, but I like your place just the way it is. I like your filler and I’m sensing plenty of soul around here. 😀

The only reason American car companies haven’t gone under sooner is because there is a base of people out there that refuse to buy anything but an American car. 😕 The Big Three know this and figure why bother improving. They may regret that choice. 😛

24 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Peter–thanks! I hope ole Red will come back. You’re right, a lot of folks (particularly, it seems, older ones) have probably never even looked at the Big Threes competitors to see what they are missing.

24 11 2008
MJ

When I got my review at AAYSR it was the same thing. They liked mine, but yeah “not enough soul” etc. I personally like your blog, and ask you to not take the review too much to heart. I know I’m just one blogger/person, but I personally love plain grits. And I love your blog. Don’t change too much OK?

24 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

MJ, don’t worry, I won’t! Just thinking I might clean up some “presentation” stuff. I think I’d end up in the nut house if my life had enough things going on in it to write “soulfully” every day. LOL!

24 11 2008
cuteasasa

#3) Isn’t it odd to think that as we write our world’s future leaders are probably emailing nude pictures of themselves and posting lovely drunken shots on myspace? Won’t need any old priest’s confessions decades later…we’ll just google.

4) How odd. Just as I enjoyed Margaret and Helen, it didn’t feel “real”. Quite a few others have that same enjoyable but artificial feel. Aside from thinking maybe the pictures of your home were really just snaps taken of a model home somewhere (which is just teasing) you feel real to me. That translates to soul. At least to me.

5) My SO has a Toyota. Whenever I drive it with him in the car with me, he tinkles his drawers a little. I hit the gas like a lead foot, revving the engine, burning gas and peeling out. I have to make him drive my GM piece of crap every 6 months or so to remind him why I do that. It’s not that I’m trying to tear up his engine….I just NEED to hit my gas pedal that hard to get the damn car to move and then I forget to let up in the Toyota. I want a bumper sticker that says “my next car will be a honda” because it will! (Although his Toyota is also a wonderful, solid car.)

24 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Cuteasasa–I know, with the next generation of leaders having grown up on the internet, its going to be interesting to see what gets “dug up” from their pasts. Funny you say that about the cars–my dad tested a Chevy something or another last week and said it felt as sluggish brand new as his current foreign car does with almost 200,000 miles on it.

24 11 2008
Peter Parkour

Ok, I read it. They are ruthless. 😕 I’ve given though to giving that a try, but I’m not so sure I would like the results. A lot of the suggestions they give I refuse to institute, because I like certain things just the way they are, no matter what they say. Other things are more tolerable, and I can see where they are coming from. Bottom line, I don’t think I’m ready to take the plunge just yet. You are a far braver man than I. 😉

You also handled yourself quite respectfully over there. I’ve seen others have a total shit fit/meltdown, and worst part was, almost everything they said was true. I don’t think that was the case with you. I mean sure, we can all use a little fine tuning, but come on. Their “keep the name but lose everything else” (not an actual quote) attitude was way, way, wayyy too harsh in my book.

Anyway, that’s my two cents. :mrgreen:

24 11 2008
Liz

Hey, I’m one of your biggest fans now. We both have crazy mothers, which makes us *kindred spirits* of a sort. snort!

Sorry you lost a bloggie friend… I’ve lost several since the election, lol. However, they were no big loss. They were mean girls & it was their decision to dump me. That’s all I have to say about that.

I say screw the American car makers… let them learn how to design a better car & parts. I love my Toyota 4 Runner because it has fuel injection & can haul azz if need be. But, since I’m a nice little old lady, I don’t need it. Like I didn’t use it today when I was next to the 2 boys that had a truck with big tires. I so left them behind.

So, you’re saying you actually SUBJECTED yourself to criticism? Are you a madman? (jk) One time I submitted my blog to the site that rates your blog’s education level & they rated me Pre-School level. Shows how stooopid they are. Pre-school can’t read.

😉

24 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Peter–thank you sir! I agree, a lot of what they look for makes sense,but doesn’t necesarily jive with each person’s personal sense of what their blog is. I dont understand the people who go ape shit over the reviews…if you’ve read more than two over there, you have a good idea of what to expect! LOL!

Liz–we should start a crazy mother’s club! LOL! Little old lady?? Hardly!!
Yes, I subjected myself to their critique….no bravery required. Just a healthy ego that is nearly impossible to dent. LOL!

Jason–I accidentally deleted your comment and cant figure out how to get it back. But I did read it, and thank you!

24 11 2008
Queen of Planet HotFlash

You and Your blog the way it is, is what made me keep coming back day after day week after week to bug the shit out of you. screw the critque, you put what you want here this is your blog and not a competition like Bossy or whatsherface
you slam on here what you want and I’ll keep coming back to harrass you, hmmmm maybe thats not a good thing???

24 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Queen–harass me? bug the shit outta me? If that’s what you call it, keep doin it!

25 11 2008
Alan

Dunno who the idiots over at “Ask And You Shall Receive” are…but I DIG your stuff dude! Keep it up! And don’t pull a Red on me…’cause when you and a couple of others pull the plug, I’m gonna call it quits too!

26 11 2008
The Vinyl Villager

Alan–Im not pullin any plug! Ive got a living will that keeps this blog on life support. and thanks!

27 11 2008
cuteasasa

VV – Just went and read the review. Did you catch the part about putting up a nude shot for content? Just wondering if you caught that part? Huh? Did ya?
(That was the only part I found especially interesting.)

Leave a Reply

